Terms of Reference - Gender Wage Gap Strategy Steering Committee

Background

This Government is committed to women’s equality in Ontario. It has taken steps to strengthen women's economic opportunities through investments in education, training programs, full-day kindergarten, and child care. It has developed strategies, such as the Poverty Reduction Strategy, Ontario Immigration Strategy, Action Plan to Stop Sexual Violence and Harassment, and Changing Workplaces Review to address barriers preventing women's full participation in the labour force.

But women, on average, continue to earn less than men in Ontario. Based on the most recent data available from Statistics Canada, in 2011 Ontario’s gender wage gap ranged from 12% to 31.5%.

The gender wage gap is complex and caused by many factors, including gender workplace discrimination, career choices, caregiving responsibilities, education, credentialism, employee representation in workplace, and business culture. Women throughout the economic spectrum are affected by the wage gap, and the gap is larger for women who are racialized, Aboriginal, newcomers, or living with disabilities.

This wage gap will persist unless greater efforts are made by all levels of government and by businesses, labour, organizations and individual leaders to understand and remove the barriers. These barriers are not only problematic for women and other disadvantaged groups, they also prevent Ontario from leveraging the skills and capabilities of all of its men and women to strengthen our economy. Closing the wage gap is not only good for women, it is good for all Ontarians.

The development of a Gender Wage Gap Strategy (“Strategy”) will build on the progress made by this Government so far in improving the economic and social situation of women in Ontario, and could significantly improve Ontario’s economic outcomes.

Direction

In the Minister of Labour’s 2014 Mandate Letter, the Premier charged the Minister with “leading the development of a wage strategy”. Furthermore in the Mandate Letter, the Premier stated:

"Women make up an integral part of our economy and society, but on average still do not earn as much as men. You will work with the Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues and other ministers to develop a wage gap strategy that will close the gap between men and women in the context of the 21st century economy."

Mandate and Scope

The Ministry of Labour (MOL) will develop recommendations for this Government’s Strategy taking into account the recommendations of a steering committee (the “Gender Wage Gap Strategy Steering Committee” or “Committee”). Two External Advisors will be appointed to the Committee by the Minister of Labour. The Pay Equity Commissioner and the MOL Executive Lead will be ex officio members of the Committee.

The purposes of the Committee are to:

  1. identify the factors causing or affecting Ontario’s gender wage gap;
  2. assess the impact of government actions, business practices, social norms, and other factors, on the gap;
  3. assess initiatives in other jurisdictions that may be applicable to Ontario;
  4. following the parameters below, create recommendations for this Government on a strategy, including actions for government, business, labour, other organizations, and individual leaders, to close the gender wage gap.

The Committee shall:

  1. examine how the gender wage gap affects women in their work and how they engage with their families and their community;
  2. examine how the gender wage gap specifically affects different working women across the economic spectrum and include statistical analyses if available;
  3. examine ways in which government, business, labour, other organizations, and individual leaders can work together to address the conditions and the systemic barriers that lead to the gap;
  4. consider whether Ontario’s existing legislation (including Ontario’s Pay Equity Act, the Employment Standards Act, 2000 and the Human Rights Code) sufficiently addresses the gender wage gap, but without recommending legislative amendments;
  5. where members of the Committee deem it appropriate, include a cost/benefit analysis of the recommendations, taking into consideration all factors they consider relevant, including the impact on employers, Ontario’s fiscal situation and societal interests in closing the gender wage gap;
  6. where practical, include a method to evaluate and measure the results of the recommendations;
  7. ensure that the recommendations do not infringe upon other government programs, initiatives and processes (e.g. the Changing Workplaces Review, and Ontario’s minimum wage legislation), although the recommendations may take these into account; and
  8. request the Ministry of Labour to conduct other research or analysis as may be necessary to provide recommendations to this Government on how to create an effective Strategy in the context of a 21st-century economy.

Timing

The Committee will report back to the Minister of Labour and the Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues within seven months of the External Advisors’ appointments with a preliminary consultation summary. The Committee will report back within ten months of the External Advisors’ appointments with written recommendations.

If these recommendations are not completed within the initial ten-month period, the Minister of Labour may extend the date for their completion for a period not to exceed three additional months.

Key Roles and Responsibilities

1. Gender Wage Gap Strategy Steering Committee

The Committee will lead public consultations with Ontarians, including releasing a consultation paper and holding targeted regional stakeholder meetings to receive input on the gender wage gap and related issues.

Following the consultations, the Committee will provide a consultation summary and written recommendations. Decisions of the Committee should be made by consensus but could include options. Each option must state clearly who is affected, how goals are to be evaluated and measured, and must be in accordance with these Terms of Reference.

The MOL Executive Lead will also chair an internal Ontario Public Service (OPS) Working Group, which will be comprised of directors from affected ministries. The OPS Working Group will provide internal advice on the gender wage gap consultations and recommendations, and then this Government’s Strategy, as well as identify linkages and potential costs or other impacts on other government activities or initiatives.

2. Ministry of Labour / Ontario Women's Directorate / Pay Equity Office

The Ministry of Labour will work with the Ontario Women's Directorate and the Pay Equity Office to support the Committee throughout the process by providing policy research and secretariat support, coordinating consultations and meetings (internal / external), and facilitating any administrative and technical needs, where appropriate.

Approach

The Committee will examine academic and inter-jurisdictional research, and solicit feedback from stakeholders and the public through a consultation paper and targeted regional consultation sessions, surveys, and social media.

Based on the research and feedback from stakeholders and the public, the Committee will report back to the Minister of Labour as specified in the “Timing” section, above.

Following the submission of the recommendations, the Ministry of Labour, in consultation with the Ontario Women’s Directorate and ministries in the OPS Working Group, will consider how to develop a strategy to close the gender wage gap.

Ethics, Governance and Accountability

The External Advisors and the Pay Equity Commissioner are accountable to the Minister of Labour. The MOL Executive Lead is accountable to the Minister of Labour, through the Deputy Minister of Labour. They will report to the Minister of Labour on such matters and at such times as the Minister may request.

The Deputy Minister of Labour, or her or his designate, is responsible for approving all expense claims, subject to Ontario Public Service guidelines. Expense claims shall be submitted through protocol established by the Ministry of Labour.

The External Advisors will comply with the Government of Ontario’s directives and principles with respect to ethics and accountability. The MOL Executive Lead and the Pay Equity Commissioner are bound by their Oaths of Office.

It is the responsibility of the Committee to identify any actual or potential conflicts of interest that may arise during the term of their appointment. The External Advisors will keep their work on the Gender Wage Gap Strategy separate and independent from any other work they may be undertaking. If a conflict of interest arises, they will bring it to the attention of the Deputy Minister of Labour, who in turn will bring it to the attention of the Office of the Minister of Labour, which will then consult with the Premier’s Office, Public Appointments, for further direction.

Furthermore, the External Advisors must comply with Article 3.3 (Ethical Framework) of the Agencies & Appointments Directive (Management Board of Cabinet: February, 2015) as may be amended from time to time.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Mandat - Comité directeur de la Stratégie pour l’équité salariale entre les sexes

Contexte

Notre gouvernement est résolu à assurer l’équité aux femmes en Ontario. Il a renforcé les perspectives économiques des femmes au moyen d’investissements dans l’éducation, les programmes de formation, la maternelle à temps plein et la garde d’enfants. Il a mis sur pied des stratégies, comme la Stratégie ontarienne de réduction de la pauvreté, la Stratégie ontarienne en matière d’immigration, le Plan d’action pour mettre un terme à la violence et au harcèlement à caractère sexuel et l’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail, en vue de renverser les obstacles qui empêchent la pleine participation des femmes à la vie active.

Toutefois, les femmes continuent à gagner moins, en moyenne, que les hommes. Selon les données les plus récentes de Statistique Canada, l’écart salarial entre les sexes en Ontario varie de 12 à 31,5 %.

L’écart salarial entre les sexes est complexe et engendré par de nombreux facteurs, dont la discrimination fondée sur le sexe en milieu de travail, les choix de carrière, les responsabilités en matière de prestation de soins, l’éducation, la diplômanie, la représentation des employés en milieu de travail et la culture d’entreprise. Des femmes du spectre complet de l’économie sont touchées par la disparité salariale, et l’écart est plus grand chez les femmes racialisées, autochtones, nouvelles arrivantes et handicapées.

L’écart salarial entre les sexes persistera à moins d’efforts plus soutenus de la part de tous les ordres de gouvernement, des entreprises, de la population active, des organismes et des dirigeants individuels pour comprendre et supprimer les obstacles. Ces obstacles ne sont pas seulement problématiques pour les femmes et les autres groupes défavorisés, ils empêchent aussi l’Ontario de mettre à profit les compétences et les capacités de tous les hommes et de toutes les femmes pour renforcer son économie. L’élimination de l’écart salarial entre les sexes est favorable aux femmes, mais à l’ensemble des Ontariennes et des Ontariens également.

L’élaboration d’une Stratégie pour l’équité salariale entre les sexes (la « Stratégie ») consolidera les progrès réalisés jusqu’ici par le gouvernement dans l’amélioration de la situation économique et sociale des femmes en Ontario, et pourrait améliorer les enjeux économiques de façon significative.

Orientation

Dans la lettre de mandat du ministre du Travail pour l’année 2014, la première ministre a confié au ministre la priorité d’« élaborer une stratégie de réduction de l’écart salarial ». Dans cette lettre, la première ministre a en outre indiqué :

Les femmes font partie intégrante de notre économie et de notre société. Toutefois, de façon générale, elles ne gagnent toujours pas un salaire égal à celui des hommes. Vous collaborerez avec la ministre déléguée à la Condition féminine et d’autres ministres en vue de l’élaboration d’une stratégie de réduction de l’écart salarial qui éliminera l’écart entre les hommes et les femmes dans le contexte de l’économie du XXIe siècle.

Mandat et portée

Le ministère du Travail émettra des recommandations relatives à cette stratégie du gouvernement, en prenant en considération les recommandations d’un comité directeur (le « Comité directeur de la Stratégie pour l’équité salariale » ou le « Comité »). Deux conseillers externes seront nommés au Comité par le ou la ministre du Travail. La commissaire de l’équité salariale et la directrice générale du ministère du Travail seront des membres d’office du Comité.

Le Comité a pour objectif :

  1. de déterminer les facteurs qui causent ou influencent l’écart salarial en Ontario;
  2. d’évaluer l’incidence des mesures prises par le gouvernement, des pratiques commerciales, des normes sociales et d’autres facteurs, sur l’écart salarial;
  3. d’évaluer des initiatives mises de l’avant ailleurs qui pourraient s’appliquer en Ontario;
  4. de formuler, conformément aux paramètres ci-dessous, des recommandations au gouvernement à l’égard d’une stratégie pour l’équité salariale, y compris des mesures concernant le gouvernement, les entreprises, la population active, d’autres organismes et les dirigeants individuels, en vue de combler l’écart salarial entre les sexes.

Le Comité doit :

  1. étudier l’incidence de l’écart salarial entre les sexes sur les femmes dans le cadre de leur travail et de leur interaction avec leur famille et leur collectivité;
  2. examiner de quelle façon l’écart salarial influe particulièrement sur les femmes actives sur le marché du travail dans l’ensemble de l’économie et fournir des analyses statistiques, le cas échéant;
  3. examiner des façons dont le gouvernement, les entreprises, la population active, les autres organismes et les dirigeants individuels peuvent travailler de concert pour remédier aux conditions et aux obstacles systémiques qui entraînent l’écart salarial;
  4. analyser si les lois actuelles de l’Ontario (y compris la Loi sur l’équité salariale, la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi et le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario) traitent suffisamment de la disparité salariale entre les sexes, mais sans recommander de modifications législatives;
  5. lorsque les membres du Comité le jugent approprié, inclure une analyse coûts-avantages des recommandations, en prenant en considération tous les facteurs qu’ils estiment pertinents, dont l’incidence sur les employeurs, la situation fiscale de l’Ontario et les intérêts sociétaux de l’élimination de l’écart salarial entre les sexes;
  6. s’assurer que les recommandations ne nuisent pas à d’autres programmes, initiatives et processus gouvernementaux (p. ex. Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail et la législation sur le salaire minimum de l’Ontario), bien que les recommandations puissent les prendre en compte;
  7. demander au ministère du Travail de mener d’autres recherches ou analyses au besoin afin de fournir des recommandations au gouvernement sur la création d’une stratégie efficace dans le contexte économique du XXIe siècle.

Échéancier

La Comité fera part de ses conclusions au ou à la ministre du Travail ainsi qu’à la ministre déléguée à la Condition féminine dans les sept mois suivant la nomination des conseillers externes, en présentant un sommaire préliminaire des consultations. Le Comité présentera des recommandations écrites dans les dix mois suivant la nomination des conseillers externes.

Si ces recommandations ne sont pas terminées au cours de la période initiale de dix mois, le ou la ministre du Travail pourra repousser l’échéance d’un maximum de trois mois supplémentaires.

Rôles et responsabilités clés

1. Comité directeur de la Stratégie pour l’équité salariale entre les sexes

Le Comité tiendra des consultations publiques auprès de la population de l’Ontario; il publiera un document de consultation et tiendra des réunions régionales avec des intervenants ciblés afin d’obtenir différents points de vue sur l’écart salarial entre les sexes et les questions qui s’y rattachent.

Au terme des consultations, le Comité présentera un sommaire des consultations ainsi que des recommandations écrites. Les décisions du Comité devraient être prises par consensus, mais pourraient inclure des options. Chaque option doit clairement indiquer les parties concernées et la méthode d’évaluation et de mesure des objectifs, et être conforme au présent mandat.

La directrice générale du ministère du Travail présidera également un groupe de travail de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (FPO), qui sera formé de directeurs des ministères concernés. Le groupe de travail de la FPO dispensera des conseils internes relativement aux consultations et aux recommandations sur l’écart salarial entre les sexes, puis sur la stratégie du gouvernement, en plus de déterminer les liens et les coûts potentiels ou d’autres répercussions sur d’autres activités ou initiatives gouvernementales.

2. Ministère du Travail / Direction générale de la condition féminine de l’Ontario / Bureau de l’équité salariale

Le ministère du Travail travaillera en collaboration avec la Direction générale de la condition féminine de l’Ontario et le Bureau de l’équité salariale de façon à soutenir le Comité tout au long du processus en fournissant des services de secrétariat et de recherche en matière de politiques, en coordonnant les consultations et les réunions (internes et externes) et en composant avec les exigences administratives et techniques, le cas échéant.

Approche

Le Comité examinera les recherches universitaires et intergouvernementales et sollicitera la rétroaction d’intervenants et du public au moyen d’un document de consultation ainsi que de séances de consultation régionales ciblées, d’enquêtes et des médiaux sociaux.

En fonction des recherches et de la rétroaction des intervenants et du public, le Comité présentera ses conclusions au ou à la ministre du Travail, comme indiqué dans la section « Échéancier » ci-dessus.

Après la présentation des recommandations, le ministère du Travail, en consultation avec la Direction générale de la condition féminine de l’Ontario et les ministères participant au groupe de travail de la FPO, se penchera sur la façon d’élaborer une stratégie pour combler l’écart salarial entre les sexes.

Éthique, gouvernance et responsabilité

Les conseillers externes et la commissaire de l’équité salariale sont responsables devant le ou la ministre du Travail. La directrice générale du ministère du Travail est responsable devant le ou la ministre du Travail, par l’intermédiaire du ou de la sous-ministre du Travail. Ils présenteront des conclusions sur les questions déterminées par le ou la ministre du Travail, au moment demandé.

Le ou la sous-ministre du Travail, ou la personne désignée à sa place, doit approuver toutes les demandes de remboursement des dépenses conformément aux lignes directrices de la fonction publique de l’Ontario. Les demandes de remboursement des dépenses doivent être soumises selon le protocole établi par le ministère du Travail.

Les conseillers externes se conformeront aux directives et aux principes du gouvernement de l’Ontario en matière d’éthique et de responsabilité. La directrice générale du ministère du Travail et la commissaire de l’équipe salariale sont liées par leur serment professionnel.

Il incombe au Comité de déterminer tout conflit d’intérêt réel ou potentiel pouvant survenir pendant son mandat. Les conseillers externes veilleront à ne pas mêler leur travail sur la Stratégie pour l’équité salariale entre les sexes à leurs autres activités professionnelles. Tout conflit d’intérêt sera porté à l’attention du ou de la sous-ministre du Travail, qui en informera à son tour le bureau du ministre du Travail, qui consultera ensuite le Cabinet de la Première ministre et le secrétariat des nominations, afin d’obtenir des directives supplémentaires.

En outre, les conseillers externes doivent se conformer à l’article 3.3 (cadre éthique) de la Directive concernant les organismes et les nominations (Conseil de gestion du gouvernement, février 2015), qui peut être modifiée de temps à autre.