Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Collective Bargaining, Agreements and Negotiations: FAQ

  • Content last reviewed: October 2015

What is the unionization rate in Ontario?

In 2014, the union coverage rate in Ontario is approximately 27% and for Canada it is 31%.

Source: Statistics Canada. Table 282-0778 – Labour force survey estimates, employees by union coverage, North American Industry Classification System, sex and age group, annual (persons), CANSIM (database).

Return to top

What is a collective agreement?

A collective agreement is a written contract of employment covering a group of employees who are represented by a trade union. This agreement contains provisions governing the terms and conditions of employment. It also contains the rights, privileges and duties of the employer, the trade union and the employees.

Return to top

What is collective bargaining?

Collective bargaining is a process in which a trade union and an employer negotiate a first collective agreement or the renewal of a previous collective agreement. The parties usually focus on such issues as wages, working conditions, grievance procedures and fringe benefits.

Return to top

How are negotiations for a collective agreement begun?

If a trade union has just been certified, it will then give the employer written notice of its desire to bargain. If the employer and the union are already bound by a collective agreement, then either party may give notice to bargain:

  • within the 90 days before the agreement is due to expire, or
  • during any other period set out in the agreement.

In either case, the union and the employer must meet within 15 days from the giving of notice, unless they agree to some other time period. (See Sections 16, 17 and 59 of the Labour Relations Act, 1995).

Return to top

What happens if, during negotiations, the employer and the union cannot agree on the terms of a collective agreement?

Either the employer or the union may ask the Ontario Minister of Labour to appoint a conciliation officer. This officer will then try to help them reach an agreement (See Section 18 of the Labour Relations Act, 1995).

Return to top

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Négociation collective, conventions collectives et négociations

  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2015

Quel est le taux de syndicalisation en Ontario?

En 2014, le taux de couverture syndicale en Ontario était d'environ 27 % et pour le Canada de 31 %.

Source : Statistique Canada. Tableau 282-0077--Enquête sur la population active, estimations du nombre d'employés selon la couverture syndicale, le Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord, le sexe et le groupe d'âge, annuel (personnes), CANSIM (base de données).

Retour en haut

Qu'est-ce qu'une convention collective?

Une convention collective est un contrat de travail écrit visant un groupe d'employés qui sont représentés par un syndicat. Cette convention contient des dispositions régissant les conditions de travail, ainsi que les droits, privilèges et obligations de l'employeur, du syndicat et des employés.

Retour en haut

Qu'est-ce que la négociation collective?

La négociation collective est un processus au cours duquel un syndicat et un employeur négocient une première convention collective ou le renouvellement d'une convention collective précédente. Au cours de ce processus, les parties se concentrent en général sur les salaires, les conditions de travail, la procédure de règlement des griefs et les avantages sociaux.

Retour en haut

Comment amorce-t-on une négociation collective?

Si un syndicat vient d'être accrédité, il donne à l'employeur un avis écrit de son intention de négocier. Si l'employeur et le syndicat sont déjà liés par une convention collective, chaque partie à une convention collective peut donner un avis écrit à l'autre partie :

  • dans les 90 jours qui précèdent la date de son expiration;
  • ou pendant toute autre période de temps énoncée dans la convention.

Dans les deux cas, le syndicat et l'employeur doivent se réunir dans les 15 jours après avoir donné l'avis, à moins qu'ils ne s'entendent sur un autre moment (voir les articles 16, 17 et 59 de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail ).

Retour en haut

Qu'arrive-t-il si, pendant les négociations, l'employeur et le syndicat ne peuvent pas s'entendre sur les modalités d'une convention collective?

L'employeur ou le syndicat peut demander au ministre du Travail de l'Ontario de désigner un conciliateur. qui tentera d'aider les parties à conclure une convention (voir les articles 18 de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail).

Retour en haut

précédent | suivant