Print This Page

What are the Key Features of the New JHSC Certification Training Program Standard and Provider Standard?

Listed below are the key features of the new JHSC Certification Training Standards.

  1. Refresher training

    Certified members trained under the new Standards will have to take refresher training every three years. An active certified member may obtain a one-time exemption from this requirement.

  2. Learning continuity
    • 6 month period to complete Part One and Part Two training.
    • There is the ability to apply for a one-time extension to complete Part Two.
  3. Instructional duration

    Specifies minimum durations for face-to-face training

    • Part 1 training - 3 days (19.5 hrs)
    • Part 2 training - 2 days (13 hrs)
    • Refresher training - 1 day (6.5 hrs)
  4. Participant-centered learning
    • Requirements for a minimum class size of 6 and maximum of 25 participants for face-to-face training. Potential for other providers to notify the MOL when a minimum of 6 learners is not feasible.
    • Increased focus on participant interaction, and ongoing learner evaluation during training.
  5. Formalizing Part Two training
    • Training providers and programs must be approved for all parts of the certification training.
    • There must be training on a minimum of 6 hazards relevant to the workplace.
  6. eLearning
    • Up to 6.5 hours of eLearning is allowable for Part One training
    • Programming must adhere to criteria in the eLearning guidelines.

Previous | Next