Print Print This Page

Progress Report: Mining Health, Safety and Prevention Review

  • Issued: September 10, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: September 2014
  • See also: Final Report

Office of the Chief Prevention Officer/ Associate Deputy Minister
400 University Avenue
14th Floor
Toronto, ON M7A 1T7

Bureau du directeur général de la prévention et sous-ministre associé
400, avenue Université
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1T7

The Honourable Kevin Flynn
Minister of Labour
400 University Avenue
Toronto, Ontario
M7A 1T7

Dear Minister Flynn:

In December 2013, your predecessor asked me, as Chief Prevention Officer, to undertake a comprehensive review of the health, safety and prevention issues related to underground mining in the Province of Ontario. The Mining Health, Safety and Prevention Review (Review) was launched in January 2014, and I will be submitting my final report to you in early 2015. At the beginning of this Review, I made a commitment to provide the Minister with a progress report. I am pleased to submit my progress report and some early deliverables.

Consultation has been, and continues to be critical to the success of this Review. To conduct a comprehensive assessment of current and emerging occupational health and safety issues in Ontario mines, we have sought the input, advice and expertise of the sector. An Advisory Group of industry representatives and health and safety organizations is assisting me in assessing and providing advice on a wide range of topics. In addition, with the support of the Advisory Group, I have set up Working Groups focused on the key mining health and safety issues identified for this Review. These groups are continuing their work and will make recommendations to me. Details of their work are included in an appendix to this report.

I have been very encouraged by the advice and support provided by the Advisory Group and the Working Groups, which are composed of key mining stakeholders from labour, employer and relevant health and safety organizations. The participants were invited to participate based on their demonstrated commitment to occupational health and safety in the mining sector, and their roles as recognized leaders within their professional / organizational communities. Their willingness to work together in a spirit of collaboration, mutual respect and problem-solving is integral to the success of the Review.

We have also sought broader public input through consultations and written submissions. The public consultation sessions were held in various mining communities around Ontario. Anyone was welcome to listen, participate and to share their ideas and advice to improve health and safety in the mining sector. In total, we conducted 12 public sessions across the province. Over 150 people participated, representing employers, labour, other interested parties and individuals. In addition, we have received over 60 written submissions to our public consultation document to date. An overview of what we heard can be found in this progress report.

While the final report will contain my recommendations for improving health and safety in the underground mining sector, we have identified some early deliverables and taken steps to address some key issues, such as employee visibility, training and the need for research/data to identify and understand risks and hazards.

Yours truly,

George Gritziotis
Chief Prevention Officer
Associate Deputy Minister


The work of the Review is supported by the very considerable contributions of the members of the Advisory Group. The Advisory Group members are:

  • John Perquin - Labour Vice Chair
    Assistant to the International Secretary-Treasurer, United Steelworkers
  • Fergus Kerr - Employer Vice Chair
    Vice President of Operations, Global Atomic Fuels Corporation
  • Mike Bond - Worker Co-Chair, Mining Legislative Review Committee
    Chair, United Steelworkers Local 6500 Health, Safety and Environment Committee
  • Roger Emdin - Employer Co-Chair, Mining Legislative Review Committee
    Manager Sustainable Development, Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations
  • Cam Mustard
    President and Senior Scientist, Institute for Work and Health
  • Candys Ballanger-Michaud
    Chief Executive Officer, Workplace Safety North
  • Wendy Fram (Observer)
    Chair, Mining Inquiry Needs Everyone's Support (MINES)

The Review is supported by a Secretariat housed in the Prevention Division of the Ministry of Labour:

  • Director – Wayne De L’Orme
  • Project Manager – Jules Arntz-Gray
  • Mining/Technical Expertise – Bob Barclay
  • Financial and Administrative Assistant – Bisola Otepola

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Rapport d’étape : Examen sur la santé, la sécurité et la prévention dans le secteur minier

  • Diffusion : 10 septembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2014
  • Voir aussi : Rapport final

Office of the Chief Prevention Officer/ Associate Deputy Minister
400 University Avenue
14th Floor
Toronto, ON M7A 1T7

Bureau du directeur général de la prévention et sous-ministre associé
400, avenue Université
14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1T7

L'honorable Kevin Flynn
Ministre du Travail
400, avenue University
Toronto (Ontario)
M7A 1T7

Monsieur le Ministre,

En décembre 2013, votre prédécesseur m'a demandé, en ma qualité de directeur général de la prévention, d'entreprendre un examen exhaustif sur la santé, la sécurité et la prévention dans le secteur minier de la province de l'Ontario. Cet examen (l'examen) a été lancé en janvier 2014 et je vous présenterai mon rapport final au début de 2015. Au début de cet examen, je me suis engagé à présenter au ministre un rapport d'étape. J’ai le plaisir de vous présenter ce rapport d'étape ainsi que quelques premiers résultats.

La consultation a été et continue d'être cruciale au succès de cet examen. Afin de produire une évaluation complète des questions de santé et de sécurité au travail actuelles et émergentes dans les mines de l'Ontario, nous avons recherché les commentaires, les avis et l'expertise du secteur. Un groupe consultatif de représentants de l'industrie et d'organismes de santé et de sécurité m'aide à évaluer et à fournir des conseils sur un large éventail de sujets. En plus du soutien du groupe consultatif, j'ai établi des groupes de travail qui se penchent chacun sur des problèmes clés de santé et de sécurité dans le secteur minier aux fins de l'examen. Ces groupes poursuivent leur travail et me formuleront des recommandations. Une annexe de ce rapport comporte des détails sur leur travail.

J'ai été très encouragé par les conseils et le soutien du groupe consultatif et des groupes de travail qui comptent des représentants des travailleurs et des employeurs, ainsi que d'organismes de santé et de sécurité concernés. Les participants ont été choisis pour l'engagement qu'ils ont démontré envers la santé et la sécurité au travail dans le secteur minier ainsi que leur rôle de chef reconnu dans leurs milieux professionnel et institutionnel. Leur volonté de travailler ensemble dans un esprit de collaboration, de respect mutuel et de résolution des problèmes, est essentielle au succès de l'examen.

Nous avons également sollicité l'avis du grand public au moyen de consultations et de commentaires écrits. Des séances de consultation publiques ont été tenues dans diverses collectivités minières en Ontario. Tous étaient les bienvenus pour écouter, participer et partager leurs idées et leurs conseils afin d'améliorer la question de la santé et de la sécurité dans le secteur minier. Au total, nous avons tenu 12 séances publiques dans la province. Plus de 150 personnes y ont participé; celles-ci représentaient les employeurs, les travailleurs, d'autres parties intéressées ainsi que des particuliers. En outre, nous avons reçu plus de 60 commentaires écrits, qui ont été joints à notre document de consultation publique à ce jour. Le présent rapport d'étape donne un aperçu de ce que nous avons entendu.

Alors que le rapport final contiendra mes recommandations pour améliorer la santé et la sécurité dans le secteur minier, nous avons recensé quelques résultats immédiats et avons pris des mesures pour corriger certaines lacunes importantes, tels la visibilité des employés, la formation et le besoin de recherche et de données pour déterminer et comprendre les risques et les dangers.

Cordialement,

George Gritziotis
Directeur général de la prévention
Sous-ministre associé

Remerciements

Les travaux de cet examen sont soutenus par l'immense contribution des membres du groupe consultatif. Voici les membres du groupe consultatif :

  • John Perquin - Vice-président représentant les travailleurs
    Assistant du secrétaire-trésorier international, Métallurgistes unis
  • Fergus Kerr - Vice-président représentant les employeurs
    Vice-président, exploitation, Global Atomic Fuels Corporation
  • Mike Bond - Coprésident représentant les travailleurs, Comité d'examen des textes de loi relatifs à l'exploitation minière
    Président, section locale 6500, comité sur la santé et la sécurité et l'environnement Métallurgistes unis
  • Roger Emdin - Coprésident représentant les employés, Comité d'examen des textes de loi relatifs à l'exploitation minière
    Chef, développement durable, Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations, Glencore
  • Cam Mustard
    Président et scientifique principal, Institut de recherche sur le travail et la santé
  • Candys Ballanger-Michaud
    Chef de la direction, Sécurité au travail dans le Nord
  • Wendy Fram
    Mining Inquiry Needs Everyone's Support (MINES), observatrice

Cet examen reçoit l'appui du secrétariat de la Division de la prévention du ministère du Travail :

  • Directeur – Wayne De L’Orme
  • Chef de projet – Jules Arntz-Gray
  • Expertise minière et technique – Bob Barclay
  • Adjointe financière et administrative – Bisola Otepola

suivant