Print  Print This Page

Certification for Joint Health and Safety Committee Members

  • Content last reviewed: April 2013

Most workplaces with 20 or more workers must have at least one worker and one management person to be certified members of a workplace Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC). It’s the law under the Occupational Health and Safety Act. Please contact the Ministry of Labour to find out if your workplace must meet this requirement.

The CPO of the MOL certifies members once they complete the Parts 1 and 2 of mandatory training: Basic Certification and Workplace-Specific Hazard Training.

Part One, Basic Certification provides an overall knowledge of health and safety that applies to all workplaces. The training is available through the Safe Workplace Associations that make up Health and Safety Ontario, the Workers Health and Safety Centre, and other providers approved by the MOL. View the provider list.

Part Two, Workplace-Specific Hazard Training focuses on significant hazards in your workplace. It covers how to assess those hazards and ways to control and/or eliminate them. Members can be trained through Health and Safety Ontario, the Workers Health and Safety Centre, or through employer in-house training.

More information

Read these questions and answers about certification for joint health and safety committee members.

Certification Standards

The Certification Standards document covers the current standards-based approach to certification of Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) members. These standards are currently under review in consultation with worker and employer groups and other public stakeholders.

Contact us

If you have questions or need to update your contact information on our Certification Database, email, or call 1-877-202-0008.