Table of Contents | Print This Page

4.1 Legislative History of the Labour Relations Act

See also: The Changing Workplaces Review

The North American model of labour relations is based on the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), better known as the “Wagner Act”, enacted in the United States in 1935. The essential features of the Wagner Act model have been described as follows:

The Wagner Act model of labour relations permits a sufficiently large sector of employees to choose to associate themselves with a particular trade union and, if necessary, to decertify a union that fails to serve their needs. The principles of majoritarianism and exclusivity, the mechanism of “bargaining units” and the processes of certification and decertification – all under the supervision of an independent labour relations board – ensure that an employer deals with the association most representative of its employees.[40]

In 1943, Ontario enacted the Collective Bargaining Act, which adopted certain Wagner Act features (such as a process for union certification). The Collective Bargaining Act was in effect for only six months before being displaced by the federal Wartime Labour Relations Regulations – Order in Council P.C. 1003 – which was introduced in early 1944 under the War Measures Act. This federal cabinet order contained a comprehensive framework for recognizing unions, which informs our laws to this day. Influenced by the Wagner Act, the central features of this framework were the following:

  • non-managerial employees (other than excluded categories) were given the right to form and join unions;
  • actions by employers against employees exercising the right to unionize were prohibited;
  • labour boards, not courts, were authorized to certify unions as bargaining representatives for appropriate bargaining units, on proof of majority support;
  • once certified, a union became the exclusive bargaining representative of all employees in the bargaining unit, whether or not they were union members;
  • employers had to bargain in good faith;
  • before resorting to economic sanctions, the parties were required to participate in government-sponsored conciliation; and
  • during the term of a collective agreement, the parties could not engage in strikes or lock-outs, but instead were required to submit differences arising under the collective agreement to a neutral third party for grievance arbitration.

Following WWII, each province introduced its own legislation, based on the P.C. 1003 model. In 1950, Ontario introduced the Labour Relations Act. This legislation, building on P.C. 1003, established the legal foundation for collective bargaining in the province.

Post-war, labour relations in Canada tried to balance the interests of capital and labour within a free market system. The resulting legal compromises, sometimes controversial, provided the foundation for expanded workers’ rights. Generally the approach after 1950 featured incremental changes.

Initially, the Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB) had no enforcement mechanism, other than to grant consent to prosecute. In 1960, however, amendments to the Act gave the OLRB authority to order the reinstatement of employees terminated as a result of unfair labour practices. In 1970, further reforms included the union’s duty of fair representation and the OLRB’s accompanying remedial power to respond to complaints that a union had breached this duty. The level of support required for unions to obtain certification without a vote was increased at this time from 55% to 65%.

In 1975, legislative amendments included:

  • a reduction in the membership evidence requirements for card-based certification (to 55% from 65%);
  • provision for interim certification;
  • the reversal of the legal onus in unfair labour practice complaints;
  • the reversal of the evidentiary onus in successor and related employer applications;
  • an expansion of the OLRB’s remedial authority in dealing with unfair labour practices and unlawful work stoppages; and
  • an extension of bargaining rights to dependent contractors.

In the early 1990s, a former Chair of the OLRB observed that up to then “Ontario [had] never been the leader of labour law reform and has been content to let other jurisdictions do the experimentation. On the other hand, once it was clear that such experiments did not result in industrial chaos, Ontario was prepared to move reasonably quickly to adopt such reforms.”[41]

Although prior to 1993, there were occasional amendments addressing specific issues,[42] major changes to the LRA were introduced in 1993 and 1995 and, most recently, in 2005. Over this period, the most significant changes to the legislation have accompanied changes in the governing political party.

1993 Amendments

Following the 1990 election, the Ontario government announced that it planned to reform labour legislation to “ensure that workers can freely exercise their right to organize”. An outside committee of advisors representing management and labour, and chaired by a neutral arbitrator, was formed. The committee was asked to consider a number of issues within a one-month time frame. The management and labour representatives on the committee were not able to reach consensus. As a result, separate reports were filed. Subsequently, the government released a Discussion Paper on labour law reform, which included 41 preferred options for reform, as well as additional options that were set out for discussion, without indicating a preferred position. The Minister of Labour then held hearings in 11 cities, meeting over 300 groups and receiving 447 written briefs. Legislation was introduced in June 1992 and took effect in January 1993.

In the 1993 amendments, the key features were:

  • the LRA’s coverage was expanded to include domestic workers and certain professionals (e.g., lawyers, architects, dentists);
  • full- and part-time employees were to be included in the same bargaining unit at the time of certification;
  • the OLRB was given the power to consolidate bargaining units of the same employer represented by the same union;
  • expedited hearings were provided for complaints arising from discipline or discharge during organizing campaigns, and the OLRB was given the power to issue interim orders;
  • limited access to third party property (e.g., shopping malls, industrial parks) for organizing and picketing purposes;
  • access to remedial certification was expanded, whereby the union no longer had to demonstrate adequate collective bargaining support in order to trigger the remedy in circumstances where the employer, through a violation of the Act, had made it unlikely that the true wishes of the employees could be ascertained;
  • the use of replacement workers was prohibited;
  • employees were given just cause protection in cases of disciplinary action or dismissal before the effective date of a first collective agreement following certification;
  • employees were given just cause protection during strikes, lock-outs, or the open period until a renewal collective agreement was in operation or until the union was decertified;
  • employers and unions were required to bargain an adjustment plan in cases of mass terminations or plant closures; and
  • after a strike, employers were required to reinstate returning employees to their former positions, giving striking employees priority over anyone who performed the work during the strike.

1995 Amendments

Following the change in government in 1995, the LRA was again extensively revised. A letter was sent to union and employer stakeholders asking them to respond in writing to a limited number of issues. Subsequent legislation repealed all of the substantive changes introduced in 1993 and introduced significant amendments including:

  • replacing the card-based certification process by compulsory certification votes;
  • lowering the threshold for employees to apply to decertify a bargaining agent;
  • introducing requirements for strike and ratification votes; and
  • removing successor rights for crown employees (restored in 2006).

Further Amendments in 1998 and 2000

In 1998, additional changes were made that:

  • removed the OLRB’s power to grant remedial certification and remedial dismissal and added the power to order a second representation vote;
  • permitted employers, in an application for certification, to challenge a union’s estimate of the number of employees in a proposed bargaining unit; and
  • amended the OLRB’s interim order powers to oust the application of the Statutory Powers and Procedure Act.

In 2000, changes to the LRA were made that:

  • required employers to post and distribute information on the decertification process;
  • introduced union salary disclosure for all union officials and employees earning more than $100,000 annually;
  • created a mandatory certification bar of one year, applicable to any union, with respect to the same jobs or positions;
  • extended the “open period” for decertification;
  • required the OLRB to deal with decertification applications before dealing with, or continuing to deal with, applications for first contract arbitration; and
  • required separate strike and ratification votes in first contract situations.

2005 Amendments

After a change in government, amendments to the LRA in 2005 included:

  • reintroducing the OLRB’s power to certify a union where an employer has violated the LRA during a union organizing campaign;
  • reintroducing the OLRB’s power to make certain types of substantive interim orders; and
  • repealing the union salary disclosure provisions of the LRA and the requirement that unionized employers post and distribute information on the decertification process to their employees.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

4.1 Historique législatif de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail

Voir aussi : Examen portant sur l'évolution des milieux de travail

Le modèle nord-américain des relations de travail est basé sur la National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), mieux connue sous la désignation de « loi Wagner », promulguée aux États-Unis en 1935. Les caractéristiques essentielles du modèle de la loi Wagner ont été décrites comme suit :

Ce modèle permet à un secteur d’employés suffisamment important de choisir de s’associer à un syndicat en particulier et, au besoin, d’obtenir le retrait d’accréditation d’un agent négociateur qui ne répond pas à ses besoins. Les principes de la majorité et de l’exclusivité, le mécanisme des « unités de négociation » et les processus d’accréditation et de retrait d’accréditation — le tout sous la supervision d’une commission indépendante des relations de travail — garantissent que l’employeur négocie avec l’association la plus représentative des travailleurs qui en sont membres[40].

En 1943, l’Ontario a adopté le Collective Bargaining Act, une législation qui reprenait certaines caractéristiques de la loi Wagner (comme le processus d’accréditation syndicale). Elle est restée en vigueur six mois seulement avant d’être remplacée par les Règlements des Relations ouvrières en temps de guerre, décret CP 1003, introduits au début de 1944 en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures de guerre. Ce décret du cabinet fédéral contenait un cadre global d’accréditation syndicale qui continue d’informer nos lois jusqu’à ce jour. Les principales caractéristiques de ce cadre, sous l’influence de la loi Wagner, étaient les suivantes :

  • les employés non-cadres (autres que les catégories exclues) se voient octroyer le droit de créer des syndicats et de se syndiquer;
  • il est interdit aux employeurs de prendre des mesures contre les employés qui exercent le droit de se syndiquer;
  • les commissions du travail, et non les tribunaux, sont autorisées à accréditer les syndicats en tant qu’agents négociateurs pour les unités de négociation correspondantes après avoir fait la preuve de l’appui de la majorité des travailleurs;
  • une fois accrédité, un syndicat devient l’agent négociateur exclusif de tous les travailleurs de l’unité de négociation, qu’ils soient ou non membres du syndicat;
  • les employeurs sont tenus de négocier de bonne foi;
  • avant de recourir à des sanctions économiques, les parties sont tenues de participer à la conciliation parrainée par le gouvernement;
  • pendant la durée d’une convention collective, les parties ne peuvent pas déclencher de grève ou de lock-out, mais elles doivent présenter les différends liés à la convention collective à un tiers neutre en vue de l’arbitrage des griefs.

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, chaque province a introduit sa propre législation calquée sur le modèle du décret 1003. En 1950, l’Ontario a adopté le Labour Relations Act. Cette loi, inspirée du décret 1003, a établi le fondement juridique de la négociation collective dans la province.

Après la guerre, les relations de travail au Canada font l'objet d’une tentative d’équilibrer les intérêts du capital avec ceux de la main-d’œuvre au sein du système du libre marché. Les compromis juridiques qui ont résulté de cette volonté étaient parfois controversés, mais ils ont constitué le tremplin vers un élargissement des droits des travailleurs. Après 1950, l’approche généralement adoptée a été celle du changement progressif.

Dans un premier temps, la Commission des relations du travail de l’Ontario (CRTO) n’avait aucun mécanisme d’exécution, à part celui de consentir à une poursuite judiciaire. Toutefois, en 1960, des modifications à la loi lui ont donné le pouvoir d’ordonner la réintégration des travailleurs renvoyés à cause de pratiques déloyales. En 1970, de nouvelles réformes ont ajouté le devoir de représentation syndicale équitable et le pouvoir de redressement connexe de la CRTO de répondre aux plaintes selon lesquelles le syndicat aurait manqué à cette obligation. Le niveau de soutien requis pour qu’un syndicat obtienne une accréditation sans scrutin est passé de 55 % à 65 % à ce moment-là.

En 1975, les modifications législatives incluaient les suivantes :

  • une réduction des exigences en matière de preuve d’adhésion pour l’accréditation fondée sur les cartes (de 65 % à 55 %);
  • une disposition d’accréditation provisoire;
  • le renversement du fardeau de la preuve dans les plaintes concernant des pratiques déloyales de travail;
  • le renversement du fardeau de la preuve relativement aux demandes d’employeurs qui succèdent ou qui sont liés;
  • une expansion des pouvoirs de redressement de la CRTO dans le traitement des pratiques déloyales de travail et des arrêts de travail illégaux;
  • l’élargissement des droits de négociation à des entrepreneurs dépendants.

Au début des années 1990, un ancien président de la CRTO fait l'observation que jusque-là [traduction] « l’Ontario n’a jamais été le chef de file de la réforme du droit du travail et s’est contenté de laisser d’autres pays faire des expérimentations. Toutefois, lorsqu’il est devenu clair que de telles expériences ne produisaient pas une situation chaotique dans les relations de travail, l’Ontario s’est apprêté à adopter de telles réformes assez rapidement[41]. »

Avant 1993, on a certes vu des modifications ponctuelles portant sur des questions précises[42], mais les grands changements à la LRT ont été introduits en 1993, en 1995 et, plus récemment, en 2005. Au cours de cette période, les modifications les plus significatives à la loi ont accompagné l’alternance des partis politiques au pouvoir.

Modifications de 1993

Suite à l’élection de 1990, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a annoncé qu’il envisageait de réformer la législation du travail pour faire en sorte que les « travailleurs puissent exercer librement leur droit de se syndiquer » [traduction]. On a constitué un comité externe de conseillers représentant le patronat et les syndicats, et présidé par un arbitre, en le chargeant d’examiner pendant un mois un certain nombre de questions. Les représentants patronaux et syndicaux n’ont pas réussi à s’entendre sur un consensus. En conséquence, des rapports distincts ont été déposés. Par la suite, le gouvernement a publié un document de travail sur la réforme du droit du travail suggérant 41 options privilégiées pour la réforme, ainsi que des options supplémentaires devant être débattues sans indiquer une position privilégiée. Ensuite, le ministre du Travail a tenu des audiences dans onze villes, rencontré plus de 300 groupes et reçu 447 mémoires. Introduite en juin 1992, la loi est entrée en vigueur en janvier 1993.

Voici les principaux aspects des modifications de 1993 :

  • la portée de la LRT a été élargie pour inclure les travailleurs domestiques et certains professionnels (avocats, architectes, dentistes...);
  • les employés à temps plein et à temps partiel devaient être inclus dans la même unité de négociation au moment de l’accréditation;
  • la CRTO a reçu le pouvoir de regrouper les unités de négociation d'un même employeur représentées par le même syndicat;
  • des audiences accélérées sont devenues possibles en cas de plainte pour congédiement ou mesures disciplinaires au cours d’une campagne de syndicalisation, et la CRTO a reçu le pouvoir d’émettre des ordonnances provisoires;
  • l’accès limité aux propriétés de tiers (centres commerciaux, parcs industriels) à des fins de syndicalisation et de piquetage;
  • l’accès à l’accréditation corrective a été élargi, de sorte que le syndicat n’avait plus à démontrer un soutien suffisant à la négociation collective pour déclencher une mesure de redressement dans les cas où l’employeur, à cause d’une violation de la loi, rend vraisemblablement impossible de déterminer les vrais désirs des employés;
  • le recours à des briseurs de grève a été interdit;
  • les employés ont reçu la protection d’une clause dite de motif valable dans l’éventualité de mesures disciplinaires ou d’un congédiement avant la date d’entrée d’une première convention collective après l’accréditation;
  • les employés ont reçu la protection de la cause de motif valable pendant une grève, un lock-out ou la période ouverte en attendant l’entrée en vigueur d’une convention collective de renouvellement ou la révocation de l’accréditation d’un syndicat;
  • les employeurs et les syndicats ont été obligés de négocier un plan de redressement en cas de congédiements collectifs ou de fermetures d’usines;
  • après une grève, les employeurs ont été tenus de réintégrer les employés qui retournaient à leurs anciens postes et de donner aux employés grévistes la priorité sur toute personne qui a effectué le travail pendant la grève.

Modifications de 1995

Après le changement de gouvernement en 1995, la LRT a de nouveau été largement remaniée. Une lettre a été envoyée aux parties prenantes syndicales et patronales pour leur demander de répondre par écrit à un certain nombre de questions. La loi adoptée par la suite a abrogé toutes les modifications de fond introduites en 1993 en apportant des modifications importantes, notamment les suivantes :

  • remplacement du régime d’accréditation fondé sur les cartes d’adhésion par une formule obligatoire fondée sur un scrutin;
  • abaissement du niveau d’appui nécessaire pour une requête en révocation d’un agent négociateur;
  • introduction d’exigences relatives aux scrutins de grève et de ratification;
  • suppression des droits du successeur pour les employés de la Couronne (rétablis en 2006).

Autres modifications en 1998 et en 2000

En 1998, des modifications supplémentaires ont été apportées comme suit :

  • retrait du pouvoir de la CRTO d’octroyer l’accréditation corrective et la révocation de redressement et ajout du pouvoir d’ordonner un second scrutin de représentation;
  • autorisation pour les employeurs, lors d’une demande d’accréditation, de contester l’estimation du nombre d’employés compris dans une unité de négociation proposée par un syndicat;
  • modification du pouvoir de la CRTO de rendre une ordonnance provisoire au lieu du pouvoir prévu à la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales.

En 2000, les modifications suivantes ont été apportées à la LRT :

  • obligation pour les employeurs d’afficher et de distribuer de l’information sur le processus de révocation de l’accréditation;
  • introduction de la divulgation des traitements des dirigeants et employés de syndicats qui gagnent plus de 100 000 $ par an;
  • création d’une période d’attente d’un an avant l’accréditation d’un syndicat relativement aux mêmes emplois ou postes;
  • extension de la « période ouverte » pour la révocation de l’accréditation;
  • obligation pour la CRTO de traiter les requêtes en révocation avant de traiter ou de continuer à traiter les demandes d’arbitrage de la première convention;
  • obligation de tenir un scrutin séparé pour la grève et la ratification lorsqu’on a affaire à une première convention.

Modifications de 2005

Après un changement de gouvernement, la LRT a été modifiée comme suit en 2005 :

  • rétablissement du pouvoir de la CRTO d’accréditer un syndicat en cas de manquement d’un employeur à la LRT au cours d’une campagne de syndicalisation;
  • rétablissement du pouvoir de la CRTO de rendre certains types d’ordonnances provisoires de fond;
  • abrogation des dispositions de la LRT relatives à la divulgation des traitements versés par un syndicat et de l’exigence que les lieux de travail syndiqués publient et distribuent auprès des employés de l’information sur le processus de révocation de l’accréditation.

précédent | suivant