Table of Contents | Print This Page

Labour Relations: FAQ

Part 1A: Introduction

  • Issued: June 2006

This agreement sets out measures agreed to by the governments of Ontario and Quebec to facilitate access to the construction labour markets in both provinces.  It replaces all previous bilateral agreements on labour mobility and the recognition of qualifications, skills and work experience, in particular:

  • the labour mobility terms of the Ontario-Quebec Agreement on Public Procurement and Construction Labour Mobility, signed on December 24, 1993;
  • the Agreement on Labour Mobility and Recognition of Qualifications, Skills and Work Experience in the Construction Industry (1996), signed
  • the recommendations of the Joint Report of the Special Negotiators for Ontario and Quebec, signed on November 11, 1999.

Several general principles have guided the development of this agreement:

  • Ontario and Quebec are committed to the fair treatment of persons, goods, services and investments, regardless of where they originate in Canada.
  • The province in which a person lives will not be a bar to employment, apprenticeship training or trade certification in the other province.
  • Ontario and Quebec each agree to treat construction contractors and workers from the other province in a manner that is equivalent to the best treatment that each accords to its own construction contractors and workers.
  • Ontario and Quebec agree that membership in a trade union will not inhibit labour mobility. At the same time, both provinces acknowledge that union membership may be required by provincial law or by convention within the construction industry.
  • Ontario and Quebec each have the right to regulate their construction industries in their own way.
  • The different regulatory systems in Ontario and Quebec, which govern training and certification in the construction industry, will not prevent full recognition, by both jurisdictions, of the qualifications, skills and work experience of contractors and workers. 

Implementation

In Ontario, the organizations responsible for implementing this agreement include the Ministry of Government Services (MGS), the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU), the Ministry of Labour (MOL), the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB), the Technical Standards and Safety Authority (TSSA), the Electrical Safety Authority (ESA) and any other agency specifically designated for that purpose. 

In Quebec, the organizations responsible for implementing this agreement include the Ministère du Travai, the Ministère de l’emploi et de la solidarité sociale (MESS), the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ), the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) or any other body recognized by it, the Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ), the Corporation des maîtres électriciens du Québec (CMEQ), the Corporation des maîtres mécaniciens en tuyauterie du Québec (CMMTQ) and any other agency specifically designated for that purpose.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Partie 1A: Introduction

La présente entente stipule les mesures dont ont convenu les gouvernements de l’Ontario et du Québec afin de faciliter l’accès au marché du travail du secteur de la construction dans les deux provinces. Elle remplace les dispositions de toute entente bilatérale précédente en matière de mobilité de la main-d'œuvre et de reconnaissance de la qualification professionnelle, des compétences et des expériences de travail dans l’industrie de la construction, notamment :

  • le volet relatif à la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre de l’Entente Québec-Ontario sur les achats gouvernementaux et la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre dans l’industrie de la construction, signé le 24 décembre 1993;
  • l'Entente entre l’Ontario et le Québec sur la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre et la reconnaissance de la qualification professionnelle, des compétences et des expériences de travail dans l'industrie de la construction (1996), signée le 6 décembre 1996;
  • les recommandations du Rapport des négociateurs de l’Ontario et du Québec, signé le 11 novembre 1999.

Les principes généraux ayant guidé l’élaboration de la présente entente sont les suivants :

  • L’Ontario et le Québec s’engagent à traiter équitablement  les personnes, les biens, les services et les investissements, sans égard à leur provenance au Canada.
  • La province de résidence d’une personne ne doit pas constituer une condition préalable à l’attribution d’un emploi ou un obstacle à l’accès à la formation en apprentissage ou à la reconnaissance des compétences professionnelles dans l’autre province.
  • L’Ontario et le Québec conviennent d’accorder aux entrepreneurs et aux travailleurs de la construction de l’autre province le meilleur traitement qu’ils accordent aux entrepreneurs et aux travailleurs de leur propre province.
  • L’Ontario et le Québec acceptent que l’appartenance à un syndicat ne puisse restreindre la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre. Par ailleurs, les deux provinces reconnaissent que l’appartenance à un syndicat puisse être obligatoire en vertu d’une loi, d’un règlement ou d’une convention collective.
  • L’Ontario et le Québec conservent le droit de réglementer leur industrie de la construction à leur gré.
  • Les différences dans les systèmes de réglementation qui régissent la formation et la reconnaissance de la qualification professionnelle dans l’industrie de la construction en Ontario et au Québec n’ont pas pour effet d’empêcher la pleine reconnaissance, par les deux parties, de la qualification professionnelle, des compétences et de l’expérience des entrepreneurs et des travailleurs. 

Mise en oeuvre

En Ontario, les organismes responsables de la mise en œuvre de l’entente sont le Ministry of Government Services (MSG), le Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU), le Ministry of Labour (MOL), le Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB), le Technical Standards and Safety Authority (TSSA)[en anglais seulement], le Electrical Safety Authority(ESA) [en anglais seulement] et tout autre organisme expressément désigné à cette fin.

Au Québec, les organismes responsables de la mise en œuvre de l’entente sont le ministère du Travail, la Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ), la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) ou tout autre organisme qu’elle reconnaît à cette fin, la Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ), la Corporation des maîtres électriciens du Québec (CMEQ), la Corporation des maîtres mécaniciens en tuyauterie du Québec (CMMTQ), le ministère de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (MESS) et tout autre organisme expressément désigné à cette fin.

précédent | suivant