Print Print This Page

Joint Health and Safety Committee Administrative Framework

  • Issued: October 1, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: October 2015

Implementation Timelines

  • The Chief Prevention Officer (CPO) will establish new Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) Certification Training Program and Provider Standards and new training and other requirements for a member to be certified on October 1, 2015 – to be effective March 1, 2016
  • Start date for acceptance of training provider applications by Ministry of Labour (MOL): October 1, 2015

Transition Period

  • The 1996 Certification Standards remain in effect until February 29, 2016
  • Training providers approved under the 1996 Standard can continue to provide JHSC training under the 1996 Standard until February 29, 2016
  • In order to deliver the new JHSC Certification Training as of March 1, 2016, all training providers (including existing approved providers and potential providers) are required to apply to MOL for approval under the new JHSC Certification Training Standards starting October 1, 2015
  • Certified JHSC members who completed both Part 1 and Part 2 training under the 1996 Standard prior to March 1, 2016 will continue to be certified and will not be required to complete any further training under the new JHSC Certification Standards, including the Refresher training
  • As of March 1, 2016, JHSC members who have completed only Part 1 training under the 1996 Standard will have to complete Part 2 training under the new Standards in order to be certified, and will be required to take Refresher training to maintain their certification
  • There will be a 2-month transition period from March 1, 2016 to April 30, 2016 for employers and training providers to submit their final 1996 JHSC Part 1 Learner tests and Part Two Workplace Hazard-Specific Training Confirmation forms to the MOL. After April 30, 2016 MOL will not accept submissions for certifications under the 1996 Certification Training Standard

Part 1 Training

  • Training is based on health and safety topics, including information on legislative requirements and the roles and responsibilities of workplace parties under the Occupational Health & Safety Act (OHSA)
  • Duration: at least 3 days or 19.5 hours

Part 2 Training

  • Training is based on the application of Recognize, Assess, Control and Evaluate (RACE) methodology
  • Employers will be required to select a training program that provides training in a minimum of 6 hazards that are relevant to the committee member’s workplace
  • Guidance material will be published to help employers select appropriate training
  • Duration: at least 2 days or 13 hours
  • Must be completed within 6 months of Part 1 training or obtain a one-time extension due to extenuating circumstances (see Exemptions and Extensions)

Refresher Training

  • Topics include an overview of both Part 1 and Part 2 training, updates to legislation and regulations, and learners share best practices based on their experience and workplace
  • Certified members trained under the new Standards will be required to take Refresher training every three years to maintain certification status, or may obtain a one-time exemption for an active JHSC member (see Exemptions and Extensions)
  • Duration: at least 1 day or 6.5 hours

Exemptions and Extensions

  • A one-time exemption to the three year Refresher training may be granted to a certified member who served as a committee member within the past twelve (12) months.
  • A one-time extension to the six-month time period between the completion of Part 1 and Part 2 training will be granted for a period of up to six (6) months due to extenuating circumstances (i.e., personal, operational or health reasons)
  • Training providers (including employers providing in-house training) will be able to apply for an exemption to the minimum class size of six (6) at the time of program application or through the training provider annual report


  • Part 1 training programs can include up to one-third or 6.5 hours of eLearning (i.e., a wide set of applications and processes such as web-based learning and computer-based learning)
  • JHSC Part 2 and Refresher Training to be delivered through instructor-led mode of delivery (face-to-face or distance learning)


  • Part 1 certification training will include a standardized test that will be delivered and evaluated by approved training providers
  • Approved training providers will be responsible for developing, delivering and evaluating the final evaluation for Part 2 and Refresher training based on the learner evaluation criteria in the JHSC Training Program Standard

For a complete list of rules to become a certified member, please refer to the Training and Other Requirements document published by the CPO.