Print Print This Page

2014 Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) Certification Training Program and Provider Standard - Executive Summary

  • Issued: May 2014
  • Content last reviewed: August 2014

Ontario’s Chief Prevention Officer (CPO) is publicly releasing the:

It is anticipated that the JHSC Certification Training Standards will come into effect in late 2015. In the meantime, the current Certification Standards for Joint Health and Safety Committees, May 1996PDF [490.4 Kb], (updated January 2007) remain in effect.

The purpose of the 2014 standards is to promote high quality and consistent training of certified members in Ontario. The 2014 standards and certification requirements would include:

  • Part One training that would be generic to all workplaces where certified JHSC members are required, regardless of sector, and would have to be taken from an approved training provider
  • Part Two training that would be sector-specific and would be formalized with approved training programs taken from approved training providers

The 2014 standards were initially developed by the Certification Review Committee (CRC), led by the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB). The CRC received input from stakeholders including employers, labour and training providers.

The Ministry of Labour continued work on the standards after prevention responsibilities were transferred from the WSIB in 2012.

The ministry kept the intent and spirit of the standards developed by the CRC, while at the same time examining their alignment with the ministry mandate and responsibilities under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA).

The ministry has continued to engage a cross section of stakeholders throughout the development process and has considered the feedback received from employers, labour groups and training providers.

Key highlights of the 2014 JHSC Certification Training Program Standard include:

  • Part One training that would be generic to all workplaces where certified members are required under the OHSA
  • Part Two training that would be sector-specific, focusing on the concepts of recognition, assessment and control of hazards, and evaluation of the hazard controls for a minimum of six sector hazards
  • Design criteria and delivery mode requirements
  • Learning outcomes for Part One training, Part Two training and refresher training, and evaluation methods for learners

Key highlights of the 2014 JHSC Certification Training Provider Standard include:

  • Training provider requirements outlining compliance with legislation, insurance, course materials, learning needs, alternate delivery modes and evaluation
  • Training instructor requirements outlining qualifications and delivery
  • Training evaluator requirements
  • Code of ethics
  • Administrative requirements outlining items such as record-keeping, maintenance of approval status and reporting

To support ongoing learning for certified members, it is anticipated that the CPO will also establish certification requirements that would require those trained under the 2014 standards to take refresher training, or receive a one-time exemption for an active certified member, within three years of certification to maintain certification status.

Focus groups on specific aspects of the training, such as Part Two sector hazards are planned to begin in Fall 2014 across all sectors, beginning with the mining sector. The mining focus groups would be held in conjunction with a comprehensive mine health, safety and prevention review led by the CPO.