Print this page

Safe At Work Ontario Consultation 2018-19

  • Issued: January 16, 2018
  • Content last reviewed: January 2018

Background

The goal of Ontario’s Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and its regulations is to keep workers safe and healthy. The act sets out the health and safety requirements for workplaces across Ontario. 

Ontario’s workplaces have become safer in the last 10[1] years due in part to a strong enforcement system that corrects safety issues before they become a problem and takes steps if an injury occurs. 

Safe At Work Ontario is the Ministry of Labour’s compliance strategy that helps promote safe and healthy workplace practices. The ministry’s occupational health and safety inspectors visit workplaces to provide information and inspect them for compliance with health and safety legislation. When a workplace is not complying with a requirement of the OHSA and its regulations, the inspector can issue an order and the employer must correct the problem. If the problem poses an immediate threat to worker health and safety, the inspector will stop work until the problem is corrected. Inspectors also investigate workplace health and safety incidents.

About the consultation

Every year, the ministry reaches out to stakeholders to gather information for its strategic planning processes. We would like to hear from you to help us better understand Ontario workplaces.

Specifically, the ministry would like your input to:

  • identify emerging hazards and risks in your sector
  • identify data and compliance resources that would be useful to you
  • improve the effectiveness of our enforcement campaigns

How to participate

The questions will be discussed at the stakeholder consultations taking place across the province in January and February 2018. To register for the consultations, please visit Eventbrite.

You are also welcome to send written feedback to SAWOConsultations@ontario.ca.

Note: At the industrial sector consultation sessions, the ministry will also seek your feedback on requirements in Regulation 851 (Industrial Establishments), to inform any future amendments.

Risks and hazards

Risk is the chance that a person will be harmed or experience an adverse health effect if exposed to a hazard[2]. It also takes severity of harm into account if people were to be exposed to the hazard.

In contrast, a hazard is any source of potential damage, harm or adverse health effects on something or someone under certain conditions at work.

The ministry encourages workplaces to take a risk-based approach to improve occupational health and safety. A risk-based approach is a structured and systematic process that allows for the identification, analysis, mitigation and monitoring of hazards in the workplace. This includes strategies (e.g. enforcement, policy, training, control design) designed to reduce injuries and illness from occurring in the workplace.

Resource

Discussion questions

  1. How do you (or a typical workplace in your sector) identify workplace hazards and risk factors and manage risk?
  2. Based on your experience and within your sector, what emerging hazards and risk factors should employers and the ministry focus on in the future?

Data and information

The ministry provides a variety of materials on its website to help employers and workers make workplaces safer. New publications are usually announced through our e-newsletter, Facebook and Twitter.

The ministry frequently provides guidelines to help employers and workers. A guideline is a general rule, principle or piece of advice that provides clarification about an issue addressed in the law. Guidelines, along with guides, are not formally referenced in the OHSA and its regulations, and do not constitute formal legal advice.

Examples:

The ministry has published a code of practice to address workplace harassment requirements under the OHSA. A code of practice provides detailed information on how to comply with the law, and often promotes an industry’s best practice and safety standards.

One way employers can meet legal requirements is through complying with a code of practice approved by the ministry.

Example:

In addition to guidance materials, the ministry also reports on events and enforcement activities (e.g. number of field visits conducted, types of orders issued, common sections orders are issued under for blitzes and initiatives).

Example:

As the ministry invests significant resources on developing the above resources, the ministry would like to get your feedback on the information you would like to have, and the best way to present and deliver that information.

Discussion questions

  1. If the ministry were to develop information in the form of guidelines or codes of practice for your sector, which topics should the ministry address?
  2. Other than guidelines and code of practices:
    1. What other type of information (including data) would you find useful?
    2. What would you use this information for?
    3. How would you like to receive this information? 

Enforcement campaigns

As part of the Safe At Work Ontario strategy, the ministry holds blitzes and initiatives that target hazards and issues specific to different sectors. To identify the hazards and the sectors we target, the ministry uses a risk-based process that takes into account advice from stakeholders, injury and fatality rates and incidents, the nature of the work (i.e. inherent hazards), field intelligence, the vulnerability of the workers and the sector’s compliance history.

Details about what inspectors look for are outlined in sector-specific enforcement plans.

Blitzes and initiatives are announced in a blitz schedule. All blitz activities, along with support material for employers, such as posters and fact sheets, are posted on the ministry’s website in advance. For many blitzes, the ministry partners with health and safety associations to deliver webinars to explain what the ministry will be looking for.

Additionally, the ministry may also conduct local initiatives to raise awareness of and help address health and safety issues that are specific to particular geographic areas of Ontario and/or have a higher rate of occurrence than the rest of the province.

The ministry would like to know more about how it can improve its enforcement efforts and encourage employers to comply with occupational health and safety requirements.

Note: In order to complement the ministry’s prevention system priority-setting process, blitzes and initiatives are often planned months in advance. As a result, stakeholders may not see their feedback immediately reflected in the 2018-19 list of blitzes/initiatives. However, the feedback is taken into account during strategic planning over the next few years.

Resources

Discussion questions

  1. What are the top three ways that the ministry can collaborate with stakeholders to facilitate an effective delivery of enforcement campaigns?
  2. What are the top three obstacles that make it difficult for employers to comply with occupational health and safety requirements?
  3. What are the top three items that the ministry should focus on that will support your own efforts to improve health and safety? Note that the ministry would like to focus on changes that can be enacted relatively quickly; as such, legislative and regulatory changes are outside the scope of this question.
  4. How else can worker safety be facilitated through prevention and enforcement?

Hazard-specific

Note: The following questions will be asked at consultations where the hazard is a key concern in that sector.

Falls

Fall hazards continue to be the primary cause of traumatic critical injuries and deaths of workers at construction sites in Ontario. Previous blitzes and initiatives have addressed related concerns such as:

  • the appropriate use of fall protection equipment
  • roofing activities
  • ladder and scaffold use and maintenance
  • protective devices (e.g. guardrails)
  • poor work practices

Discussion questions

  1. What else could we do to improve compliance with fall protection laws?
  2. What kind of fall hazard tools (e.g. risk assessments) would be useful?

Workplace violence

Workplace violence continues to be a priority for the ministry, and the ministry would like your feedback to inform future enforcement planning.

Beyond these consultations, the Workplace Violence Prevention in Health Care Leadership Table will continue to bring stakeholders and experts together to advise on reducing and preventing workplace violence for health care professionals.

Discussion question

  1. Based on your experience and within your sector, what are the workplace violence issues/topics/hazards that the ministry should focus on in the future?

Return to top

Imprimer cette page

Consultation Sécurité au travail Ontario 2018 - 2019

  • Diffusion : 16 janvier 2018
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2018

Renseignements généraux

L’objectif de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) de l’Ontario et de ses règlements est de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs. Cette loi énonce les exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité dans les lieux de travail de l’Ontario.

Au fil des 10 dernières années[1], les lieux de travail de l’Ontario sont devenus plus sécuritaires, en partie grâce à un système rigoureux d’application de la loi qui corrige les imperfections de la sécurité avant qu’elles deviennent problématiques et qui prévoit des mesures en cas de blessure.

Sécurité au travail Ontario est la stratégie de conformité employée par le ministère du Travail pour aider à promouvoir des pratiques favorisant la santé et la sécurité en milieu de travail. Les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité au travail du ministère visitent les lieux de travail pour fournir de l’information et inspecter la conformité à la législation sur la santé et la sécurité au travail dans ces lieux. Lorsqu’un lieu de travail n’est pas conforme à une exigence de la LSST ou de ses règlements, l’inspecteur peut ordonner à l’employeur de corriger le problème. Si le problème relevé pose un risque immédiat pour la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs, l’inspecteur arrêtera les travaux jusqu’à ce que le problème soit corrigé. Les inspecteurs enquêtent également sur les incidents qui touchent la santé et la sécurité au travail.

À propos de la consultation

Chaque année, le ministère consulte des intervenants pour recueillir des renseignements aux fins de son processus de planification stratégique. Nous aimerions recevoir vos commentaires pour nous aider à mieux comprendre les lieux de travail de l’Ontario.

En particulier, le ministère souhaite obtenir votre participation pour :

  • déterminer les dangers et les risques émergents dans votre secteur;
  • définir les données et les ressources qui vous seraient utiles pour assurer la conformité à la loi;
  • améliorer l’efficacité de nos campagnes d’application de la loi.

Risques et dangers

Le risque est la mesure dans laquelle une personne exposée à un danger[2]est susceptible de subir un préjudice ou un effet indésirable pour la santé. Son importance varie selon la gravité du préjudice que subirait la personne exposée à ce danger.

À l’inverse, un danger s'entend de toute source d'effets nuisibles à la santé, de dommage ou de préjudice potentiels à l'égard de quelque chose ou de quelqu'un dans certaines conditions au travail.

Le ministère encourage les lieux de travail à adopter une approche fondée sur le risque pour améliorer la santé et la sécurité au travail. Une approche fondée sur le risque est un procédé structuré et systématique qui permet de reconnaître, d’analyser, de réduire et de surveiller les dangers présents dans le lieu de travail. Elle prévoit des stratégies (p. ex., l’application de la loi, des politiques, une formation, la conception de mesures de contrôle) destinées à réduire l’incidence des lésions et des maladies professionnelles.

Ressource

Questions soumises à la discussion

  1. Comment faites-vous (vous ou l’employeur d’un lieu de travail typique de votre secteur) pour définir les dangers et les facteurs de risque au travail et pour gérer le risque?
  2. Selon votre expérience et les conditions qui prévalent dans votre secteur, à quels dangers et facteurs de risque émergents les employeurs et le ministère devraient-ils se consacrer à l’avenir?

Données et renseignements

Le ministère propose une gamme de ressources dans son site Web pour aider les employeurs et les travailleurs à rendre les lieux de travail plus sécuritaires. Les nouvelles publications sont généralement annoncées dans notre bulletin électronique, sur Facebook et sur Twitter.

Le ministère diffuse régulièrement des directives pour aider les employeurs et les travailleurs. Une directive est une règle générale, un principe ou un conseil qui fournit une clarification sur une question abordée dans la loi. Comme les guides, les directives ne font pas l’objet d’une mention particulière dans la LSST et ses règlements et ne constituent pas un avis juridique.

Exemples :

Le ministère a publié un code de pratique qui prévoit des exigences en matière de harcèlement au travail aux termes de la LSST. Un code de pratique fournit des renseignements détaillés sur la marche à suivre pour se conformer à la loi et, souvent, assure la ustrie.

Les employeurs peuvent resppromotion des meilleures pratiques et des normes de sécurité visant une indecter les exigences de la loi, par exemple, en se conformant à un code de pratique approuvé par le ministère.

Exemple :

Outre les documents de référence, le ministère présente des rapports sur les évènements et les activités d’application de la loi (p. ex., le nombre de visites sur place effectuées, les types d’ordres donnés, les articles aux termes desquels des ordres sont donnés couramment dans le cadre de campagnes éclair et d’autres initiatives).

Exemple :

Vu les importantes ressources qu’il consacre à l’élaboration des outils susmentionnés, le ministère souhaite obtenir vos commentaires sur l’information que vous aimeriez recevoir et le meilleur moyen de présenter et de diffuser cette information.

Questions soumises à la discussion

  1. Si le ministère devait élaborer de l’information sous forme de directives ou de codes de pratique pour votre secteur, quels sujets devrait-il aborder?
  2. Mis à part les directives et les codes de pratique :
    1. Quel autre type d’information (de données, par exemple) trouveriez-vous utile?
    2. À quelles fins utiliseriez-vous cette information?
    3. De quelle façon aimeriez-vous recevoir l’information? 

Campagnes d’application de la loi

Dans le cadre de la stratégie Sécurité au travail Ontario, le ministère mène des campagnes éclair et des initiatives qui ciblent les dangers et les problèmes propres à différents secteurs. Pour identifier les dangers et les secteurs ciblés, le ministère utilise un processus fondé sur le risque qui prend en compte les conseils d’intervenants, les taux de blessure et de décès ainsi que les incidents, la nature du travail (c.-à-d. les dangers inhérents), les renseignements locaux, la vulnérabilité des travailleurs et les antécédents de conformité des travailleurs et du secteur.

Des précisions sur ce que les inspecteurs regardent sont fournies dans le plan d’application de la loi établi pour chaque secteur.

Les campagnes d’inspection et les initiatives sont annoncées sur un calendrier. Les activités liées aux campagnes, ainsi que les documents de soutien à l’intention des employeurs, comme les affiches et les feuilles de renseignements, sont affichés à l’avance dans le site Web du ministère. Pour de nombreuses campagnes, le ministère collabore avec des associations de santé et de sécurité pour offrir des webinaires et expliquer ce qu’il examinera.

De plus, le ministère peut mener des initiatives régionales pour mieux faire connaître et résoudre les problèmes de santé et de sécurité qui concernent particulièrement certaines régions géographiques de l’Ontario ou qui ont un taux d’incidence plus élevé que dans le reste de la province.

Le ministère veut en savoir davantage sur ce qu’il pourrait faire pour renforcer ses activités d’application de la loi et encourager les employeurs à respecter les exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail.

Nota : Pour compléter le processus ministériel d’établissement des priorités du système de prévention, les campagnes éclair et les initiatives sont souvent planifiées plusieurs mois à l’avance. Ainsi, il est possible que les commentaires des intervenants ne soient pas reflétés immédiatement dans la liste des campagnes éclair et des initiatives de 2018-2019. Cependant, ils sont pris en compte lors de la planification stratégique des années qui suivent.

Ressources

Questions soumises à la discussion

  1. Quels sont les trois meilleurs moyens, pour le ministère, de collaborer avec les intervenants pour faciliter une mise en œuvre efficace des campagnes d’application de la loi?
  2. Quels sont les trois plus grands obstacles qui empêchent les employeurs de se conformer facilement aux exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité?
  3. Quels sont les trois sujets sur lesquels le ministère devrait se concentrer en priorité pour appuyer les efforts que vous faites pour améliorer la santé et la sécurité? Notez que le ministère souhaiterait se concentrer sur les changements qui se prêtent à une mise en œuvre relativement rapide; ainsi, la modification des lois ou des règlements déborde de l’objectif de cette question.
  4. De quelle autre manière la sécurité des travailleurs peut-elle être favorisée à travers la prévention et l’application de la loi?

Mesures ciblant un danger particulier

Nota : Les questions suivantes seront posées lors des consultations si le danger constitue une préoccupation importante pour le secteur ciblé.

Chutes

Les dangers de chute restent la principale cause de blessures graves et de décès traumatiques sur les chantiers de construction en Ontario. Des campagnes éclair et des initiatives lancées précédemment ont ciblé des problèmes connexes tels que :

  • l’utilisation appropriée de matériel de protection contre les chutes;
  • les travaux de toiture;
  • l’utilisation et l’entretien d’échelles et d’échafauds;
  • les dispositifs de protection (p. ex., rampes);
  • les pratiques de travail douteuses.

Questions soumises à la discussion

  1. Que pouvons-nous faire encore pour améliorer la conformité aux lois sur la protection contre les chutes?
  2. Quels types d’outils seraient utiles pour éliminer les dangers de chute (p. ex., l’évaluation des risques)?

Violence en milieu de travail

La violence en milieu de travail reste une priorité pour le ministère et celui-ci aimerait avoir vos commentaires pour éclairer ses prochaines activités d’application de la loi.

Au-delà de ces consultations, le Comité de leadership pour la prévention de la violence en milieu de travail dans le secteur des soins de santé continuera à rassembler des intervenants et des experts pour conseiller les professionnels de la santé sur la réduction et la prévention de la violence au travail.

Question soumise à la discussion

  1. Selon votre expérience et ce qui se passe dans votre secteur, quels sont les sujets ou les dangers de violence au travail sur lesquels le ministère devrait se concentrer à l’avenir?

Retour en haut