Print  Print This Page

Code of Professionalism

  • Issued: March 2010
  • Content last reviewed: March 2009

Ministry of Labour Operations Division staff, including inspectors, are committed to a high level of public service. They follow the ministry’s Code of Professionalism, a code that has been adopted internationally by the International Association of Labour Inspections. (Other Ontario enforcement ministries also use variations of this Code.)

The Code protects businesses and the public in their dealings with the government and its agencies. The Code protects the right:

  • to be treated fairly and with respect
  • to be informed of audits, inspections, or investigations, and
  • to be presumed to be law-abiding until proven otherwise.

Service Standards

On initial contact with a client, an inspector, investigator or auditor will:

  • introduce themselves and the ministry they represent
  • identify the statutory authority for the inspection, investigation or audit
  • provide general information regarding the inspection, audit or enforcement process
  • provide contact information should further information or feedback be required.

Performance Measures

Honesty and integrity

Staff are committed to behaviour that inspires confidence and respect for a position of public trust.

They will engage only in activities that are compatible with their responsibilities and duties and in an objective, honest and impartial manner. They will conform to Conflict of Interest Rules for Public Servants and Former Public Servants (Ontario Regulation 381/07, Public Service of Ontario Act, 2006).

Confidentiality

Staff must treat in confidence whatever they see, hear or learn that is confidential — unless their duties or legal obligations require otherwise.

They must adhere to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPPA) to ensure that they respect the confidentiality and sensitivity of stakeholder information. Staff will collect and protect all internal and external information in compliance with respective legislation, regulations, policies and procedures.

Respect

Staff must treat businesses and the public with respect by being courteous at all times and in all situations.

Timeliness

Staff must adhere to legislative requirements, policies and procedures to ensure that established timelines are met.

Knowledge and competencies

Staff and managers must ensure that Operations Division employees are knowledgeable and competent in their positions through a commitment to continuous learning.

Objectivity

Inspectors must treat all clients and situations objectively and in an impartial manner. Their decisions are to be based on relevant legislation, regulations, standards, government policies and procedures, and amassed evidence.

Compliance and risk

Enforcement staff focus on high-risk activities and workplaces with a history of non-compliance. Their enforcement and promotion of compliance are flexible - and reasonable for the level of risk and for the extent and circumstances of contraventions.

Complaints

Managers investigate any alleged contraventions of the Code.

Summary

Public servants uphold public trust and provide the highest level of quality service consistent with their Oath of Allegiance and Oath of Secrecy, as stated in the Public Service of Ontario Act, 2006.

The success of the Ontario Public Service is measured not only by the key activities it delivers but also by how each employee conducts himself/herself in delivering those services. The degree of professionalism displayed by every employee is a critical factor in the success of the whole organization.

The Ministry of Labour’s commitment to “living” this Code of Professionalism in our daily activities reflects our dedication to public service.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Code de professionnalisme

  • Diffusion : mars 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : mars 2010

Le personnel de la Division des opérations du ministère, y compris les inspecteurs, s'est engagé à fournir un haut niveau de service public. Il suit le code de professionnalisme du ministère, code adopté à l'échelon international par l'Association internationale de l'inspection du travail. (D'autres ministères d'exécution de la loi en Ontario appliquent des variantes de ce code.)

Le Code protège les entreprises et les membres du public dans leurs rapports avec le gouvernement et ses agences. Le Code protège le droit :

    d'être traité avec équité et respect; d'être informé des vérifications, des inspections ou des enquêtes; d'être présumé respectueux des lois, jusqu'à preuve du contraire.

Normes de service

Au contact initial avec un client, l'inspecteur, l'enquêteur ou le vérificateur devra :

  • se présenter, ainsi que présenter le ministère qu'il représente;
  • indiquer le pouvoir légal conféré pour l'inspection, l'enquête ou la vérification;
  • fournir des renseignements généraux sur le processus d'inspection, de vérification et d'exécution de la loi;
  • fournir des coordonnées au cas où il faudrait obtenir un complément d'information ou assurer un suivi.

Mesures de rendement

Honnêteté et intégrité

Les membres du personnel se sont engagés à adopter un comportement qui inspire la confiance et le respect à l'égard d'un poste d'intérêt public.

Ils ne participeront qu'à des activités compatibles avec leurs responsabilités et leurs fonctions et ce, d'une façon objective, honnête et impartiale. Ils se conformeront aux Règles relatives aux conflits d'intérêts visant les fonctionnaires actuels et anciens des ministères (Règlement de l'Ontario 381/07, Loi de 2006 sur la fonction publique de l'Ontario).

Confidentialité

Les membres du personnel doivent traiter de façon confidentielle tout élément confidentiel qu'ils voient, entendent ou apprennent, sauf disposition contraire de leurs fonctions ou de leurs obligations légales.

Ils doivent se conformer à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée pour veiller à respecter le caractère confidentiel et délicat de l'information de l'intervenant. Les membres du personnel recueilleront et protégeront tous les renseignements internes et externes conformément aux lois, aux règlements, aux lignes directrices et aux procédures.

Respect

Les membres du personnel doivent traiter les entreprises et les membres du public avec respect, en étant courtois à tout moment et dans toute situation.

Observation des délais

Les membres du personnel doivent se conformer aux exigences, aux lignes directrices et aux procédures législatives pour veiller à l'observation des délais fixés.

Connaissances et compétences

Les membres du personnel et les chefs doivent veiller à ce que les employés de la Division des opérations soient compétents et possèdent les connaissances voulues et ce, en s'étant engagés à suivre un apprentissage continu.

Objectivité

Les inspecteurs doivent traiter tous les clients et toutes les situations d'une manière impartiale. Leurs décisions doivent reposer sur des lois, des règlements, des normes, des lignes directrices et des procédures gouvernementales pertinents, ainsi que sur les preuves recueillies.

Conformité et risques

Les membres du personnel se concentrent sur les activités à risque élevé et sur les lieux de travail ayant des antécédents d'inexécution de la loi. Leurs activités d’exécution de la loi et de promotion de la conformité sont souples ainsi que raisonnables pour le risque et pour l'ampleur et les circonstances des infractions.

Réclamations

Les chefs mènent une enquête pour toute infraction présumée au Code.

Réumé

Les fonctionnaires veillent à l'intérêt public et fournissent le plus haut niveau de service de qualité, conformément à leur serment d'allégeance et à leur serment du secret, comme le stipule la Loi de 2006 sur la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

Le succès de la fonction publique de l'Ontario est mesuré non seulement par les activités clés qu'elle entreprend, mais aussi par la façon dont chacun des employés, femme ou homme, se conduit dans la prestation des services. Le niveau de professionnalisme manifesté par chaque employé est un élément capital du succès de toute l'organisation.

L'engagement du ministère du Travail, consistant à appliquer activement ce code de professionnalisme dans ses activités quotidiennes reflète son dévouement au service public.