Print  Print This Page

One Business, One Number

  • Issued: January 2010
  • Content last reviewed: January 2010

The Ontario government is committed to making government work easier and faster for businesses. As part of our Open for Business strategy, we are modernizing our programs and processes, reducing the regulatory burden and protecting the public interest. Ontario is helping businesses work more efficiently with government so they can focus on what they do best – provide service, compete, innovate, make profits, invest and create jobs.

We are also making it easier for you to grow and succeed; creating an environment that will attract new investment.

The Ontario government and the Government of Canada have been working together to implement a single Business Number (BN) system for Ontario businesses. The Ministry of Labour’s adoption of the Business Number will allow MOL programs to replace different methods that assigned business identifiers with one that uses the federal business number. A universal identifier for a company will make it simpler and more convenient for businesses to connect with the Ministry of Labour and other partners.

One number enables easier transactions for Ontario businesses.

It means a client could just have one number to access any of the linked services offered by different government program areas. The Ministry of Labour is transitioning to the single Business Number to better communicate with business owners.

Who assigns the single Business Number?

The number is assigned by the Canada Revenue Agency.

Return to top

When will the Ministry of Labour adopt the Business Number?

Ministry of Labour programs are scheduled to adopt the Business Number system by fall 2010.

Return to top

Why is the Ontario government making the transition to the Business Number?

Before the creation of the Business Number, most people registered to operate a new business by dealing directly with each program area at each government level. As a result, the same business had several program identifiers. A single business identifier will streamline processes and eliminate duplication of effort that can be costly.

Return to top

How will the Ministry of Labour use the Business Number?

Businesses will eventually be able to correspond with the ministry using that number. It will help the ministry cooperate with other government ministries to deliver services to businesses and improve service delivery. Ultimately, it will allow the Ministry of Labour to serve the business client more effectively on health and safety, and employment standards matters.

Return to top

What are the benefits for me?

In the past, Ontario business owners had to keep track of many account numbers. There was no common number to identify your business, which resulted in your company being registered under different numbers or with slightly different information.

The Business Number, once fully implemented, will make it easier for businesses to communicate with certain provincial or federal ministries about your accounts. It simplifies business-to-government interaction, as business owners will eventually be recognized across various government program areas by their business number.

Return to top

How will the company’s information be protected?

The Business Number will cross-reference other program identifiers for the purpose of sharing information, where permitted by legislation, regulations and information-sharing agreements. The introduction and use of the Business Number as an identifier does not change existing information-exchange agreements with any government department or agency.

Return to top

What does the Business Number look like?

The BN has two parts:

  • The Business Number is a nine-digit number that is unique to each business client and is common to Canada Revenue Agency.
  • The Occupational Health and Safety Number is an extension. It combines two letters that identify the program (i.e., TH – Occupational Health and Safety ) and four numbers to indicate the number of accounts you have within each program.

For example:

123456789 TH0001
Business Number Occupational Health and Safety Number

You will only need to reference the business number when dealing with the Ministry.

Return to top

Will you, as a result of the introduction of the Business Number, share my financial and other information with the Canada Revenue Agency?

No. The Ministry of Labour does not have a financial-sharing agreement with the CRA, and upon the adoption of the BN, the ministry will not enter into one.

Return to top

Can I update my information in writing?

Yes. You can provide your information in writing by e-mail.

Return to top

What other ministries have signed on to the Business Number?

The Ministry of Labour is the first non-tax-related ministry to adopt the number. The number has been adopted by the federal Canada Revenue Agency and the Ministry of Revenue. Other provincial ministries will be adopting the BN in the future.

Return to top

Have other provinces adopted the Business Number as their key identifier?

Yes. The CRA has forged partnerships involving the Business Number with the provinces of British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

Return to top

Am I required to have a Business Number? I have a question about BN registering and other procedures, or tax issues.

Business Numbers are assigned by the Canada Revenue Agency. You can visit:

Return to top

I have a question that isn’t answered here

If you have any additional questions about the Ministry of Labour’s use of the Business Number, please contact us.

Return to top

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Une entreprise, un numéro

  • Diffusion : janvier 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2010

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario est résolu à rendre le travail du gouvernement auprès des entreprises plus facile et plus rapide. Dans le cadre de son initiative intitulée L’Ontario propice aux affaires, il modernise ses programmes et ses processus, allège le fardeau réglementaire et protège l’intérêt public. L’Ontario aide les entreprises à mieux faire affaire avec le gouvernement afin qu’elles puissent se consacrer à ce qu’elles font de mieux, c’est-à-dire offrir des services, faire concurrence, innover, réaliser des profits, investir et créer des emplois.

En outre, le gouvernement de l’Ontario favorise la croissance et la réussite des entreprises en créant un contexte qui permettra d’attirer de nouveaux investisseurs.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario et le gouvernement du Canada ont travaillé de concert afin de permettre aux entreprises ontariennes d’utiliser un seul et même numéro d’entreprise. Grâce à l’adoption du numéro d’entreprise unique, le ministère du Travail (MTR) pourra remplacer les différentes méthodes d’attribution des numéros d’identification des entreprises en vigueur au sein de ses programmes par une méthode employant le numéro d’entreprise fédéral. L’adoption d’un seul numéro d’identification pour une même entreprise fera en sorte qu’il sera dorénavant plus facile et plus pratique de faire affaire avec le MTR et d’autres partenaires.

Un seul numéro d'entreprise permettra de simplifier les transactions effectuées par les entreprises de l'Ontario.

Cela suppose qu’un seul et même numéro suffira aux clients pour accéder aux divers services connexes offerts par différents secteurs de programme du gouvernement. Le MTR effectue cette transition vers le numéro d’entreprise unique dans le but d’améliorer ses communications avec les propriétaires d’entreprise.

Qui attribue le numéro d’entreprise?

L’Agence du revenu du Canada est responsable de l’attribution des numéros d’entreprise.

Retour en haut

Quand le ministère du Travail adoptera-t-il le numéro d’entreprise?

Les programmes du ministère du Travail utiliseront le numéro d’entreprise d’ici l’automne 2010.

Retour en haut

Pourquoi le gouvernement de l’Ontario a-t-il choisi d’adopter le numéro d’entreprise?

Avant l’instauration du numéro d’entreprise unique, la plupart des personnes qui inscrivaient leur nouvelle entreprise devaient communiquer directement avec chaque secteur de programme de chaque ordre de gouvernement, de sorte qu’une même entreprise avait plusieurs numéros d’identification. L’adoption d’un seul numéro d’identification pour les entreprises simplifiera les processus et éliminera les dédoublements administratifs qui peuvent s’avérer coûteux.

Retour en haut

De quelle façon le ministère du Travail se servira-t-il du numéro d’entreprise?

Les entreprises pourront correspondre avec le ministère à l’aide de ce numéro. L’adoption du numéro d’entreprise aidera le ministère à collaborer avec d’autres ministères pour fournir des services aux entreprises et améliorer la prestation des services. Essentiellement, il permettra au ministère du Travail de répondre de façon plus efficace aux entreprises clientes pour tout ce qui touche à la santé et à la sécurité au travail, ainsi qu’aux normes d’emploi.

Retour en haut

Quels avantages en tirerai-je?

Par le passé, les propriétaires d'entreprise de l'Ontario devaient gérer plusieurs numéros de compte. Il n’existait pas de numéro commun pour identifier les entreprises. Ainsi, elles étaient inscrites sous différents numéros ou avec des renseignements légèrement différents.

Une fois le numéro d’entreprise unique en vigueur, il sera plus facile pour les entreprises de communiquer avec certains ministères provinciaux et fédéraux au sujet de leur compte. Cette mesure aura pour effet de faciliter les échanges entre les entreprises et le gouvernement, puisque le numéro d’entreprise permettra d’identifier un propriétaire d’entreprise dans divers secteurs de programme du gouvernement.

Retour en haut

De quelle façon les renseignements de l’entreprise seront-ils protégés?

Aux fins de l’échange d’information, le numéro d’entreprise renverra aux autres numéros d’identification ayant été attribués à l’entreprise par le passé, lorsque les lois, les règlements et les accords d’échange d’information le permettent. L'adoption et l'utilisation du numéro d'entreprise en tant que numéro d'identification ne modifient en rien les accords actuels d’échange d’information avec les ministères ou les organismes gouvernementaux.

Retour en haut

En quoi consiste le numéro d’entreprise?

Le numéro d’entreprise comporte deux parties.

  • Le numéro d'entreprise est un numéro de neuf chiffres, unique à chaque entreprise cliente, et commun à tous les programmes administrés par l'Agence du revenu du Canada.
  • Le numéro de santé et sécurité au travail est un suffixe qui se compose de deux lettres désignant le programme (c.-à-d., TH = santé et sécurité au travail) et de quatre chiffres indiquant le nombre de comptes détenus par l'entreprise pour chaque programme.

Par exemple :

123456789 TH0001
Numéro d’entreprise Numéro de santé et sécurité au travail

Vous ne devrez donner que votre numéro d’entreprise lorsque vous communiquerez avec le ministère.

À la suite de l'adoption du numéro d’entreprise, est-ce que mes données financières et autres renseignements seront communiqués à l'Agence du revenu du Canada?

Non. Le ministère du Travail n’a pas signé un accord d’échange d’information avec l’Agence du revenu du Canada et n’a pas l’intention d’en signer une fois le numéro d’entreprise adopté.

Retour en haut

Puis-je mettre mes renseignements à jour par écrit?

Oui. Vous pouvez transmettre vos données en envoyant un courriel.

Retour en haut

Quels autres ministères ont adopté le numéro d’entreprise?

Le ministère du Travail est le premier ministère ne traitant pas de questions fiscales à avoir adopté le numéro d’entreprise. Le numéro a été adopté par l’Agence du revenu du Canada et le ministère du Revenu. Les autres ministères du gouvernement adopteront prochainement le numéro d’entreprise.

Retour en haut

D’autres provinces ont-elles adopté le numéro d’entreprise comme principal numéro d’identification des entreprises?

Oui, l’Agence du revenu du Canada a établi des partenariats avec la Colombie-Britannique, le Manitoba, le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Retour en haut

Suis-je tenu d’avoir un numéro d’entreprise? J’ai une question concernant l’inscription de mon entreprise, d’autres procédures et questions fiscales.

L’Agence du revenu du Canada est l’organisme responsable de l’attribution des numéros d’entreprise. Nous vous invitons à consulter les sites Web suivants :

Retour en haut

J’aimerais poser une question qui ne se trouve pas dans la FAQ

Pour toute autre question sur l’utilisation du numéro d’entreprise au ministère du Travail, veuillez envoyer un courriel.

Retour en haut