Occupational Health and Safety Policy & Programs for Farming Operations

Ontario's Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) applies with some limitations and exceptions, to all farming operations that have paid workers.

The Occupational Health and Safety Act requires employers that regularly employ more than five employees to prepare and review at least annually a written occupational health and safety policy, and to develop and maintain a program to implement that policy. This document has been prepared to assist employers in understanding these obligations.

Occupational Health and Safety Policies

An occupational health and safety policy is a statement of an employer's commitment to worker health and safety. A clear, concise occupational health and safety policy, signed by the highest level of management at the workplace, should state the employer's commitment, support and attitude to the health and safety program for the protection of workers.

The employer's attitudes, relationships between management and workers, community interests and technology all combine to play a part in determining how health and safety are viewed and addressed in the workplace.

Workplaces with exceptional health and safety records have established a clear line of responsibility for correcting health and safety concerns. This action enhances working relationships between management and workers.

An example of a good health and safety policy follows:

Health and Safety Policy

[Employer name/Farm operation ] is vitally interested in the health and safety of its employees. Protection of employees from injury or occupational disease is a major continuing objective. [_____ ] will make every effort to provide a safe, healthy work environment. All supervisors and workers must be dedicated to the continuing objective of reducing risk of injury.

[_____ ], as employer, is ultimately responsible for worker health and safety. As the employer of [______ ], I give you my personal promise that every reasonable precaution will be taken for the protection of workers. Supervisors will be held accountable for the health and safety of workers under their supervision. Supervisors are responsible to ensure that machinery and equipment are safe and that workers work in compliance with established safe work practices and procedures. Workers must receive adequate training in their specific work tasks to protect their health and safety.

Every worker must protect his or her own health and safety by working in compliance with the law and with safe work practices and procedures established by the company (or farm operation).

It is in the best interest of all parties to consider health and safety in every activity. Commitment to health and safety must form an integral part of this organization, from the owner to the workers.

Signed: [______________ ]
Employer (Farm operation)

Health and Safety Program

In addition to preparing a health and safety policy like the one above, the employer who regularly employs more than five employees must also have a program in place to implement that policy. This program will vary, depending upon the hazards encountered in a particular workplace. Program elements may include all or some of the following:

  1. Worker training e.g.., new employees, new equipment, new job procedures
  2. Workplace inspections and hazard analysis
  3. Analysis of the accidents and illnesses occurring at the workplace
  4. A health and safety budget
  5. A formal means of communication to address promptly the concerns of workers
  6. Confined space entry procedure
  7. Lock-out procedure
  8. Machine guarding
  9. Material-handling practices and procedures
  10. Procedures specific to the individual farming operation, e.g., harvesting fruit, large animal handling
  11. Preventing occupational disease, e.g., preventing the transmission of diseases from animals to humans
  12. Maintenance and repairs
  13. Housekeeping
  14. Personal protective equipment, e.g.., respirators, hearing protection
  15. Emergency procedures
  16. First-aid and rescue procedures
  17. Electrical safety
  18. Fire prevention
  19. Engineering controls e.g., ventilation

This is not a comprehensive list.

For more information on the Occupational Health and Safety Act:

  • contact your local Ministry of Labour office listed in the Blue Pages of your phone book,
  • contact the Ministry of Labour toll free information line at 1-800-268-8013,

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Politiques et programmes de santé et de sécurité au travail pour les opérations agricoles

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail s'applique aux opérations agricoles qui emploient des travailleurs rémunérés, avec certaines limites et certaines exceptions.

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail exige que les employeurs qui emploient régulièrement plus de cinq employés préparent et examinent au moins une fois par an une politique écrite sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et élaborent et maintiennent un programme qui met cette politique en œuvre. Le présent document a été préparé pour aider les employeurs à comprendre ces obligations.

Politiques sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Une politique sur la santé et la sécurité au travail est une déclaration de l'engagement d'un employeur envers la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs. Une politique claire et concise sur la santé et la sécurité au travail reflète l'engagement de la direction, son appui et son attitude à l'égard du programme de santé et de sécurité au travail pour la protection des travailleurs.

L'attitude des cadres supérieurs, les relations entre le patronat et les travailleurs, les intérêts communautaires et la technologie sont autant de facteurs déterminant la façon de concevoir et d'aborder la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Les lieux de travail dotés d'un palmarès exceptionnel en matière de santé et de sécurité assument clairement leur responsabilité et remédient aux lacunes sur le plan de la santé et de la sécurité. Leur conduite renforce les bons rapports entre la direction et les travailleurs. Voici un exemple de bonne politique en matière de santé et sécurité :

Politique en matière de santé et de sécurité

La direction de [nom de l'employeur/opération agricole] s'intéresse vivement à la santé et à la sécurité de son personnel. Elle tient beaucoup à protéger les employés des blessures ou maladies professionnelles. [_____ ] s'efforcera par tous les moyens de fournir un milieu de travail sécuritaire et salubre. Tous les superviseurs et les travailleurs doivent se consacrer à la réalisation de cet objectif permanent pour réduire les risques d'accident.

À titre d'employeur, [_____ ] est en définitive responsable de la santé et de la sécurité de ses travailleurs. À titre d'employeur de [______ ], je vous promets solennellement de prendre toute précaution raisonnable pour assurer la protection des travailleurs.

Les superviseurs sont tenus responsables de la santé et de la sécurité des travailleurs qu'ils dirigent. Les superviseurs doivent garantir que le matériel et l'outillage soient sécuritaires et que les travailleurs travaillent selon les pratiques et procédés reconnus en matière de sécurité au travail. Les travailleurs doivent être formés convenablement pour exercer leurs fonctions et veiller à leur santé et sécurité.

Chaque travailleur doit protéger sa propre santé et sécurité en respectant la Loi et en adoptant des pratiques et des méthodes de travail sécuritaires que l'entreprise (ou l'opération agricole) a établies.

Toutes les parties en cause ont intérêt à tenir compte de la santé et de la sécurité dans tout ce qu'elles entreprennent. L'engagement en faveur de la santé et de la sécurité forme une partie intégrante de cette société, depuis le chef de la direction jusqu'aux travailleurs.

Signé : [______________ ]
Employeur (opération agricole)

Programme de santé et de sécurité

En plus de préparer une politique en matière de santé et de sécurité comme celle-ci, l'employeur qui emploie régulièrement plus de cinq employés doit aussi adopter un programme pour mettre en œuvre la politique. Le programme varie en fonction des dangers particuliers de chaque lieu de travail. Le programme portera sur certains ou tous les éléments suivants :

  1. La formation des travailleurs (par ex. nouveaux employés, nouvel équipement, nouvelles méthodes de travail)
  2. Des inspections du lieu de travail et une analyse des risques
  3. Une analyse des accidents et des maladies survenus dans le lieu de travail
  4. Un budget pour la santé et la sécurité
  5. Des voies officielles de communication pour répondre promptement aux préoccupations des travailleurs
  6. Les moyens de pénétrer dans un espace confiné
  7. La méthode d'arrêt sous clef
  8. La protection des machines
  9. Les pratiques et méthodes de manutention des matériaux
  10. Les méthodes propres à l'opération agricole particulière, comme la récolte des fruits, la manutention des gros animaux
  11. La prévention des maladies professionnelles, p. ex. la prévention de la transmission des maladies des animaux aux humains
  12. L'entretien et les réparations
  13. Le nettoyage et le rangement
  14. L'équipement de protection personnel, comme les appareils respiratoires et les protecteurs d'oreilles
  15. Les mesures d'urgence
  16. Le secourisme et le sauvetage
  17. La sécurité électrique
  18. La prévention des incendies
  19. Les mesures de contrôle techniques (par ex. ventilation)

Cette liste n'est pas exhaustive.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail,
  • Communiquez avec le bureau local du ministère du Travail, dont les coordonnées se trouvent dans les pages bleues de l'annuaire téléphonique,
  • Appelez le service de renseignements sans frais du ministère du Travail au 1 800 268-8013.