The Premier has asked the Minister of Labour, working with the Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues, to develop a wage gap strategy “that will close the gap between men and women in the context of the 21st century economy.”

On April 15, 2015, Ontario appointed a Gender Wage Gap Strategy Steering Committee to provide advice and recommendations to the Ministers. The Committee members are:

  • Nancy Austin, Executive Lead, Gender Wage Gap Strategy, Ministry of Labour
  • Linda Davis, Past-President of the Business and Professional Women’s Clubs of Ontario
  • Emanuela Heyninck, Ontario’s Pay Equity Commissioner
  • Dr. Parbudyal Singh, Professor of Human Resource Management at York University, PhD in Human Resources Management/Labour Relations

The Committee will conduct research and consult the public. It will report back to government in late 2015 with the results of its consultations, and in 2016 with recommendations that will help shape the province’s Gender Wage Gap Strategy.

A note on the scope of the consultations

The Steering Committee will consult with diverse groups across the province to:

  • Examine how the gender wage gap affects women: at work, in their family, and in their community.
  • Examine how the gender wage gap impacts different women in the workforce, across the economic spectrum.
  • Examine ways in which government, business, labour, other organizations, and individual leaders can work together to address the conditions and the systemic barriers that contribute to the wage gap.
  • Understand the issues that intersect with gender, such as race and disability, that may increase the wage gap, and recommend how those issues could be addressed.

The Steering Committee will consider whether Ontario’s existing legislation (including the Pay Equity Act, Employment Standards Act, 2000, and Human Rights Code) sufficiently address the gender wage gap, but it will not recommend specific legislative amendments.

There is some overlap between the gender wage gap and other workplace issues being considered by other initiatives, such as the Poverty Reduction Strategy and the Changing Workplaces Review. The Steering Committee will ensure its recommendations complement, but do not infringe, upon these other initiatives.

Previous | Next

La première ministre a demandé au ministre du Travail de collaborer avec la ministre déléguée à la Condition féminine en vue d’élaborer une « stratégie de réduction de l’écart salarial qui éliminera l’écart entre les hommes et les femmes dans le contexte de l’économie du XXIe siècle ».

Le 15 avril 2015, l’Ontario a désigné un Comité directeur de la Stratégie pour l’équité salariale entre les sexes afin de conseiller les ministres et de leur faire des recommandations. Les membres du Comité sont :

  • Nancy Austin, directrice générale, Stratégie pour l’équité salariale entre les sexes, ministère du Travail;
  • Linda Davis, ancienne présidente du Business and Professional Women’s Clubs of Ontario;
  • Emanuela Heyninck, commissaire de l’équité salariale de l’Ontario;
  • Parbudyal Singh, professeur de gestion des ressources humaines à l’Université York, titulaire d’un doctorat en gestion des ressources humaines et en relations de travail.

Le Comité mènera des recherches et consultera le public. Il présentera au gouvernement les résultats de ses consultations à la fin de 2015, puis, en 2016, il formulera des recommandations qui contribueront à la mise au point de la Stratégie pour l’équité salariale entre les sexes de la province.

Remarque sur la portée des consultations

Le Comité directeur consultera différents groupes de l’ensemble de la province pour :

  • examiner la manière dont le rôle des femmes au travail, dans leur famille et dans leur collectivité est touché par l’écart salarial entre les sexes;
  • comprendre la manière dont l’écart salarial entre les sexes influe particulièrement sur les femmes actives sur le marché du travail dans l’ensemble de l’économie;
  • évaluer les moyens que le gouvernement, les entreprises, les syndicats, d’autres organismes et les dirigeants individuels peuvent adopter pour travailler en vue de remédier aux conditions et aux obstacles systémiques qui contribuent à l’écart salarial;
  • bien saisir d’autres facteurs qui se croisent avec le genre pour aggraver l’écart salarial et déterminer la manière d’aborder ces facteurs.

Le Comité directeur étudiera si les lois actuelles de l’Ontario (y compris la Loi sur l’équité salariale, la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi et le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario) traitent suffisamment de la disparité salariale entre les sexes, mais ne recommandera pas de modifications législatives.

Il existe un certain chevauchement entre l’écart salarial entre les sexes et d’autres enjeux concernant les milieux de travail abordés par d’autres initiatives, comme la Stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté et l’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail. Le Comité directeur veillera à ce que ses recommandations complètent ces initiatives, sans empiéter sur celles-ci.

précédent | suivant