Print This Page

Alert: Temporary Aluminum Guard Rail Post Assembly

  • Issued: November 24, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: November 2015

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Ministry of Labour (MOL) personnel have encountered prefabricated aluminum guardrail post assemblies being used incorrectly as fall protection on construction sites. The assembly consists of a post with brackets for horizontal rails (top, intermediate and toe board) inserted into a base assembly which is itself attached to an existing structural member or work surface. A worker was fatally injured by a fall when this type of guardrail failed to protect the worker due to poor installation of the bracket to the work surface.


Photo of prefabricated aluminum guardrail brackets incorrectly mounted on roof

Figure 1: Improperly installed aluminum guard rails

Diagram of an aluminum guardrail showing the top rail, aluminum post, mid rail, bottom rail and aluminum bracket.

Figure 2: Aluminum guardrail post assembly

Hazard

The type of vertical hollow structural section (HSS) aluminum guardrail post and base assembly depicted may not be adequate to support the loads specified in subsection 26.3(5) of Ontario Regulation 213/91 (the Construction Projects Regulation). MOL personnel have encountered these guardrail systems being used on projects without any engineering drawings to indicate the limitations of the system and the maximum loads and load configuration for which the system was designed. Furthermore, there are sometimes no manufacturer’s instructions/documentation for installation requirements, installation procedures and method of securement and strength requirements of the member and structure to which it is ultimately attached. The employer should be able to provide documentation that the guardrail complies with the load requirements outlined in section 26.3(5) of the Construction Regulation.

Method of installation

MOL personnel have observed installation of this guardrail system that is not in compliance with the construction regulation including the following:

  • The toe board for this system has been spaced approximately 170 mm from the outside edge of the work surface, which is not in compliance with subsection 26.3(4), paragraphs 4.1 and 5, see figure 1. The legislation stipulates that the distance of the toe board shall not be greater than 300 mm from the inner edge of the work surface (not the outer edge where the post would be positioned beyond the edge of the work surface) and that it shall extend from the surface to which the guardrail system is attached to a height of at least 89 mm.
  • The vertical guard rail posts are inserted into the base brackets, so that the rail brackets face away from the work area.
  • The fasteners may pull through worn holes in the mounting bracket if the fastener heads are too small for the bracket’s worn holes. This allows the bracket to detach from the work surface while the fasteners remain embedded in the supporting structure. As per section 25 (1)(b) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act, the employer shall ensure that the equipment, materials and protective devices provided by the employer are maintained in good condition.

For the purposes of checking if the vertical aluminum post was strong enough to withstand the specified forces outlined in subsection 26.3(5), the capacity of an aluminum post assembly was calculated, and it was determined that the posts assembly may not be adequate to support the loads specified in subsection 26.3(5) of Ontario Regulation 213/91.

Required action

Recommended when procuring a new/used guardrail system

  • Make sure the guardrail system is supported by manufacturer’s instructions/documentation on how to install the system, including the anchoring requirements i.e., what base material and fasteners should be used.
  • Ensure that the manufacturer’s instructions/documentation provide details of the system’s limitations, and loads for which the system was designed or reference that the system complies with the prescribed requirements in subsection 26.3(5) of Ontario Regulation 213/91. Other details, such as size and type of fasteners to be used, supporting member dimensional requirements, welds, member sizes and material description, should be included in the manufacturer’s documentation.

Recommended steps during installation of the guardrail post

  • Check that the system has the dimensions required in subsection 26.3(4) of the Construction Regulation.
  • Check whether the aluminum components appear worn or damaged (bent posts, elongated or enlarged fastener holes, bent rail brackets, cracked welds, etc.).
  • Check that the posts are properly installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions. Check that there are no gaps between the edge of the working surface and the guardrail.
  • If there are no manufacturer’s instructions/documentation to review, or if there are serious concerns regarding the ability of the system to safeguard workers, either do not purchase the system, or obtain the advice of a professional engineer that the system meets the prescribed requirements in subsection 26.3(5) of Ontario Regulation 213/91.
  • Ensure that the system is installed strictly according to the manufacturer’s instructions or the engineer’s instructions.

For more information

Call our Health and Safety Contact Centre toll-free at 1-877-202-0008 or visit:

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN 1195-5228 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Montage de poteaux des garde-corps temporaires en aluminium

  • Diffusion : 24 novembre 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2015

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santè et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Le personnel du ministère du Travail (MTR) a observé des montages de poteaux de garde-corps en aluminium préfabriqués utilisés incorrectement à des fins de protection contre les chutes sur les chantiers de construction. Le montage consiste en un poteau muni d'équerres destinées à recevoir des traverses horizontales (traverse supérieure, traverse intermédiaire et plinthe de protection) inséré dans une base elle-même fixée à une composante de la structure déjà installée ou à une surface de travail. Un travailleur est décédé des suites de ses blessures après une chute lorsque ce type de garde-corps n'a pas réussi à le protéger à cause d'une piètre installation du support à la surface de travail.


Photo de supports en aluminium préfabriqués installés incorrectement sur un toit.

Figure 1 : Garde-corps en aluminium installé incorrectement


Diagramme d’un garde-corps  en aluminium indiquant la traverse supérieure, le poteau d’aluminium, la traverse intermédiaire, la traverse du bas et le support en aluminium

Figure 2 : Montage de garde-corps en aluminium

Dangers

Ces types de montage de poteaux verticaux en profilé de charpente creux (PCC) composés d'aluminium et de base pourraient ne pas convenir pour soutenir les charges énoncées au paragraphe 26.3 (5) du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91 (règlement sur les chantiers de construction) (en anglais seulement). Le MTR a observé de tels systèmes de garde-corps utilisés pour des projets sans dessins d'ingénieur indiquant les limites du système et les charges maximales ainsi que la configuration de la charge pour laquelle a été conçu le système. De plus, il arrive que le système ne soit accompagné d'aucun mode d'emploi/document du fabricant présentant les exigences et les procédures d'installation, ainsi que la méthode d'arrimage et les normes de résistance de la composante et de la structure à laquelle est arrivé le système. L'employeur devrait être en mesure de fournir des documents attestant que le garde-corps est conforme aux exigences relatives à la charge énoncées au paragraphe 26.3 (5) du règlement sur les chantiers de construction.

Méthode d'installation

Le personnel du MTR a observé que l'installation de ce système de garde-corps n'est pas conforme au règlement sur les chantiers de construction, notamment à l'égard de ce qui suit :

  • La plinthe de ce système est placée à une distance d'environ 170 mm de la bordure extérieure de la surface de travail, ce qui n'est pas conforme au paragraphe 26.3 (4), et aux articles 4.1 et 5 , voir la figure 1. La loi exige que la plinthe ne soit pas placée à plus de 300 mm de la bordure intérieure de la surface de travail (et non de la bordure extérieure auquel cas le poteau serait placé au-delà de la bordure de la surface de travail) et qu'elle se prolonge au-delà de la surface à laquelle le système de garde-corps est fixé jusqu'à une hauteur minimale de 89 mm.
  • Les poteaux verticaux du garde-corps sont insérés dans les supports de la base, de manière à ce que les équerres du garde-corps soient dirigées à l'opposé de la surface de travail.
  • Les attaches peuvent traverser les trous usés dans les supports de montage si leur tête est trop petite pour ceux-ci. Ainsi, le support peut se détacher de la surface de travail alors que les attaches restent fixées dans la structure de support. Conformément à l’alinéa 25 (1) b) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, l’employeur est tenu de veiller à ce que le matériel, les matériaux et les appareils de protection qu’il fournit soient maintenus en bon état.

Pour vérifier si le poteau vertical en aluminium avait suffisamment de résistance pour supporter les charges indiquées au paragraphe 26.3 (5), le MTR a calculé la capacité d'un montage de poteaux en aluminium et a déterminé que de tels montages pourraient ne pas convenir pour soutenir les charges indiquées au paragraphe 26.3 (5) du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91.

Mesure requise

Recommandée au moment de se procurer un système de garde-corps neuf/d'occasion

  • Assurez-vous que le système de garde-corps est accompagné d'un mode d'emploi / de documents du fabricant expliquant la manière de l'installer et présentant les exigences relatives aux ancrages, c.-à-d. le matériel de la base et les attaches à utiliser.
  • Assurez-vous que le mode d'emploi / les documents du fabricant fournissent des précisions quant aux limites du système et aux charges pour lesquelles a été conçu le système, ou une attestation que le système est conforme au paragraphe 26.3 (5) du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91. Les documents du fabricant devraient inclure des précisions supplémentaires, notamment la taille et le type d'attaches à utiliser, les exigences relatives aux composantes de soutien, les soudures, la taille des composantes et la description des matériaux.

Étapes recommandées pendant l'installation des poteaux du garde-corps

  • Assurez-vous que le système présente les dimensions exigées au paragraphe 26.3 (4) du règlement sur les chantiers de construction.
  • Vérifiez si les composantes en aluminium semblent usées ou endommagées (poteaux courbés, orifices destinés aux attaches étirés ou agrandis, équerres courbées, soudures fendillées, etc.).
  • Assurez-vous que les poteaux sont correctement installés, conformément au mode d'emploi du fabricant. Assurez-vous qu'il n'y ait pas d'espace entre la bordure de la surface de travail et le garde-corps.
  • Si vous ne pouvez examiner aucun mode d'emploi/document du fabricant, ou si vous avez des préoccupations importantes à l'égard de la capacité du système à protéger les travailleurs, n'achetez pas le système ou obtenez l'avis d'un ingénieur attestant que le système répond aux exigences énoncées au paragraphe 26.3 (5) du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91.
  • Assurez-vous que le système est strictement installé selon le mode d'emploi du fabricant ou les directives de l'ingénieur.

Pour plus d’information

Appelez l’InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail sans frais au 1 877 202-0008 ou consultez :

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISSN 1198-8770 (HTML)