Print this page

Employment Standards Officer -
Realistic Job Preview

It is our goal to provide a balanced overview of the Employment Standards Officer position, including the unique aspects of the job. This supplementary information complements the job ad and job spec. We believe this will help you to make an informed decision to apply, which in turn helps us to hire employees who understand, accept and are motivated to perform all aspects of the job.

Brief Overview Of Job Duties

Officers investigate complaints and make decisions concerning employee rights and entitlements, conduct workplace inspections, deliver presentations to stakeholders, enforce legislation and conduct prosecutions along with other types of activities. A large portion of the job is writing complex decisions and reports.

Details

Officers will be required to visit the head office or other location of an employer where the work environment is varied, ranging from professional business offices to factory floors or construction sites. While conducting investigations or resolving disputes, Officers often deal with irate, distraught or hostile people, but always have the option to withdraw from situations with potential physical violence. Officers will also undertake prosecution activities, and spend time in a courtroom or formal hearing room environment. Officers work autonomously, under general supervision. The work is fast-paced in an ever-changing work environment. Officers experience competing demands for their time; they balance the need to focus on the job at hand with the need to keep their manager and senior management informed about serious and high profile events.

Working Conditions

Hours of work are governed by the relevant collective agreement. The normal hours of work for this position are 36.25 hours per week with a requirement to be available for 7.25 hours per work period. The position of Employment Standards Officer requires you to work non-traditional hours as part of your regular schedule. This may include some evenings and weekends. Compensation is provided in accordance with the employer’s policies and entitlements under the OPSEU collective agreement. Overtime is only required when pre-authorized by management. Officers may be exposed to seasonal weather conditions and are required to travel periodically.

Career and Personal Development

Following orientation, new hires undergo a mandatory and intensive 3 – 4 month training program in Mississauga/GTA. This formal classroom training is supplemented with field experience where the new Officer will work alongside an experienced 'Coach' Officer. New Officers are tested and assessed on their knowledge and newly acquired skill sets both during the formal training program and as they progress through their probationary period.

Imprimer cette page

Agent des normes d’emploi – Aperçu réaliste des tâches

Notre objectif est de fournir un aperçu juste du poste d’agent des normes d’emploi, y compris les aspects particuliers de ce poste. Ces renseignements viennent compléter l’offre d’emploi et la description de poste. Notre objectif est de vous aider à prendre une décision éclairée avant de poser votre candidature. Ainsi, nous pourrons embaucher des employés qui comprennent, acceptent et valorisent tous les aspects du travail.

Survol des fonctions du poste

Les agents enquêtent sur les plaintes et prennent des décisions concernant les droits des employés, effectuent des inspections en milieu de travail, font des présentations devant les parties intéressées, font respecter les lois et mènent des poursuites, ainsi que d’autres types d’activités. Une grande partie du travail consiste à préparer des décisions et des rapports complexes.

Précisions

Les agents seront tenus de visiter le siège social ou un autre emplacement des employeurs. Ce sont des milieux de travail variés, allant de bureaux professionnels à des chantiers de construction en passant par des usines. Dans le cadre des enquêtes ou de la résolution des différends, les agents doivent souvent traiter avec des personnes en colère, inquiètes ou hostiles. Ils ont alors la possibilité de se retirer si la situation présente un risque de violence physique. Les agents devront également entreprendre des activités relatives à des poursuites en justice et se présenter devant des tribunaux ou à des audiences officielles. Les agents travaillent de manière autonome, mais sont placés sous une supervision générale. Le rythme de travail est rapide, et le contexte change constamment. Les agents doivent partager leur temps entre plusieurs tâches concurrentes et doivent trouver un équilibre entre le besoin de se concentrer sur la tâche à accomplir et la nécessité de garder leur gestionnaire et la haute direction informés sur les événements graves ou ayant de fortes répercussions.

Conditions de travail

Les heures de travail sont régies par la convention collective pertinente. L’horaire de travail normal pour ce poste est de 36,25 heures par semaine et il faut être disponible pendant 7,25 heures par période de travail. Le poste d’agent des normes d’emploi nécessite de travailler durant des heures non traditionnelles dans le cadre de l’horaire régulier. Cela peut inclure certains soirs et week-ends. La rémunération est conforme aux politiques de l’employeur et aux droits prévus par la convention collective du SEFPO. Les heures supplémentaires ne sont possibles qu’avec l’autorisation préalable de la direction. Les agents peuvent être exposés à des conditions météorologiques saisonnières et sont tenus de se déplacer de temps à autre.

Cheminement professionnel et développement personnel

Après l’orientation, les nouveaux employés doivent suivre un programme obligatoire intensif de formation de trois à quatre mois qui se déroulera à Mississauga, dans la RGT. Cette formation en salle de classe sera complétée par des périodes de travail sur le terrain, au cours desquelles les nouveaux agents travailleront avec un agent chevronné qui les encadrera. Pendant la formation et la période probatoire, on vérifiera leurs connaissances et nouvelles compétences.