Print This Page

Fatalities and Immediate Response (FAIR) Policy

Contact protocol with families of workers who have been fatally injured in the workplace


  • Issued: January 2010
  • Revised: March 2012
  • Content last reviewed: September 2015

What is FAIR?

When a worker is fatally injured at a workplace, the manager of the Ministry of Labour (MOL) inspector who is investigating the fatality will contact the family of the deceased by letter within three weeks of the date of the incident.

The manager will follow up with a phone call to the family of the deceased within three weeks of the date of the incident to express their condolences and answer any questions the family may have regarding the MOL’s role in the investigation/prosecution process.

The letter will provide the family with general information regarding the MOL’s investigation process and prosecution process along with the contact information for the manager and Regional Director who can be contacted at any time if the family has questions or concerns.

The Regional Director will contact the family within six months of the date of the fatality to update the family on the status of the investigation and inform the family if and when charges are laid unless circumstances specific to the investigation require the Regional Director to extend this timeline.

The manager will maintain contact with the family periodically during the course of the investigation, the prosecution (if any) and the Coroner’s inquest (if any).

Periodic contact may include scheduling specific dates and times when the manager contacts the family by phone or meets with the family in person.

Managers understand that families cope with and experience grief in different ways and take this into account when determining frequency of contact with the family of the deceased.

Furthermore, managers will provide the family with contact information for other support and assistance services which can help the family cope with their loss. A contact list is provided at the back of this pamphlet.

During the investigation/prosecution process, the MOL manager will be as open and transparent as possible in providing the family of the deceased with appropriate information in a timely fashion without compromising the integrity of the investigation and any potential prosecution.

The investigation and possible prosecution: what the family should know

The MOL investigates all workplace fatalities to try to determine the cause of the incident and to identify preventative actions.

Once the investigation is complete, MOL staff will review the investigation report. If prosecution for violations of the Occupational Health and Safety Act is warranted, charges will be laid within one year of the date of the offence

The manager will inform the family if and when charges are laid and if charges are laid will provide the family with important court dates and contact information for the MOL lawyer handling the prosecution.

After the investigation/prosecution is complete a Coroner’s inquest may take place. The purpose of an inquest is to determine the circumstances of the death and to make recommendations to prevent any future workplace death in similar circumstances.

Note that the Coroner’s office is completely separate from the MOL. If a Coroner’s inquest takes place, the Coroner’s office will contact the family with the date and location of the inquest.

Freedom of Information

The MOL will not provide specific details about its investigation while the investigation is ongoing, or, if charges are laid, until the prosecution is complete.

After the investigation is complete and a determination has been made that no charges will be laid or, if charges are laid, after the prosecution has been completed, the family may obtain details of the investigation by making a Freedom of Information request from the Ministry of Labour’s Freedom of Information and Privacy office.

FAIR partnership

The FAIR partnership is a joint project of the Workplace Safety & Insurance Board (WSIB), the Ministry of Labour (MOL), Threads of Life, and the Office of the Worker Adviser (OWA). Its goal is to provide timely and comprehensive assistance to survivors following a traumatic workplace fatality. Some of the services provided by the partners include:

  • A WSIB Crisis Intervention Counsellor contacts the family within 48 hours of the fatality and will make appropriate referrals to the MOL, OWA, Threads of Life, and other community resources;
  • Advice and representation in workplace insurance matters;
  • How to access information through the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA);
  • Bereavement counselling; and
  • Material resources to orient families to administrative processes that follow
  • a fatality or life-altering injury/illness and assist them in understanding those processes.

Helpful Contacts

Ministry of Labour

400 University Avenue, 14th Floor
Toronto, ON M7A 1T7
Toll-free telephone: 1-877-202-0008
Website: www.labour.gov.on.ca

Freedom of Information and Privacy Office
(Ministry of Labour)
Telephone: 416-326-7786

Workplace Safety and Insurance Board

Telephone: 416-344-1000
Toll-free telephone: 1-800-313-7373
Website: www.wsib.on.ca
E-mail: wsibcomm@wsib.on.ca

Office of the Worker Adviser

Toll-free telephone: 1-800-435-8980
Website: www.owa.gov.on.ca
E-mail: webowa@ontario.ca

Office of the Chief Coroner and Ontario Forensic Pathology Service

25 Morton Shulman Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M3M 0B1
Telephone: 416-314-4000
Toll-Free: 1-877-991-9959
Email: occ.inquiries@ontario.ca

Threads of Life

Telephone: 519-685-4276
Toll-free telephone: 1-888-567-9490
Website: www.threadsoflife.ca

ISBN 978-1-4435-9891-0 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-9890-3 (PRINT)

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Politique d’aide concrète et de conseils éclairés aux survivants (ACCES)

Protocole de communication avec les familles de victimes d’accidents du travail mortels

En quoi consiste l’ACCES?

Lorsqu’une personne est victime d’un accident mortel au travail, le gestionnaire de l’inspecteur du ministère du Travail (MTR) qui enquête sur l’accident communique par écrit avec la famille en deuil dans les trois semaines suivant la date de l’accident.

Il ou elle effectue ensuite un suivi par un appel téléphonique à la famille dans les trois semaines suivant la date de l’accident pour exprimer ses condoléances et répondre aux questions que la famille pourrait se poser concernant le rôle du MTR dans le processus d’enquête ou de poursuite judiciaire.

La lettre donne à la famille des renseignements de nature générale sur le processus d’enquête et de poursuite du MTR ainsi que les coordonnées du gestionnaire et du directeur régional, que la famille peut contacter à tout moment en cas de questions ou de préoccupations.

Le directeur régional prendra contact avec la famille dans les six mois suivant la date du décès pour l’informer de l’avancement de l’enquête et lui indiquer si des accusations ont été déposées ou non, sauf si des circonstances particulières liées à l'enquête exigent que le directeur général prolonge ce délai.

Le gestionnaire communiquera régulièrement avec la famille tout au long de l’enquête, de la poursuite judiciaire (le cas échéant) et de l’enquête du coroner (le cas échéant).

Ce contact périodique peut comprendre des rendez-vous planifiés à l’avance, sous forme d’entretiens en personne ou téléphoniques.

Les gestionnaires sont conscients du fait que les familles vivent l’épreuve du deuil de différentes manières et en tiennent compte pour déterminer la fréquence des contacts avec la famille de la personne décédée.

Par ailleurs, les gestionnaires fourniront à la famille les coordonnées d’autres services de soutien et d’assistance susceptibles de l’aider à faire face à son deuil. Une liste de ressources est fournie au dos de ce dépliant.

Durant le processus d’enquête et de poursuite judiciaire (le cas échéant), le gestionnaire du MTR se montrera aussi ouvert et transparent que possible en fournissant sans retard à la famille de la personne décédée les renseignements appropriés, sans toutefois compromettre l’intégrité de l’enquête ou des poursuites éventuelles.

L’enquête et la poursuite judiciaire éventuelle : ce que la famille doit savoir

Le MTR enquête sur tous les décès liés au travail pour essayer d’en déterminer la cause et d’établir des mesures préventives.

À l’issue de l’enquête, le personnel du MTR examine le rapport d’enquête. Si la poursuite pour violations de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail est justifiée, des accusations sont déposées dans l’année qui suit la date de l’infraction.

Si des accusations sont déposées, le gestionnaire en informe la famille et lui indique les dates importantes d’audience ainsi que les coordonnées de l’avocat du MTR chargé de la poursuite judiciaire.

Lorsque l’enquête du MTR et les poursuites éventuelles sont terminées, le décès peut faire l’objet d’une enquête du coroner. Le but de cette enquête est de déterminer les circonstances du décès et de formuler des recommandations pour prévenir d’autres décès au travail dans des circonstances semblables.

Il est à noter que le Bureau du coroner est complètement séparé du MTR. Si une enquête du coroner a lieu, le Bureau du coroner communiquera avec la famille pour l’informer de la date et du lieu de l’enquête.

Accès à l’information

Le MTR ne donne aucun détail spécifique concernant son enquête lors du déroulement de celle-ci, ni avant l’issue de la poursuite judiciaire si des accusations sont déposées.

Une fois l’enquête terminée, s’il est conclu qu’il n’y a pas lieu de déposer une accusation, ou à l’issue de la poursuite judiciaire si des accusations sont déposées, la famille peut obtenir des détails sur l’enquête en présentant une demande d’accès à l’information auprès du Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection de la vie privée du ministère du Travail.

Partenariat pour l’ACCES

Le Partenariat pour l’aide concrète et les conseils éclairés aux survivants (ACCES) est un projet conjoint de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents de travail (CSPAAT), du ministère du Travail (MTR), de Threads of Life (en anglais seulement) et du Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs (BCT). Son but est de fournir une aide rapide et complète aux survivants à la suite d’un décès traumatique au travail. Les services fournis par les partenaires incluent ce qui suit :

  • Les services d’un conseiller d’intervention d’urgence de la CSPAAT qui communique avec la famille dans les 48 heures suivant le décès et l’oriente au besoin vers le ministère du Travail, le Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs, Threads of Life ou d’autres organismes communautaires;
  • Des conseils et une représentation pour les questions d’assurance contre les accidents du travail;
  • Des conseils pour l’accès à l’information en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée;
  • Du counseling pour personnes en deuil;
  • Des ressources pratiques pour orienter les familles dans les démarches administratives après un accident mortel ou des blessures ou une maladie ayant des conséquences vitales, et pour les aider à comprendre ces démarches.

Ressources utiles

Ministère du Travail

400, avenue University, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1T7
Ligne sans frais : 1 877 202-0008
Site Web : www.labour.gov.on.ca

Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection de la vie privée
(Ministère du Travail)
Téléphone : 416 326-7786

Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents de travail

Téléphone : 416 344-1000
Ligne d’appel sans frais : 1 800 313-7373
Site Web : www.wsib.on.ca
Courriel : wsibcomm@wsib.on.ca

Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs

Ligne sans frais : 1 800 661-6365
Site Web : www.owa.gov.on.ca
Courriel : webowa@ontario.ca

Bureau du coroner en chef

26, rue Grenville
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2G9
Téléphone : 416 314-4000

Threads of Life

Téléphone : 519 685-4276
Ligne sans frais : 1 888 567-9490
Site Web : www.threadsoflife.ca

Brochures multilingues