Table of Contents | Print This Page

9. WHMIS and the Ontario Ministry of Labour

  • ISBN: 978-1-4249-6996-8
  • Revised: August 2008
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009

This guideline is being updated to reflect changes that take effect July 1, 2016 as amendments to the WHMIS regulation, Regulation 860, come into force.

In Ontario, the Ministry of Labour is responsible for the administration and enforcement of both the federal and provincial WHMIS (Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System) legislation. This is the result of an agreement between the federal and provincial governments that only the latter would enforce the legislation so that employers and suppliers would not be subject to inspections by both federal and provincial inspectors. This means that for the purpose of enforcing WHMIS, inspectors of the Ministry's Operations Division have the duty to monitor compliance with the Hazardous Products Act, the Controlled Products Regulation, the Occupational Health and Safety Act and the Ontario WHMIS Regulation.

It should be pointed out that the above is true only for workplaces under provincial jurisdiction. For federal workplaces such as banks, post offices and airports, inspectors from Human Resources Development Canada's Labour Program will enforce the WHMIS legislation.

Enforcement of Ontario's WHMIS Legislation

To enforce the provincial WHMIS legislation, inspectors will primarily be checking that controlled products are properly labelled or identified, that material safety data sheets are present in the workplace, and that worker education programs have been carried out. Inspectors will monitor compliance with WHMIS during the course of their regular workplace health and safety inspections, or during the investigation of related complaints, accidents or work refusals.

Where non-compliance is found, the inspector will enforce the WHMIS legislation by issuing an order to correct the violation within a specified time period. This is no different than the way in which all other occupational health and safety legislation has been enforced to date.

Ontario's WHMIS legislation gives the inspector one new power, and that is the power to stop the use of a particular controlled product.

For a violation of the WHMIS provisions in either the Occupational Health and Safety Act or Ontario's WHMIS Regulation, the penalties on summary conviction are the same as the penalties for any other violation of the Act or its regulations, namely, a fine of up to $25,000 and/or a term of up to 12 months in jail.

Enforcement of the federal WHMIS Legislation

To enforce the federal WHMIS legislation, inspectors will primarily be checking that supplier labels and material safety data sheets have been provided and that they meet the content and design requirements outlined in Chapter 3. WHMIS and the Supplier. If judgements need to be made about the classification of a controlled product, or about the accuracy of technical information on the MSDS, these will generally be referred by the inspector to scientific or medical staff located in the district offices or at the head office.

Inspectors will monitor compliance with the federal legislation during routine inspections of the supplier's workplace, and in response to particular questions or complaints from employers who buy controlled products from the supplier.

Where non-compliance with the federal legislation is found, the inspector will use the enforcement tools available under the Hazardous Products Act. These are different than the enforcement tools available under the Occupational Health and Safety Act. Specifically, under the Hazardous Products Act the inspector does not have the power to issue an order to a supplier for a violation of the federal WHMIS legislation. The inspector would first give the supplier the opportunity to comply voluntarily. If unsuccessful, the inspector would use the "power of seizure" to achieve compliance, and in some cases prosecution would also be pursued. These actions are explained below.

Voluntary Compliance

After being informed of a particular violation of either the Hazardous Products Act or the Controlled Products Regulation, the supplier has several options to correct the violation. For example,

  1. removal from sale—the supplier can withdraw the controlled product in question from sale until the violation is corrected;
  2. recall—the supplier can stop selling and recall a controlled product that has already been distributed. This may involve return of the product for correction, or correcting the violation on site;
  3. disposal—if the supplier does not want to correct the violation, the supplier can dispose of the controlled product in question. Disposal can take place at the supplier's workplace or at the customer's workplace if the product has already been distributed.

The Power of Seizure

If the supplier does not agree to any of the above courses of action, the inspector has the power to seize the controlled product [section 22(1)(e) of the Hazardous Products Act]. The inspector is likely to use this power in cases where the nature of the violation warrants strict control of the product.

The inspector can have the seized product stored on site or removed and stored elsewhere. Once seized, the supplier is not allowed to change or interfere in any way with the controlled product unless permitted to do so by the inspector.

Within two months of the seizure, the supplier can apply to a Provincial Court judge to have the controlled product returned. In so doing, the supplier has to provide evidence that the supplier is entitled to have the controlled product returned, for example, evidence that the violation that led to the seizure has been corrected. Whether the controlled product is returned to the supplier depends upon the evidence presented to the Provincial Court judge and also on whether the Ministry of Labour intends to prosecute the supplier in addition to seizing the controlled product.

Prosecution

Prosecution of the supplier is an action that would be considered in the following circumstances:

  • a violation of the Hazardous Products Act or Controlled Products Regulation that presents a serious risk to worker health or safety;
  • interference with a controlled product that has been seized;
  • obstruction of an inspector;
  • repeated violations, usually despite repeated warnings; and
  • where other enforcement options have proven unsuccessful.

The penalties on summary conviction are a fine of up to $100,000 and/or a term of up to 6 months in jail. On proceedings by way of indictment, a fine of up to $1,000,000 and/or a term of up to 2 years in jail may be imposed.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

9. Le SIMDUT et le ministère du Travail de l'Ontario

En Ontario, l'administration et l'application de la législation fédérale et provinciale liée au SIMDUT (Système d'information sur les matériaux dangereux utilisés au travail) incombent au ministère du Travail. Cette situation découle d'une entente entre le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement provincial aux termes de laquelle seul ce dernier met en œuvre cette législation. Ainsi, les employeurs et les fournisseurs ne sont pas soumis à des inspections par les deux paliers de gouvernement. Donc, pour mettre en œuvre le SIMDUT, les inspecteurs de la Division des opérations du ministère du Travail doivent s'assurer que les lieux de travail sont conformes à la Loi sur les produits dangereux, au Règlement sur le contrôle des renseignements relatifs aux matières dangereuses, à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et au Règlement concernant le SIMDUT de l'Ontario.

Il faut souligner que cette entente ne s'applique qu'aux lieux de travail qui relèvent du gouvernement provincial. Pour les lieux de travail qui relèvent du gouvernement fédéral, comme les banques, les bureaux de poste et les aéroports, ce sont les inspecteurs de Ressources humaines et développement Canada qui mettront en œuvre la législation concernant le SIMDUT.

L'application de la législation provinciale relative au SIMDUT

Dans le cadre de l'application de la législation provinciale sur le SIMDUT, les inspecteurs vérifieront surtout si les produits contrôlés sont correctement étiquetés et identifiés, si les feuilles de données sur la sûreté des matériaux se trouvent dans les lieux de travail et si des programmes de formation à l'intention des travailleurs sont mis en place. Les inspecteurs surveilleront la conformité au SIMDUT au cours de leurs inspections régulières sur la santé et la sécurité dans le lieu de travail ou lors d'enquêtes concernant des plaintes, des accidents ou des refus de travailler associés à cette question.

Dans les cas de non-conformité, l'inspecteur applique les mesures législatives portant sur le SIMDUT en émettant un ordre aux termes duquel la situation de non-conformité doit être corrigée dans un temps donné. C'est d'ailleurs ainsi que sont appliquées toutes les autres mesures législatives relatives à la santé et la sécurité au travail.

La législation de l'Ontario sur le SIMDUT donne toutefois aux inspecteurs un nouveau pouvoir, celui de mettre fin à l'utilisation d'un produit contrôlé particulier.

En cas de violation des dispositions de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ou du Règlement concernant le SIMDUT, les pénalités sont les mêmes que pour toutes les autres violations de la Loi ou de ses règlements, soit une amende maximale de 25 000 $ ou un maximum de 12 mois d'emprisonnement.

L'application de la législation fédérale relative au SIMDUT

Dans le cadre de l'application de la législation fédérale du SIMDUT, les inspecteurs s'assureront principalement que les étiquettes du fournisseur et les fiches signalétiques ont été fournies et que leur contenu et présentation sont conformes aux exigences décrites dans la partie 3 du présent guide. Pour juger de la classification d'un produit contrôlé ou de l'exactitude des renseignements techniques inscrits sur la fiche signalétique, l'inspecteur a généralement recours au personnel scientifique ou médical des bureaux de district ou du bureau principal.

Les inspecteurs surveilleront la conformité des entreprises à la législation fédérale au cours d'inspections de routine du lieu de travail du fournisseur et pour donner suite aux questions ou plaintes des employeurs qui achètent des produits contrôlés d'un fournisseur.

En cas de non-conformité à la législation fédérale, l'inspecteur applique les mesures de la Loi sur les produits dangereux, lesquelles sont différentes de celles de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Plus particulièrement, aux termes de la Loi sur les produits dangereux, l'inspecteur n'a pas le pouvoir d'émettre un ordre en cas de violation de la législation fédérale relative au SIMDUT. Selon la législation fédérale, l'inspecteur donne d'abord au fournisseur l'occasion de se conformer volontairement. Si le fournisseur ne se conforme pas, l'inspecteur a recours au pouvoir de saisie pour l'obliger à se conformer, et dans certains cas, le fournisseur sera poursuivi en justice. Voici une description des différentes démarches.

Conformité volontaire

Après avoir été informé qu'il contrevient à une disposition particulière de la Loi sur les produits dangereux ou du Règlement sur les produits contrôlés, le fournisseur peut choisir de remédier à la situation de l'une des façons suivantes :

  1. Retrait de la vente–fournisseur peut cesser de vendre le produit contrôlé concerné jusqu'à ce que la situation soit corrigée.
  2. Rappel–Le fournisseur peut cesser la vente d'un produit contrôlé et rappeler les produits déjà distribués. Il peut alors effectuer les corrections nécessaires dans son lieu de travail ou sur place.
  3. Élimination–Si le fournisseur décide de ne pas corriger la situation, il peut éliminer le produit contrôlé concerné. Il peut l'éliminer soit dans le lieu de travail du fournisseur, soit dans le lieu de travail du client, si le produit est déjà livré.

Pouvoir de saisie

Si le fournisseur ne consent à aucune des solutions ci-dessus, l'inspecteur a le pouvoir de saisir le produit contrôlé concerné (alinéa 22 (1) e) de la Loi sur les produits dangereux). L'inspecteur utilise ce pouvoir surtout dans les cas où la nature de la violation de la Loi exige un contrôle strict du produit.

L'inspecteur peut faire entreposer le produit saisi sur place ou l'apporter et l'entreposer ailleurs. Une fois le produit entreposé, le fournisseur n'a plus le droit de faire des changements d'aucune sorte au produit contrôlé saisi, à moins d'obtenir la permission de l'inspecteur.

Le fournisseur a deux mois à partir de la date de saisie pour demander à un juge de la cour provinciale la restitution du produit contrôlé saisi. Pour cela, il doit fournir la preuve qu'il est autorisé à reprendre possession du produit contrôlé; il doit prouver, par exemple, que la violation des dispositions de la Loi à l'origine de la saisie a été corrigée. La restitution du produit saisi au fournisseur dépend de la preuve présentée au juge de la cour provinciale et aussi du ministère du Travail, qui peut décider de poursuivre le fournisseur en justice, en plus de saisir le produit contrôlé.

Poursuite en justice

La poursuite en justice du fournisseur est une mesure envisagée dans les cas suivants :

  • violation de la Loi sur les produits dangereux ou du causant des risques considérables pour la santé et à la sécurité des travailleurs;
  • changements apportés à un produit contrôlé après sa saisie;
  • entrave au travail d'un inspecteur;
  • violations répétées, habituellement en dépit de plusieurs avertissements;
  • échec d'autres mesures pour corriger la situation.

Les sanctions en cas de déclaration de culpabilité sommaire consistent en une amende pouvant atteindre 100 000 $ et/ou une peine d'emprisonnement pouvant atteindre six mois. En cas de mise en accusation, l'amende peut atteindre 1 000 000 $ et/ou le contrevenant peut être condamné à une peine d'emprisonnement pouvant atteindre deux ans.

précédent | suivant