Subscribe | PDF Version [148 Kb]

Live Safe! Work Smart!

eNewsletter for Ontario Teachers • June 2014

It’s Your Job video contest: Ontario secondary school videos win national honours!

National celebrity judges, including Jim Caruk and Carson Arthur from HGTV, Marc Kielburger from Free the Children, actress Mag Ruffman, Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety CEO Steve Horvath, injured worker Jonathan Plante and parents of young workers who lost their lives at work Paul Kells, Rob Ellis and Shirley Hickman, reviewed winning secondary school videos from across the country and chose Canada’s winners. Cash prizes will be awarded by the coordinating body for deputy ministers of labour from across Canada, CAALL, who sponsored the national contest. Congratulations!

1st place in Canada: On Call

Winner: Ben Croskery, John McCrae Secondary School, Ottawa

This video won second place in Ontario, earning both the student and the school $750 in May. For having the top secondary school video in Canada, the school and the student will both receive an additional $2000.

2nd place in Canada: Flower

Winners: Pranay Noel and Martin Czachor, St. Francis Xavier Catholic Secondary School, Mississauga

This video tied for first place in Ontario, earning both the student team and their school $1000. For having Canada’s second place secondary school video, both the team and their school will receive an additional $1500.

See, share and show the videos

The videos produced by our talented secondary school students are available for your use at

Submit next year

Check the website in September for the 2014/15 contest details and entry forms. Your students could be next year’s winners!

Safety requirements for powered folding partitions

Hazard summary

The Ministry of Labour has posted a hazard alert to raise awareness about the potential for serious injuries that could result from the use of powered folding partitions.

These partitions are commonly used to separate areas, including in school gymnasiums, community centers, and conference rooms in hotels, convention centers or any other workplace space that may be partitioned.

Powered folding partitions are designed to stop when fully extended against the wall or fully retracted. The movement of these partitions is often controlled from a switch located on one side of the partition, which restricts the operator’s ability to see the leading edge of the moving partition.

Since only one side of the partition is visible from the control panel, a “blind spot” can prevent an operator from seeing another person who could be crushed. The crushing forces of the moving partitions may be great enough to cause severe injury and even death.

More information is available on the Ministry of Labour website.

Live Safe! Work Smart! updated teacher resource

A 2014/15 twelve page Live Safe! Work Smart! resource package for teachers, that includes links to videos, e-learning tools, posters, guest speakers and more, was released last month at the OCEA and OCTE conferences to appreciative audiences of teachers. Get yours at

Workplace warning signs

Young workers should be aware of their workplace rights as they start their summer jobs. Here are a few signs to watch for:

  • Not getting paid on time
  • No pay stub
  • Not paid for extra hours
  • No time to eat
  • No public holiday pay
  • Unexplained deductions from pay

Learn more:

Reminder: worker awareness becomes law July 1st, 2014

Read more in the January 2014 edition of this newsletter.

Ministry of Labour education initiative

From September 9, 2013, to October 31, 2013, Ministry of Labour (MOL) inspectors conducted an enforcement initiative to promote health and safety in the Ontario education sector. The ministry focused on schools with woodworking shops, science labs, technological education labs and other kinds of shops (e.g., auto body, construction and manufacturing).

MOL Inspectors visited private schools and also revisited some public and Catholic schools that had been visited during a similar education initiative conducted from September 2011 to June 2012. (View results of the 2011/12 initiative.)

Inspectors checked on compliance with the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and its regulations.

The goals were to:

  • Continue to raise awareness of hazards in the education sector
  • Encourage employers to identify and control hazards
  • Address non-compliance with the OHSA and its regulations through appropriate enforcement action
  • Deter non-compliant employers
  • Enhance occupational health and safety partnerships

Results of the initiative are available on the Ministry of Labour website.


Enjoy a safe summer. Email your ideas for articles to: or

Ministry of Labour resource website for teachers

S'inscrire | Version PDF [152 Ko]

Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé!

Bulletin électronique pour les enseignants et enseignantes de l’Ontario • juin 2014

Concours de vidéo « C'est votre travail » : Des vidéos d'écoles secondaires de l'Ontario remportent les honneurs nationaux!

Les membres du jury de ce concours comptaient des célébrités canadiennes, notamment Jim Caruk et Carson Arthur (HGTV), Marc Kielburger (Free the Children), Mag Ruffman (actrice), Steve Horvath (président directeur général du Centre canadien d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail), Jonathan Plante, un travailleur blessé, ainsi que des parents de jeunes travailleurs ayant perdu la vie au travail : Paul Kells, Rob Ellis et Shirley Hickman. Ils ont sélectionné les vidéos gagnantes du concours national parmi celles envoyées par des écoles secondaires de l’ensemble du Canada. Des prix monétaires ont été décernés par l'organe coordonnateur pour les sous-ministres du Travail du pays, l'ACALO, qui commanditait le concours national. Félicitations!

1ère place (Canada) : Appel à l’action

Gagnant : Ben Croskery, École secondaire John McCrae, Ottawa

Cette vidéo avait remporté la deuxième place du concours ontarien, en mai, soit un prix de 750 $ pour l’élève et pour l’école. Puisque cette vidéo a remporté la première place au niveau national, l’école et l’élève recevront également une somme de 2000 $.

2e place (Canada) : La Fleur

Gagnants : Pranay Noel et Martin Czachor, École catholique secondaire St. Francis Xavier, Mississauga

Cette vidéo avait remporté la première place ex aequo du concours ontarien, soit un prix de 1000 $ pour l’équipe d’élèves et pour l’école. Puisque cette vidéo a remporté la 2e place au niveau national, l’équipe et l’école recevront également une somme de 1500 $.

Visionner, partager et montrer ces vidéos

Pour vous servir de ces vidéos créées par nos talentueux élèves du secondaire, consultez l’adresse ontario.ca/concoursvideo.

Comment participer au concours l’année prochaine?

Consultez le site ontario.ca/concoursvideo en septembre pour connaître le règlement du concours 2014-2015 et pour vous procurer des formulaires de candidature. Vos élèves pourraient être les lauréats du prochain concours!

Exigences de sécurité relatives aux cloisons extensibles électriques

Description du danger

Le ministère du Travail a publié un bulletin Alerte afin de sensibiliser les gens au risque de blessures graves pouvant découler de l’emploi de cloisons extensibles électriques.

Ces cloisons sont couramment utilisées pour isoler des lieux, notamment dans les gymnases d’écoles, les centres communautaires, les salles de conférence d’hôtels ou de centres de congrès ou tout autre lieu de travail pouvant être cloisonné.

Les cloisons extensibles électriques sont conçues de manière à s’immobiliser dès qu’elles sont complètement déployées ou complètement rétractées. Leur mouvement est souvent commandé au moyen d’un interrupteur qui est situé d’un côté de celles-ci, ce qui limite la capacité de l’utilisateur d’en voir le bord avant lorsqu’elles sont en mouvement.

Comme un seul côté de la cloison est visible depuis le panneau de commande, la présence d’un « angle mort » peut empêcher l’utilisateur de voir une autre personne qui risque de se faire écraser. Les forces d’écrasement d’une cloison en mouvement peuvent suffire à causer des blessures graves et même la mort.

Le site Web du ministère du Travail contient de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.

Mises à jour des ressources pédagogiques Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé!

Une trousse de ressource pédagogiques Travailleur avisé, travailleur en santé! 2014-2015 de douze pages, contenant des liens vers des vidéos, des outils d’apprentissage électronique, des affiches, une liste de conférenciers invités et plus encore, a été distribuée le mois dernier aux enseignantes et aux enseignants qui ont participé aux conférences de l’OCEA et de l’OCTE. Pour vous procurer la vôtre, rendez-vous au site www.livesafeworksmart.net.

Affichage d’avertissements sur le lieu de travail

Les jeunes travailleurs doivent connaître leurs droits au travail au moment de commencer leur emploi d’été. Notez bien les points suivants :

  • Leur salaire doit être versé dans les temps
  • On doit leur remettre une fiche de paie
  • Leurs heures supplémentaires doivent être rémunérées
  • On doit leur donner le temps de manger
  • On doit leur verser le salaire pour jour férié
  • On ne doit pas faire de retenues salariales sans explication

Pour en savoir plus : ontario.ca/normesdemploi

Rappel : la sensibilisation obligatoire des travailleurs entre en vigueur le 1er juillet 2014

Voir le numéro de janvier 2014 de ce bulletin pour en savoir davantage : www.livesafeworksmart.net

Initiative d’application de la loi dans le secteur de l’éducation

Du 9 septembre 2013 au 31 octobre 2013, des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail ont mené une initiative d’application de la loi visant à promouvoir la santé et la sécurité dans le secteur de l’éducation. L’initiative ciblait les écoles dotées d’ateliers de menuiserie, de laboratoires scientifiques, d’enseignement technologique et d’autres types d’ateliers (p. ex., carrosseries automobiles, construction et fabrication).

Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail ont inspecté des écoles privées ainsi que des écoles publiques et des écoles catholiques qui avaient été inspectées au cours d’une initiative semblable qui avait eu lieu de septembre 2011 à juin 2012. (Bilan de l’initiative 2011-2012 : www.labour.gov.on.ca/french/hs/sawo/blitzes/school_initiative.php.)

Liens

Envoyez par courriel vos idées d'articles à : sue.boychuk@ontario.ca

Site Web des ressources du ministère du Travail à l'intention des enseignants.