Print Print This Page

Underground Mining: Ventilation

Safe At Work Ontario

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE SEE FULL DISCLAIMER

Overview

During a blitz in October and November, 2011, the Ministry of Labour (MOL) will be increasing enforcement activity related to the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), and Reg. 854 (Mines and Mining Plants) applicable to mechanical ventilation systems in underground mining operations, and focusing on the supply and maintenance of these systems.

Ministry of Labour mining inspectors will focus on hazards associated with low ventilation volumes resulting from the inadequate supply and maintenance of mechanical ventilation systems. In addition, inspectors will ensure that diesel powered equipment used in underground mines is being maintained according to requirements. They will also check to ensure employers are regularly testing the air quality in the underground mine.

There are approximately 35 underground mines that will be the focus of the month-long, province-wide blitz to commence October 1, 2011. Mines with diesel equipment used for production, development and support of underground mining will be visited by inspectors. Ventilation systems and practices will be inspected to ensure that adequate flows of clean air are being provided and that prescribed substances are below the requirements set out in the regulation. Inspectors will also check that diesel equipment used for underground transportation of workers, materials and blasting of rock is being maintained as prescribed.

Inspectors may take enforcement action if they find violations of the Occupational Health and Safety Act and its regulations.

Priority Areas

Inspectors and will pay particular attention to the following priority areas at each workplace:

  • Mechanical Ventilation Systems
    Employers must provide and maintain a mechanical ventilation system that will provide a partial pressure of oxygen of more than 18 kilopascals to dilute and remove contaminants from underground workplaces. (Subsection 253(1) of Reg. 854).
  • Ventilation Systems Plans
    Accurate plans and records of maintenance for the mechanical ventilation systems must be available at the mine site. (Subsection 253 (2) of Reg. 854).
  • Diesel equipment
    Equipment used for underground transportation of workers and materials and blasting of rock must be maintained as prescribed. (Subsection183.2(1)2 of Reg. 854)
  • Diesel Operating Procedures
    Employers must maintain a chart of procedures for the use and operation of diesel-powered equipment that sets out the actual air volumes and total volume requirements for the equipment in the areas of operations within the mine (Section183 of Reg. 854).
  • Air Testing Requirements
    Employers must conduct weekly air volume tests of haulageways and workings where diesel powered equipment is operating. (Subsection183.2(1)1 of Reg. 854).
  • Air Volume Requirements
    Employers must ensure that a flow of air provided by a mechanical ventilation system:
    • Be at least 0.06 cubic meters per second for each kilowatt of power of diesel-powered equipment operating underground in the workplace. (Subsection 183.1(3) of Reg. 854).
    • Reduce the concentration of toxic substances in diesel exhaust emissions to prevent exposure of a worker to a level of no more than the concentration limits prescribed under section 4 of Regulation 833 ("Control of exposure to Biological or Chemical Agents"). (Subsection183.1(4)(a) of Reg. 854).
    • Reduce the time–weighted average exposure of a worker to airborne respirable combustible dust to not more than 1.5 milligrams per cubic meter of air. (Subsection 183.1(5) of Reg. 854).
  • Dust Control
    Mechanical ventilation systems must be provided and used to dilute and remove contaminants from the underground environment to prevent exposure of a worker as prescribed. (Subsection 253(1) (b) of Reg. 854)

More Information

Call toll-free

Call 1-877-202-0008 anytime to report workplace health and safety incidents or for general inquiries about health and safety at the workplace.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Exploitation minière souterraine : ventilation

Sécurité au travail Ontario

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santè et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. POUR OBTENIR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, VOIR L'AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ INTÉGRAL

Pendant les inspections éclair qui sont prévues en octobre et novembre 2011, le ministère du Travail (MTR) intensifiera ses activités d'exécution liées à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et au règlement 854 [Mines and Mining Plants ─ en anglais seulement (Mines et établissements miniers)] applicables aux installations mécaniques de ventilation dans les opérations minières souterraines et se concentrant sur la fourniture et l'entretien de ces installations.

Les inspecteurs et inspectrices miniers du ministère du Travail porteront leur attention sur les risques associés aux faibles volumes d'air ventilé résultant de la fourniture et de l'entretien insatisfaisants des installations mécaniques de ventilation. En outre, les inspecteurs veilleront à ce que l'équipement au diesel utilisé dans les mines souterraines soit entretenu suivant les exigences. Ils s'assureront que les employeurs vérifient régulièrement la qualité de l'air dans la mine souterraine.

Quelque 35 mines souterraines seront ciblées dans le cadre d'inspections éclair d'une durée d'un mois à l'échelle de la province, à compter du 1er octobre 2011. Les mines dotées d'équipement au diesel utilisés pour la production, le développement et le soutien des mines souterraines recevront la visite des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail. On inspectera les systèmes et pratiques de ventilation pour veiller à la production de débits satisfaisants d'air pur et à ce que les substances prescrites soient au-dessous des exigences établies dans le règlement. En outre, les inspecteurs vérifieront aussi si l'on entretient bien, suivant les prescriptions, l'équipement au diesel utilisé pour le transport souterrain des travailleurs, des matériaux et du dynamitage du roc.

Ils pourraient prendre des mesures d'exécution de la loi s'ils constatent des infractions à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et à ses règlements.

Domaines prioritaires

Les inspecteurs prêteront une attention particulière aux domaines prioritaires suivants à chaque lieu de travail :

  • Installations mécaniques de ventilation
    Les employeurs doivent fournir et entretenir une installation mécanique de ventilation qui produira une pression partielle d'oxygène de plus de 18 kilopascals pour diluer et enlever les contaminants des lieux de travail souterrains. (Paragraphe 253 (1) du règlement 854).
  • Plans des installations de ventilation
    Des plans exacts et des dossiers d'entretien pour les installations mécaniques de ventilation doivent être disponibles au site de la mine. (Paragraphe 253 (2) du règlement 854).
  • Équipement au diesel
    L'équipement utilisé pour le transport souterrain des travailleurs et des matériaux, ainsi que pour le dynamitage du roc, doit être entretenu conformément aux prescriptions. (Paragraphe 2 (1) 2 du règlement 854).
  • Méthodes d'exploitation au diesel
    Les employeurs tiennent un tableau des méthodes pour l'utilisation et l'exploitation de l'équipement au diesel, indiquant les volumes effectifs d'air et les exigences de volume total pour l'équipement des domaines d'exploitation dans la mine. (Article 183 du règlement 854).
  • Exigences en matière d'analyses de l'air
    Les employeurs doivent mener des analyses hebdomadaires de volume d'air des galeries de roulage et des ouvrages de soutènement où fonctionne un équipement au diesel. (Paragraphe 183.2 (1) 1 du règlement 854).
  • Exigences de volume d'air
    Les employeurs doivent veiller à ce qu'un débit d'air fourni par une installation mécanique de ventilation :
    • Soit moins 0,06 mètre cube par seconde par kilowatt de puissance d'une installation au diesel fonctionnant sous terre au lieu de travail. (Paragraphe 183.1(3) du règlement 854).
    • Réduise la concentration de substances toxiques dans les émissions de gaz polluants des installations au diesel, afin de prévenir l'exposition d'un travailleur à un niveau ne dépassant pas les limites de concentration prescrites en vertu de l'article 4 du règlement 833 (« Contrôle de l'exposition à des agents biologiques ou chimiques »). (Alinéa 183.1 (4) (a) du règlement 854).
    • Réduise l'exposition moyenne, pondérée dans le temps, d'un travailleur à une poussière de combustible respirable et en suspension dans l'air, à au plus 1,5 milligramme par mètre cube d'air. (Alinéa 183.1 (5) du règlement 854).
  • Dépoussiérage
    On doit fournir et utiliser des installations mécaniques de ventilation qui dilueront et enlèveront les contaminants du milieu souterrain pour prévenir l'exposition d'un travailleur, suivant les prescriptions. (Alinéa 253(1) (b) du règlement 854)

Renseignements

Appel sans frais

Composez le 1 877 202-0008 n'importe quand pour signaler des incidents de santé et sécurité au travail ou pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.