Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Introduction

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE SEE FULL DISCLAIMER


We all share the goal of making Ontario's workplaces safe and healthy.

The Occupational Health and Safety Act[ 1 ] provides us with the legal framework and the tools to achieve this goal. It sets out the rights and duties of all parties in the workplace. It establishes procedures for dealing with workplace hazards and it provides for enforcement of the law where compliance has not been achieved voluntarily by workplace parties.

The Act came into force in 1979. Changes to the Act in 1990 and subsequent years continued the evolution of occupational health and safety legislation since its original enactment. These changes have strengthened the requirements for occupational health and safety in Ontario workplaces and have reinforced the Internal Responsibility System (IRS) and the workplace structures, in particular the joint health and safety committees.

Employers should note that the Act makes it clear that the employers have the greatest responsibilities with respect to health and safety in the workplace. However all workplace parties have a role to play to ensure that health and safety requirements are met in the workplace. All workplace parties have a responsibility for promoting health and safety in the workplace and a role to play to help the workplace be in compliance with the statutory requirements set out under the Act. The respective roles and responsibilities for all workplace parties are detailed in the Act. This is the basis for the Internal Responsibility System.

Every improvement in occupational health and safety benefits all of us. Through cooperation and commitment, we can make Ontario a safer and healthier place in which to work.

It's worth working for.

[ 1 ]The Occupational Health and Safety Act is amended from time to time. A current version is available on e-Laws website.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-5308-1 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-5309-8 (PDF)
ISBN 978-1-4606-5307-4 (Print)

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santè et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. POUR OBTENIR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, VOIR L'AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ INTÉGRAL

Nous souhaitons tous assurer la santé et la sécurité dans les lieux de travail de l’Ontario.

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail[ 1 ] (Loi) nous fournit le cadre légal et les outils nécessaires pour atteindre ce but. Elle précise les droits et les devoirs de toutes les parties présentes dans le lieu de travail. Elle établit la marche à suivre concernant les dangers dans le lieu de travail et prévoit les modalités d’application de la loi lorsque les parties du lieu de travail ne s’y conforment pas volontairement.

La Loi, entrée en vigueur en 1979, a poursuivi son évolution grâce aux modifications apportées en 1990 et par la suite. Ces modifications ont renforcé les exigences relatives à la santé et à la sécurité dans les lieux de travail en Ontario et consolidé le système de responsabilité interne ainsi que les structures des lieux de travail, en particulier les comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Les employeurs doivent noter que la Loi précise clairement que ce sont eux qui ont les plus importantes responsabilités en ce qui concerne la santé et la sécurité dans le lieu de travail. Cependant, toutes les parties du lieu de travail ont un rôle et une responsabilité pour ce qui est de promouvoir la santé et la sécurité dans le lieu de travail. C’est le fondement du système de responsabilité interne.

Toute amélioration en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail profite à nous tous. Grâce à la coopération et à la détermination, nous pouvons faire de l’Ontario un endroit plus sûr et plus sain où travailler.

Cela en vaut la peine.

[ 1 ] La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail peut être modifiée à l’occasion. La version actuelle peut être consultée sur le site Web de Lois-en-ligne.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-0067-2 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-0068-9 (PDF)
ISBN 978-1-4606-0066-5 (Version imprimé)