Print Print This Page

Alert: Low Clearance of a Locomotive in a Construction Tunnel Boring Machine Gantry

  • Issued: July 30, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: July 2015

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Hazard summary

A locomotive operator sustained fatal head injuries when their head became trapped in a gap between two overhead beams of a tunnel gantry while the haulage locomotive was in motion.

During tunnel construction, a locomotive is often used to haul excavated material from the tunnel boring machine (TBM) to a vertical shaft for disposal. There may be limited overhead clearance between the haulage locomotive and the beams of the gantry that is set up behind the TBM to support electrical and mechanical equipment in smaller tunnels – i.e., those that are less than two metres in diameter (see Figure 1, Low Clearance Tunnel Boring Machine Gantry).

Figure 1: Configuration that led to the fatality – Low Clearance TBM Gantry (worker’s head shall not be allowed to protrude beyond the highest point of the adjacent structure on the locomotive)

Figure 1 shows a haulage locomotive pulling a muck cart. The operator's head protrudes above the top of the locomotive's highest point, which is the battery box. This must not occur as it  would allow for shear trap points where gaps between overhead steel beams are not covered.

Locations and sectors

Tunnel construction projects where a haulage locomotive is used.

Applicable regulatory requirements and additional precautions

On a construction project where haulage locomotives are used in tunnel construction, workplace parties must comply with the requirements set out in sections 93 to 99 and 306 to 313 of Ontario Regulation 213/91 (Construction Projects) under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA).

Regulation 213/91 requires that any tunnel must have enough clear space for the passage of vehicles, such as haulage locomotives, and the movement of workers. The Regulation also requires that a constructor or employer provide a cab or screen to protect a worker who is exposed to an overhead hazard while operating a vehicle.

Additional steps to protect workers pursuant to clause 25(2)(h) of the OHSA may also be required. Constructors and employers should consider other precautions (e.g., additional barriers/guards) to protect workers from other types of hazards (e.g., contact with other moving vehicles) which workers may be exposed to when operating a haulage locomotive in a tunnel. Other types of considerations to protect workers would include:

  • Conducting a hazard assessment regarding the risks and hazards for a worker operating a locomotive in areas with limited clearance.
  • Providing workers with protection by a seat belt, harness or other effective means of restraint during operation of the equipment.
  • Signage to warn workers of low clearance hazards, or automated devices to stop the locomotive in the event of a hazard.

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN 1195-5228

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Faible hauteur libre d'une locomotive dans un portique de tunnelier

  • Diffusion : 30 juillet 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2015

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santè et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Résumé du danger

Un conducteur de locomotive a subi des blessures mortelles à la tête lorsque celle-ci s'est trouvée coincée dans un vide entre deux poutres supérieures du portique d'un tunnelier pendant que la locomotive de traction s'y déplaçait.

Pendant la construction d'un tunnel, on utilise souvent une locomotive pour le transport des matériaux excavés par le tunnelier vers un puits vertical afin de les mettre au rebut. Il peut y avoir une hauteur libre limitée entre la locomotive de traction et les poutres du portique installé derrière le tunnelier pour soutenir le matériel électrique et mécanique dans les petits tunnels – c.-à-d. ceux qui font moins de deux mètres de diamètre (voir la figure 1, Portique de tunnelier à faible hauteur libre).

Figure 1 : Configuration ayant mené au décès – Portique de tunnelier à faible hauteur libre (la tête du travailleur ne doit pas dépasser le point le plus élevé de la structure adjacente sur la locomotive).

La figure 1 montre une locomotive de traction tirant un chariot de déblais. La tête du conducteur dépasse le plus haut point de la locomotive, le boîtier des batteries. Cette situation doit être évitée à tout prix, vu les risques que posent les points de coincement où les vides entre les poutres d’acier supérieures ne sont pas fermés.

Lieux et secteurs

Les chantiers de construction de tunnels où on utilise une locomotive de traction.

Exigences réglementaires applicables et précautions supplémentaires

Sur un chantier de construction où des locomotives de traction sont utilisées pour la construction de tunnels, les parties du lieu de travail doivent se conformer aux exigences énoncées aux articles 93 à 99 et 306 à 313 du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91 (chantiers de construction) (en anglais seulement) pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST).

Le Règlement 213/91 requiert que tout tunnel présente une hauteur libre suffisante pour assurer le passage de véhicules, comme les locomotives de traction, et le déplacement des travailleurs. Il requiert également qu'un constructeur ou un employeur fournisse une cabine ou un écran pour protéger un travailleur qui est exposé à un danger en surplomb pendant qu'il conduit un véhicule.

Des mesures supplémentaires de protection des travailleurs aux termes de l'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la LSST pourraient également être requises. Les constructeurs et les employeurs devraient envisager d'autres précautions (p. ex., des barrières/garde-corps supplémentaires) pour protéger les travailleurs contre d'autres types de dangers (p. ex., le contact avec d'autres véhicules en mouvement) auxquels les travailleurs peuvent être exposés lorsqu'ils conduisent une locomotive de traction dans un tunnel. Voici d'autres types de considérations visant la protection des travailleurs :

  • la réalisation d'une évaluation des dangers relativement aux risques et aux dangers auxquels est exposé un travailleur qui conduit une locomotive dans des zones à faible hauteur libre;
  • la protection des travailleurs à l'aide d'une ceinture de sécurité, d'un harnais ou d'un autre moyen efficace de retenue pendant l'utilisation du matériel;
  • des panneaux de signalisation afin d'aviser les travailleurs des dangers que présente une faible hauteur libre ou des dispositifs automatisés d'arrêt de la locomotive en cas de danger.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISSN 1198-8770