Table of Contents | Print This Page

5.1 Legislative History of the ESA

See also: The Changing Workplaces Review

Ontario’s first comprehensive employment standards legislation – the Employment Standards Act, 1968 – was proclaimed into force in 1969. This law consolidated a number of Acts dealing with different types of employment standards.

Sections below highlight key changes made to employment standards legislation over the past four decades. Note that this is not an exhaustive list of amendments and does not identify all details relating to a particular change (e.g., exemptions from, or qualifying conditions for, a particular standard).

Pre-1969

Related predecessor legislation to the Employment Standards Act, 1968 included the following Acts:

  • the Ontario Factories Act of 1884 was Ontario’s first statute to regulate hours of work. That Act applied to the manufacturing industry and set maximum hours of work for boys, girls and women at 10 hours per day and 60 hours per week;
  • in 1920, the Minimum Wage Act authorized a Board to establish a weekly minimum wage in a particular trade, industry or business. Initially the Act applied only to female employees, but was extended to male employees in the 1930s. The Board was also given authority to establish minimum hourly rates for overtime. In the early 1960s, hourly minimum wage rates replaced the weekly rates; and
  • in 1944, the Hours of Work and Vacations with Pay Act set maximum hours of work at 8 hours per day and 48 per week in certain industrial undertakings, the same general standard that prevails today. A Board was authorized to order longer hours where both the employer and employees agreed. Also:
    • the Act provided for 1 week of vacation with 2% vacation pay after each year of service; in the mid-1960s employees with 3 or more years of service became entitled to 2 weeks’ vacation and 4% of their total wages as vacation pay; and
    • meal break requirements were introduced into the Act in the mid-1960s.

1968 and 1969

The separate statutes described above were replaced with the Employment Standards Act, 1968. In addition to setting out maximum hours of work, vacation with pay and minimum wage entitlements, the 1968 Act:

  • set overtime pay at 1.5 times the regular rate for hours of work in excess of 48 hours a week (the employer and employee (with the approval of the Director of Employment Standards) could agree to average hours of work for the purposes of determining the employee’s entitlement to overtime pay);
  • incorporated provisions that were in the Ontario Human Rights Code concerning equal pay for female workers doing the same work as male workers in the same establishment; and
  • provided for premium pay for hours worked on one of the four public holidays – Good Friday, Dominion Day (now Canada Day), Labour Day and Christmas Day.

1970 to 1999

Key amendments to the Act in the 1970s:

  • instituted written notice of termination and provided for termination pay where notice was not given; created rules around mass terminations;
  • incorporated pregnancy leave entitlements that were in the Women’s Equal Employment Opportunity Act;
  • lowered the overtime pay threshold from 48 to 44 hours of work in a week; and
  • added 3 more public holidays – New Year’s Day, Victoria Day and Thanksgiving Day.

Key amendments to the Act in the 1980s:

  • introduced entitlement to severance pay;
  • introduced the lie detector provisions;
  • altered the length of required notice of termination; and
  • added a public holiday – December 26 (Boxing Day).

Key amendments to the Act in the 1990s:

  • introduced parental leave (in 1990); and
  • created the Employee Wage Protection Program (EWPP) (in 1991; narrowed in 1995; and discontinued in 1997).[117]

The following were introduced after the change in government in 1995:

  • a $10,000 cap on an order to pay issued by an Employment Standards Officer (ESO);
  • a shorter time limit for recovery of unpaid wages;
  • permission for the Director of Employment Standards to appoint private sector collectors;
  • a general prohibition against unionized employees filing complaints under the Act (enforcement put under collective agreements); and
  • jurisdiction to hear applications for review transferred from the Office of Adjudication to the Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB).

2000

The 2000 review of the former Employment Standards Act included province-wide consultations by the government. The new Act took effect in 2001.

Key changes included:

  • hours of work – the permit system for excess hours was eliminated; an employee’s agreement to work excess hours now had to be in writing; approval by the Director of Employment Standards for excess hours was required only after 60 hours in a week, not 48 hours;
  • rest periods – daily, weekly/bi-weekly and between shift rest periods were introduced;
  • overtime – agreements to average overtime over a period of up to 4 weeks no longer required the approval of the Director of Employment Standards; the Director’s approval was still required to average overtime for a period longer than 4 weeks. Employers and employees could agree in writing that overtime will be taken as paid time off in lieu of overtime pay;
  • job-protected leave – personal emergency leave (PEL) was introduced for employers with 50 or more employees; the length of parental leave was extended;
  • posting information – required employers to post information about the ESA in the workplace;
  • reprisals – introduced a general anti-reprisal provision enforceable by an ESO through orders for reinstatement and/or compensation. Burden placed on the employer to show there was no reprisal; and
  • enforcement tools – authorized ESOs to issue Notices of Contravention (NOCs) and compliance orders. Provided for escalating maximum fines for corporations and increased the maximum jail term.

Post-ESA, 2000

Additional changes to the Act that generally focused on a specific issue, rather than a full review of the Act.

Excess hours of work and overtime averaging (2005):

Public consultations on the scheme for excess daily and weekly hours led to the following changes:

  • the Director of Employment Standards must approve all agreements between employers and employees to work excess weekly hours (i.e., more than 48 hours in a week rather than just those above 60 hours a week);
  • employers are required to give to an employee agreeing to work excess daily or weekly hours an information document, prepared by the Director of Employment Standards, that describes employees’ rights under the hours of work and overtime pay provisions; and
  • the Director of Employment Standards must approve all agreements between employers and employees to average hours of work for the purposes of determining the employee’s entitlement to overtime – rather than just those agreements that average hours beyond a 4-week period.

New job-protected leaves:

  • family medical leave was introduced in 2004;
  • reservist leave was introduced in 2007; and
  • organ donor leave was introduced in 2009.

New public holiday:

  • Family Day was added beginning February 2008.

Temporary help agencies:

  • extensive amendments relating to temporary help agency (THA) employment were introduced in 2009 (see section 5.3.9 for details).

Changes to the claims process (2010):

  • provided that the Director of Employment Standards generally would not assign a claim to an ESO unless the employee takes certain steps identified by the Director (one such step established by the Director is that, generally, the employee must contact his or her employer to try to resolve the issue before she or he files a claim);
  • provided that an ESO assigned to investigate a claim can attempt to effect a settlement between the parties; and
  • provided that an ESO can give notice requiring an employee or employer to supply evidence or submissions within a specified timeframe, failing which, the ESO can make a decision based on the best available evidence.

2014 and 2015

The most recent changes to the ESA came into force in 2014 and 2015:

  • cap and time period for recovering wages – the $10,000 cap on orders to pay wages was eliminated and the time limit for recovery of unpaid wages was extended from six (or twelve months in certain cases) to two years;
  • minimum wage – beginning October 1, 2015, annual adjustments to the minimum wage became based on changes in the Consumer Price Index. A review of the minimum wage and the process for adjusting it must commence before October 1, 2020;
  • employment standards poster – employers are now required to provide employees with a copy of the most recent version of the employment standards poster;
  • temporary help agencies (THAs) – introduced joint and several liability between THAs and their clients for the failure to pay certain unpaid wages and premium pay; and
  • new job-protected leaves – family caregiver leave, critically ill child care leave, and crime-related child death or disappearance leaves were enacted.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

5.1 Historique législatif de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi

Voir aussi : Examen portant sur l'évolution des milieux de travail

La première loi exhaustive de l’Ontario sur les normes d’emploi – la Loi de 1968 sur les normes d’emploi – est entrée en vigueur en 1969. Cette Loi consolidait un certain nombre de lois traitant de différents types de normes d’emploi.

Dans les sections qui suivent, les principaux changements apportés à la Loi sur les normes d’emploi au cours des quatre dernières décennies sont mis en évidence. Il est à noter qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une liste exhaustive des modifications, et que l’on n’y décrit pas tous les détails relatifs à un changement en particulier (p. ex., les exemptions à une norme en particulier ou les conditions d’admissibilité).

Avant 1969

Parmi les lois connexes qu’a remplacées la Loi de 1968 sur les normes d’emploi, mentionnons notamment les lois suivantes :

  • La Ontario Factories Act de 1884, première loi de l’Ontario à réglementer les heures de travail. Cette Loi s’appliquait à l’industrie manufacturière et établissait le nombre d’heures de travail maximal pour les jeunes hommes, les jeunes filles et les femmes à 10 heures par jour et à 60 heures par semaine.
  • En 1920, la Loi sur le salaire minimum autorisait un conseil à déterminer un salaire hebdomadaire minimum pour un métier, une industrie ou une entreprise en particulier. Initialement, la Loi s’appliquait uniquement aux employés de sexe féminin, mais elle a été étendue aux employés de sexe masculin dans les années 1930. Le conseil a également obtenu le pouvoir de déterminer les taux horaires minimums pour les heures supplémentaires. Au début des années 1960, le salaire horaire minimum a remplacé le salaire hebdomadaire.
  • En 1944, la Hours of Work and Vacations with Pay Act établissait le nombre maximal d’heures de travail à 8 heures par jour et à 48 heures par semaine dans certaines entreprises industrielles, les mêmes normes générales qui sont encore en vigueur aujourd’hui. Un conseil avait aussi le pouvoir de prolonger les heures de travail avec l’accord de l’employeur et des employés. De plus :
    • La Loi prévoyait une semaine de vacances avec une indemnité de vacances de 2 % après chaque année de service; au milieu des années 1960, les employés comptant 3 années de service ou plus avaient droit à 2 semaines de vacances et à 4 % de leur salaire total au titre d’indemnité de vacances.
    • Des exigences relatives à une pause-repas ont été intégrées à la Loi au milieu des années 1960.

1968 et 1969

Les lois distinctes décrites ci-dessus ont été remplacées par la Loi de 1968 sur les normes d’emploi. En plus de déterminer le nombre maximal d’heures de travail, les droits aux vacances payées et le salaire minimum, la Loi de 1968 :

  • établissait la rémunération des heures supplémentaires à 1,5 fois le taux normal pour les heures travaillées après 48 heures par semaine (l’employeur et l’employé – avec le consentement du directeur des normes d’emploi – pouvaient s’entendre sur le nombre moyen d’heures de travail servant à déterminer le droit des employés à la rémunération des heures supplémentaires);
  • intégrait des dispositions qui faisaient partie du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario relativement au salaire égal pour les travailleuses exécutant le même travail que les travailleurs dans un même établissement; et
  • prévoyait le versement d’une prime pour les heures travaillées à l’occasion de l’un des quatre jours fériés – le Vendredi saint, le jour de la Confédération (aujourd’hui jour fête du Canada), la fête du Travail et Noël.

1970 à 1999

Principales modifications à la Loi dans les années 1970 :

  • établissement d’un avis écrit de licenciement, et versement d’une indemnité de licenciement en l’absence d’un avis; création des règles relatives aux licenciements collectifs;
  • intégration des droits aux congés de maternité dans la Women’s Equal Employment Opportunity Act;
  • abaissement du seuil des heures de travail nécessaires pour avoir droit à la rémunération des heures supplémentaires de 48 à 44 heures par semaine;
  • ajout de 3 autres jours fériés – jour de l’An, fête de Victoria et Action de grâces.

Principales modifications à la Loi dans les années 1980 :

  • intégration du droit à une indemnité de cessation d’emploi;
  • intégration de dispositions liées au détecteur de mensonges;
  • modification de la période du préavis obligatoire;
  • ajout d’un jour férié – le 26 décembre (lendemain de Noël).

Principales modifications à la Loi dans les années 1990 :

  • intégration d’un congé parental (en 1990);
  • création du Programme de protection des salaires des employés (en 1991; réduction du programme en 1995 et abandon en 1997).[117]

Les éléments suivants ont été adoptés après le changement de gouvernement en 1995 :

  • plafond de 10 000 $ pour les ordonnances de paiement émises par un agent des normes d’emploi (ANE);
  • période plus courte pour le recouvrement des salaires impayés;
  • permission accordée au directeur des normes d’emploi de nommer des agents de recouvrement du secteur privé;
  • interdiction générale d’empêcher les employés syndiqués de déposer des plaintes en vertu de la Loi (mise en vigueur prévue dans les conventions collectives);
  • transfert de la compétence pour entendre les appels du Bureau de l’arbitrage des griefs à la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario (CRTO).

2000

L’examen, en l’an 2000, de l’ancienne Loi sur les normes d’emploi incluait des consultations faites par le gouvernement dans l’ensemble de la province. La nouvelle Loi est entrée en vigueur en 2001.

Les principaux changements portaient sur les éléments suivants :

  • heures de travail – le système de permis pour le dépassement des heures normales a été éliminé; l’acceptation par un employé de travailler au-delà des heures prévues doit maintenant être signifiée par écrit; le directeur des normes d’emploi devait autoriser les heures excédentaires seulement après 60 heures au cours d’une même semaine, et non 48;
  • périodes d’inactivité – les périodes d’inactivité quotidiennes, hebdomadaires/aux deux semaines et entre les quarts de travail ont été adoptées;
  • heures supplémentaires – les ententes pour répartir la moyenne des heures de travail sur une période allant jusqu’à 4 semaines ne nécessitent plus l’autorisation du directeur des normes d’emploi; l’autorisation du directeur est toujours requise pour répartir la moyenne des heures de travail sur plus de quatre semaines. Les employeurs et les employés peuvent s’entendre par écrit pour que les heures supplémentaires soient rémunérées à titre de congé compensatoire et non à titre d’heures supplémentaires;
  • congé avec protection de l’emploi – le congé d’urgence personnelle a été adopté pour les employeurs ayant 50 employés ou plus; le congé parental a été prolongé;
  • affichage de l’information – les employeurs sont tenus d’afficher sur les lieux de travail l’information sur la LNE;
  • représailles – adoption d’une disposition générale contre les représailles, qu’un ANE peut mettre à exécution dans le cadre d’ordonnances de conformité pour la réintégration ou l’indemnisation, ou les deux. Le fardeau de la preuve qu’il n’y a pas eu de représailles repose sur l’employeur;
  • outils d’application – ce sont les ANE autorisés qui émettent les avis de contravention et les ordonnances de conformité. Des amendes maximales croissantes sont prévues pour les entreprises ainsi que des peines d’emprisonnement plus longues.

Après la LNE de 2000

Autres modifications à la Loi qui touchent généralement une question précise plutôt qu’un examen complet de la Loi.

Moyenne des heures excédentaires et des heures supplémentaires (2005) :

Des consultations publiques sur le régime lié aux heures excédentaires par jour et par semaine ont mené aux changements suivants :

  • Le directeur des normes d’emploi doit approuver toutes les ententes conclues entre les employeurs et les employés pour l’exécution d’heures de travail excédentaires au cours d’une semaine (p. ex., plus de 48 heures au cours d’une semaine plutôt que seulement les heures dépassant 60 heures par semaine);
  • Les employeurs doivent remettre un document d’information aux employés qui acceptent d’exécuter des heures excédentaires au cours d’une journée ou d’une semaine, document préparé par le directeur des normes d’emploi et décrivant les droits des employés en vertu des dispositions relatives aux heures de travail et aux heures supplémentaires;
  • Le directeur des normes d’emploi doit approuver toutes les ententes conclues entre les employeurs et les employés pour établir la moyenne des heures de travail, afin de déterminer le droit des employés aux heures supplémentaires – plutôt qu’uniquement les ententes établissant la moyenne des heures au-delà d’une période de 4 semaines.

Nouveaux congés avec protection de l’emploi :

  • Le congé familial pour raison médicale a été introduit en 2004;
  • Le congé de réserviste a été introduit en 2007;
  • Le congé pour don d’organe a été introduit en 2009.

Nouveau jour férié :

  • Le jour de la Famille a été ajouté au début de février 2008.

Agences de placement temporaire :

  • D’importantes modifications liées à l’emploi par des agences de placement temporaire (APT) ont été apportées en 2009 (voir les détails à la section 5.3.9).

Modifications au processus de règlement des réclamations (2010) :

  • Elles prévoient que le directeur des normes d’emploi n’attribue généralement pas de réclamation à un ANE à moins qu’un employé n’ait pris certaines mesures déterminées par le directeur (l’une de ces mesures déterminées par le directeur est que, en règle générale, l’employé doit communiquer avec son employeur pour tenter de régler le problème avant de faire une réclamation);
  • Elles prévoient qu’un ANE affecté à une enquête sur une réclamation peut tenter d’en arriver à un règlement entre les parties;
  • Elles prévoient qu’un ANE peut signifier un avis exigeant d’un employé ou d’un employeur qu’il fournisse sa preuve écrite ou ses observations au cours d’une période déterminée, faute de quoi l’ANE peut rendre une décision s’appuyant sur les meilleures données possible.

2014 et 2015

Les plus récentes modifications à la LNE sont entrées en vigueur en 2014 et 2015 :

  • plafond et délai pour la récupération des salaires – le plafond de 10 000 $ relatif aux ordonnances pour salaires non payés a été éliminé, et le délai pour récupérer les salaires non payés est passé de six mois (ou douze dans certains cas) à deux ans;
  • salaire minimum – depuis le 1er octobre 2015, les rajustements annuels du salaire minimum sont devenus tributaires des changements de l’indice des prix à la consommation. L’examen du salaire minimum et du processus de rajustement doit commencer le 1er octobre 2020;
  • affiche sur les normes d’emploi – les employeurs doivent maintenant fournir aux employés un exemplaire de la version la plus récente de l’affiche sur les normes d’emploi;
  • agences de placement temporaire (APT) – introduction de la responsabilité solidaire entre les APT et leurs clients en cas de non-paiement de certains salaires et de certaines primes;
  • nouveaux congés avec protection de l’emploi – le congé familial pour les aidants naturels, le congé pour soins à un enfant gravement malade et le congé en cas de décès ou de disparition d’un enfant dans des circonstances criminelles ont été édictés.

précédent | suivant