Print This Page

Information for Farming Operations: Enforcement of the Occupational Health and Safety Act–When Self Compliance Fails

  • ISBN: 1-4249-1843-X
  • Issued: February 2006
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009
  • See also: Farming Operations

This Fact Sheet is provided for your information and convenience only. It is not a legal document. For further information and the exact wording in the OHSA, please refer to the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations.

About the Occupational Health and Safety Act

Purpose of the Occupational Health and Safety Act

The purpose of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) is to protect workers against health and safety hazards on the job. It applies, with some limitations and exceptions, to all farming operations that have paid workers. The OHSA is administered and enforced by the Ontario Ministry of Labour (MOL).

Internal Responsibility System

The OHSA is based on an Internal Responsibility System (IRS)--a concept based on the principle that the workplace parties themselves are in the best position to identify health and safety problems and take proactive measures to ensure a safe and healthy workplace and compliance with the OHSA and associated regulations. There are several provisions in the OHSA aimed at fostering the IRS. These include but are not limited to:

  • Responsibilities and duties of employers, supervisors and workers. [ 1 ]
  • The requirement for employers that regularly employ more than five employees to have a health and safety policy and program.
  • The requirements concerning worker health and safety representatives and joint health and safety committees. [ 2 ]
  • The three basic rights of all workers--The Right to Participate; The Right to Know; The Right to Refuse Unsafe Work.[ 3 ]

Resources Available

There are numerous resources available to help a farm operator and farm workers understand their responsibilities under the OHSA. These include, but are not limited to:

Ontario Ministry of Labour Publications

  1. A Guide for Health and Safety Representatives and Joint Health and Safety Committees on Farming Operations
  2. Pocket Extracts for Farming Operations
  3. Protection for Workers on Farming Operations from Reprisals from Employers
  4. Occupational Health and Safety Policy and Programs for Farming Operations
  5. Requirement to Report an Incident on a Farming Operation
  6. Fact sheet 2006-01: “Role of the Ontario Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspector”.

Other Health and Safety Prevention and Education partners also have information that may help.

Prevention and Education Material from Other Organizations:

  1. Farm Safety Association
  2. Workplace Safety and Insurance Board
  3. Safe Workplace Associations
  4. Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food and Rural Affairs
  5. Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety

Enforcement of the Occupational Health and Safety Act

The role of the Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspector is detailed in Fact Sheet 2006-01 "Role of the Ontario Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspector". A MOL Health and Safety Inspector will primarily visit a farming operation, as of June 30, 2006 to:

  1. Inspect the workplace for compliance with the Occupational Health and Safety Act and/or
  2. Investigate a critical injury[ 4 ], fatality, complaint or work refusal.

Observed Violations and the Issuance of Orders

As detailed in Fact sheet 2006-01 "Role of the Ontario Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspector", the Inspector will provide the workplace parties with a written "Premise Project" report at the conclusion of his/her visit. An employer is required to post this report in a conspicuous location at the workplace. Where an Inspector observes a contravention, an order (not a recommendation) may be issued in the written report. Orders may be issued for each observed contravention. Orders are issued under the section of a regulation or the OHSA that has been contravened, but may be issued under the general duty sections[ 5 ] of the Occupational Health and Safety Act. There are no monetary penalties associated with orders.

Inspectors may issue three types of orders:

  1. Forthwith (where compliance must be achieved before the Inspector leaves the premises--an example of when a forthwith order might be issued includes an order for the employer to post a copy of the OHSA at the workplace),
  2. Time-Based (where the Inspector is satisfied that there is no immediate health and safety hazard, the workplace will be given, in consultation with the workplace parties, a deadline date by which to comply with the order--an example of when a time-based order might be issued includes an order for the employer to provide information and instruction to a worker on the safe use of a certain piece of equipment.)
  3. Stop Use/Stop Work (the MOL Inspector may issue an order to correct the contravention and may additionally write a Stop Use/Stop Work order requiring the specific work or specific equipment to be stopped. If a Stop Use/Stop Work order is issued, the work may only resume once the Inspector is satisfied that the contravention has been corrected. An example of when a Stop Use/Stop Work order might be issued includes a situation where an Inspector observes a contravention and has identified immediate hazards to workers, s/he may consult with the workplace parties to determine if immediate and/or interim measures are possible to protect the worker(s). Where immediate and/or interim measures are not possible or adequate the MOL may issue a Stop Use/Stop Work order in addition to an order to correct the contravention.)

Appealing an Order

Should any of the workplace parties disagree with an Inspector's order or decision not to issue an order, they may exercise their right to appeal. Appeals are processed and administered by the Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB) and are heard by the Vice Chairs of the OLRB. Appeals must be made within 30 days of the making of the order or Inspector's decision. The OLRB has rules of procedure governing the filing of appeals. These can be obtained from http://www.olrb.gov.on.ca/english/applica.htm. The order remains in effect until a decision is made on the request for a suspension of the order or on the order itself.

Complying with an Order

Attached to the MOL Inspector's report will be a "Notice of Compliance" form. The workplaces parties are required to use this form (or some other written notification) to indicate compliance with each order and return it to the MOL by the compliance deadline(s). If there are multiple orders with multiple compliance dates, the form will need to be submitted more than once. Each order stays in effect until the Inspector is satisfied that it has been met. The Inspector may contact or re-visit the workplace to verify compliance should s/he have concerns.

Prompt and effective response to MOL orders is the best way to return a workplace to compliance. Workplace parties are encouraged to contact the MOL Inspector should they anticipate difficulties in meeting compliance deadlines.

Consequence of Failing to Comply with an Order

Where an order has been previously issued and non-compliance is noted on a subsequent visit, the Inspector may issue a written "Notice to the Employer" detailing the non-compliance in accordance with section 66 of the OHSA. The Inspector may also consider:

  • Issuing a Stop Work/Stop Use order where there is danger or hazard to the worker(s).
  • Initiating prosecution for non-compliance.

Prosecution Considerations

MOL Inspectors may initiate prosecution where there has been a contravention that is related to a fatal, critical or other injury to a worker. Other circumstances where prosecution may be considered include, but are not limited to:

  • Failure to comply with an order;
  • Obstruction of an Inspector; (i.e. knowingly providing false information to an Inspector, threatening an Inspector, barring entry in or upon any workplace, refusing to provide assistance or information to an Inspector);
  • Where a Stop Work order has been issued;
  • Repeat Offenders (Orders issued for same contravention to the same offender);
  • Violations that could result in critical injury or death; and
  • Seriousness of the violation/contravention.

Prosecution may be considered against any workplace party who had responsibility for an accident or contravention. Any workplace party including employers, supervisors and workers may be individually responsible or may share responsibility.

The purpose of prosecution is deterrence--specific deterrence for the offender and general deterrence for other potential offenders.

Summary

Starting June 30, 2006, farming operations with paid workers will be required to comply with the Occupational Health and Safety Act and specified regulations. The OHSA is grounded in the concept of the Internal Responsibility System (IRS)--a concept recognizing that workplace parties themselves are best able to keep their workers safe and healthy. As a result, the OHSA provides specific rights and responsibilities for workers, supervisors and employers regarding worker safety and health. There are numerous resources available to help employers, supervisors and workers understand these rights and responsibilities and to develop and maintain an effective IRS. The responsibility for worker health and safety lies with workplace parties.

The Ministry of Labour Inspector enforces the OHSA and associated regulations. S/he may visit a farming operation to conduct an inspection or investigate a fatal or critical injury, health and safety complaint or work refusal. Where contraventions are found, orders may be issued. Prompt and effective response to MOL orders is the best way to return a workplace to compliance. Orders carry no monetary penalties.

Under certain circumstances, including when there has been a contravention that is related to a fatal critical or other injury to a worker, the MOL Inspector may initiate prosecution. The purpose is deterrence--specific for the offender and general for potential offenders.

[ 1 ] The OHSA imposes duties on all those who have any degree of control over the workplace, the materials and equipment in the workplace and the direction of the work force. Part III of the OHSA outlines these duties. These duties and responsibilities range from the employer duty to provide information, instruction and supervision to workers to the worker duty to work safely and in accordance with the legislation.

[ 2 ] More details on the requirements for Health and Safety Reps and Joint Health and Safety Committees can be found in the Guide for Health and Safety Representatives and Joint Health and Safety Committees on Farming Operations and in the Regulation for Farming Operations.

[ 3 ] These rights are detailed in section 43 of the OHSA.

[ 4 ] Critical injury means an injury of serious nature that places life in jeopardy; produces unconsciousness; results in substantial loss of blood; involves the fracture of a leg or arm but not a finger or toe; involves the amputation of a leg, arm, hand or foot but not a finger or toe; consists of burns to a major portion of the body; or causes the loss of sight in an eye. R.R.O. 1990 Regulation 834

[ 5 ] For example, section 25(2)(h) of the Act states "an employer shall take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker."

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Information pour les opérations agricoles : Exécution de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail--lorsque l'observation volontaire échoue

Cette feuille de renseignements est fournie uniquement à titre de référence et de commodité. Elle ne constitue pas un document juridique. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et consulter le libellé exact de la loi, se reporter à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et aux règlements d'application.

À propos de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Objet de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) a pour but de protéger les travailleurs contre les risques pour la santé et la sécurité au travail. Elle s'applique, avec quelques restrictions et exceptions, à toutes les opérations agricoles qui ont des travailleurs rémunérés. La LSST est administrée et mise en application par le ministère du Travail de l'Ontario.

Système de responsabilité interne

La LSST repose sur un Système de responsabilité interne (SRI), fondé sur le principe selon lequel les parties présentes au lieu de travail sont bien placées pour cerner les problèmes de santé et de sécurité et prendre des mesures proactives pour assurer la santé et la sécurité du lieu de travail et le respect de la LSST et des règlements d'application. Plusieurs dispositions de la LSST visent à favoriser le SRI. Ce sont, notamment :

  • Les responsabilités et les devoirs des employeurs, des superviseurs et des travailleurs[ 1 ].
  • L'obligation pour les employeurs qui emploient cinq employés ou plus, de façon habituelle, d'avoir une politique et un programme en santé et en sécurité au travail[ 2 ].
  • Les obligations des délégués à la santé et à la sécurité au travail et du comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail[ 3 ].
  • Les trois droits fondamentaux de tous les travailleurs, à savoir le droit de participer (aux décisions), le droit de connaître (les dangers présents dans le lieu de travail) et le droit de refuser un travail qui n'est pas sécuritaire.

Ressources disponibles

Un grand nombre de ressources peuvent aider les exploitants et les travailleurs agricoles à comprendre les responsabilités que leur confère la LSST. Ce sont, notamment :

Publications du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario

  1. Santé et sécurité en milieu de travail : Guide à l'intention des comités mixtes et des délégués des opérations agricolesp
  2. Extraits titrés de la loi pour les opérations agricoles
  3. Protection des travailleurs d'opérations agricoles contre les représailles des employeurs
  4. Politiques et programmes de santé et sécurité pour les opérations agricoles
  5. Obligation de signaler un accident sur une opération agricole
  6. Feuille de renseignements 2006-01--« Rôle de l'inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario »

D'autres partenaires pour la prévention et l'éducation en matière de santé et de sécurité offrent des renseignements utiles.

Matériel de prévention et d'éducation offert par d'autres organismes :

  1. Farm Safety Association [en anglais uniquement]
  2. Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail
  3. Associations pour des lieux de travail sécuritaire
  4. Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario
  5. Centre canadien d'hygiène et de sécurité au travail

Mise en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

La Feuille de renseignements 2006-01, intitulée « Rôle de l'inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario », décrit le rôle de l'inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail. À compter du 30 juin 2006, un inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail rendra visite à une opération agricole principalement pour :

  1. inspecter le lieu de travail pour évaluer le respect de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et/ou
  2. faire enquête sur une blessure critique[ 4 ], un décès, une plainte ou un refus de travailler.

Enfreintes relevées et émission d'ordres

Tel que précisé dans la Feuille de renseignements 2006-01, « Rôle de l'inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario », l'inspecteur fournit aux parties présentes au lieu de travail un rapport intitulé Formulaire d'inspection des locaux/du chantier à l'issue de sa visite. Un employeur est tenu d'afficher ce rapport dans un endroit bien en vue au lieu de travail. S'il relève une infraction à la loi, un inspecteur du ministère du Travail peut donner un ordre (et non pas une recommandation) dans le rapport. Il peut donner un ordre pour chaque infraction relevée. Les ordres sont donnés en vertu de l'article du règlement ou de la LSST qui a été enfreint, mais peuvent également être donnés en vertu des articles énonçant les devoirs généraux[ 5 ] de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Les ordres n'occasionnent pas d'amendes.

Les inspecteurs peuvent donner trois types d'ordres :

  1. Ordre de se conformer immédiatement--l'employeur est tenu de commencer à se conformer à la loi immédiatement et doit s'y être conformé totalement avant que l'inspecteur ne quitte le lieu de travail (p. ex. un ordre peut obliger un employeur à afficher une copie de la LSST au lieu de travail).
  2. Ordre de se conformer dans un délai prescrit--si l'inspecteur est d'avis qu'il n'y a aucun risque imminent pour la santé et la sécurité, il établira un délai en consultation avec les parties présentes au lieu de travail, précisant la date à laquelle l'employeur doit se conformer à l'ordre (p. ex. un ordre pourrait obliger un employeur à fournir à un travailleur des renseignements et des instructions concernant l'utilisation sécuritaire d'un certain appareil).
  3. Ordre d'arrêt des travaux--(l'inspecteur peut ordonner que l'infraction soit corrigée et qu'une tâche ou l'usage d'un appareil particulier soit interrompu. Dans ce cas, les travaux peuvent reprendre seulement lorsqu'il est d'avis que l'infraction a été corrigée. À titre d'exemple, l'inspecteur pourrait donner ce type d'ordre lorsqu'il a relevé une infraction et repéré des dangers imminents pour les travailleurs et que, après avoir consulté les parties présentes au lieu de travail, il détermine qu'aucune mesure immédiate et/ou intérimaire ne protégerait adéquatement les travailleurs. Le ministère du Travail donne alors un ordre d'arrêt des travaux et un ordre de corriger l'infraction).

Interjeter appel d'un ordre

Dans l'éventualité où une des parties ne serait pas d'accord avec l'ordre ou la décision de ne pas donner d'ordre, elle peut se pourvoir en appel. Les appels sont traités et administrés par la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario et entendus par les vice-présidents de la Commission. Ils doivent être logés dans les 30 jours suivant l'ordre ou la décision de l'inspecteur. Les règles de procédure régissant les appels sont affichées à l'adresse http://www.olrb.gov.on.ca/french/applicaf.htm. L'ordre reste en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'une décision soit rendue concernant le retrait de l'ordre ou l'ordre lui-même.

Conformité à un ordre

Un avis de conformité est annexé au rapport de l'inspecteur du ministère du Travail. Les parties présentes au lieu de travail sont tenues de remplir cet avis (ou une autre notification écrite) pour indiquer qu'elles se sont conformées à chaque ordre et le renvoyer au ministère du Travail dans les délais impartis. Si plusieurs ordres comportant des délais différents ont été donnés, elles devront présenter plusieurs avis. Chaque ordre reste en vigueur jusqu'à ce que l'inspecteur juge qu'il a été respecté. Ce dernier peut contacter le lieu de travail ou faire une nouvelle visite pour vérifier si l'employeur se conforme à la loi.

Une réaction rapide et efficace aux ordres du ministère du Travail est la meilleure façon de rétablir la conformité du lieu de travail. Les parties en présence au lieu de travail sont encouragées à communiquer avec l'inspecteur du ministère du Travail si elles prévoient avoir de la difficulté à respecter les délais de conformité.

Conséquence de la non-conformité à un ordre

Si un ordre a été donné et que, lors d'une visite subséquente au lieu de travail, l'inspecteur constate qu'il n'est pas respecté, il peut émettre un avis écrit de non-conformité à l'employeur en vertu de l'article 66 de la LSST. Il peut également envisager les mesures suivantes :

  • Donner un ordre d'arrêt des travaux lorsqu'il y a un danger ou un risque pour le(s) travailleur(s).
  • Entamer une poursuite pour non-conformité.

Observations concernant les poursuites

Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail peuvent entamer des poursuites s'ils estiment qu'une contravention est liée à une blessure fatale, critique ou autre survenue à un travailleur et, notamment, dans les autres circonstances suivantes :

  • le défaut de respecter un ordre;
  • le fait d'entraver le travail d'un inspecteur; (c-à-d. sciemment lui donner de faux renseignements, le menacer, l'empêcher de pénétrer dans le lieu de travail, refuser de lui fournir de l'aide ou de l'information);
  • l'émission d'un ordre d'arrêt des travaux;
  • des infractions répétées (un contrevenant reçoit des ordres pour la même infraction);
  • des infractions susceptibles d'entraîner une blessure critique ou un décès;
  • la gravité de l'infraction.

On peut envisager une poursuite contre toute partie présente au lieu de travail qui a causé un accident ou une infraction. Les parties présentes au lieu de travail, notamment les employeurs, superviseurs et travailleurs, peuvent être responsables individuellement ou partager la responsabilité.

L'objet de la poursuite est la dissuasion : la dissuasion du contrevenant (dissuasion d'une personne en particulier) et des autres contrevenants éventuels (dissuasion générale).

Sommaire

À compter du 30 juin 2006, toutes les opérations agricoles qui ont des travailleurs rémunérés devront se conformer à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et aux règlements d'application. La LSST repose sur un Système de responsabilité interne (SRI), fondé sur le principe selon lequel les parties présentes au lieu de travail sont bien placées pour assurer la santé et la sécurité de leurs travailleurs. Par conséquent, la LSST énonce des droits et des devoirs précis à l'intention des travailleurs, des superviseurs et des employeurs au regard de la santé et de la sécurité au travail. Un grand nombre de ressources peuvent aider les exploitants et les travailleurs agricoles à comprendre ces droits et devoirs ainsi qu'à établir et à maintenir un SRI efficace. La santé et la sécurité des travailleurs relèvent des parties présentes au lieu de travail.

L'inspecteur de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario veille au respect de la LSST et des règlements d'application. Il peut rendre visite à une opération agricole pour effectuer une inspection ou faire enquête sur une blessure fatale ou critique, une plainte concernant la santé et la sécurité ou un refus de travailler. Il peut donner un ordre s'il relève une infraction. Une réaction rapide et efficace aux ordres du ministère du Travail est la meilleure façon de rétablir la conformité du lieu de travail. Les ordres n'occasionnent pas d'amendes.

Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail peuvent entamer une poursuite dans certaines circonstances, notamment s'ils estiment qu'une contravention est liée à une blessure fatale, critique ou autre survenue à un travailleur. L'objet de la poursuite est la dissuasion : la dissuasion du contrevenant (dissuasion d'une personne en particulier) et des contrevenants éventuels (dissuasion générale).


[ 1 ] La LSST impose des devoirs à toutes les personnes qui exercent un contrôle sur le lieu de travail, le matériel et l'équipement ainsi que sur la gestion de la main-d'œuvre. La partie III de la loi énonce ces devoirs. Par exemple, l'employeur est tenu d'informer les travailleurs, de leur donner des directives et de les superviser tandis que l'employé est tenu d'adopter des méthodes de travail sécuritaires et conformes à la loi.

[ 2 ] On trouvera plus de détails sur les obligations des délégués à la santé et à la sécurité et des comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité au travail dans le document Santé et sécurité en milieu de travail : Guide à l'intention des comités mixtes et des délégués des opérations agricoles et dans le Règlement « Opérations agricoles ».

[ 3 ] Ces droits sont précisés à l'article 43 de la LSST.

[ 4 ] Blessure critique s'entend d'une blessure de nature grave qui, selon le cas; fait perdre connaissance; entraîne une perte importante de sang; comporte la fracture d'une jambe ou d'un bras, mais pas d'un doigt ni d'un orteil; comporte l'amputation d'une jambe, d'un bras, d'une main ou d'un pied, mais pas d'un doigt ni d'un orteil; comporte des brûlures sur une grande surface du corps; provoque la perte de la vue dans un oeil. R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 834.

[ 5 ] Par exemple, l'article 25(2)h) de la Loi déclare que « l'employeur prend toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur ».