Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Termination and Severance

This workbook has been prepared to assist employers and employees in understanding some of their obligations and rights under the Employment Standards Act (ESA) and its regulations. It does not take the place of the ESA and its regulations and it should not be considered to offer any legal advice on your particular situation.

An employee is entitled to notice of termination (or termination pay instead of notice) if he or she has been continuously employed for at least three months. A person is considered “employed” not only while he or she is actively working, but also during any time in which he or she is not working but the employment relationship still exists (for example, time in which the employee is off sick or on leave or on lay-off).

The amount of notice to which an employee is entitled depends on his or her “period of employment”. An employee’s period of employment includes not only all time while the employee is actively working but also any time that he or she is not working but the employment relationship still exists, with the following exceptions:

  • if a lay-off goes on longer than a temporary lay-off, the employee’s employment is deemed to have been terminated on the first day of the lay-off – any time after that does not count as part of the employee’s period of employment, even though the employee might still be employed for purposes of the “continuously employed for three months” qualification;
  • if two separate periods of employment are separated by more than 13 weeks, only the most recent period counts for purposes of notice of termination.

It is possible, in some circumstances, for a person to have been “continuously employed” for three months or more and yet have a period of employment of less than three months. In such circumstances, the employee would be entitled to notice because an employee who has been continuously employed for at least three months is entitled to notice, and the minimum notice entitlement of one week applies to an employee with a period of employment of any length less than one year.

The following chart specifies the amount of notice required:

Amount of Notice Required
Period of Employment Notice Required
Less than one year One week
One year or more but less than three years Two weeks
Three years or more but less than four years Three weeks
Four years or more but less than five years Four weeks
Five years or more but less than six years Five weeks
Six years or more but less than seven years Six weeks
Seven years or more but less than eight years Seven weeks
Eight years or more Eight weeks

Note: Special rules determine the amount of notice required in the case of mass terminations – where 50 or more employees’ employment is terminated at an employer's establishment within a four-week period. For more information see the chapter on “Termination of Employment” in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

Defining Termination of Employment

There are a number of expressions that describe ending employment. A few of them are "let go," "discharged," "dismissed," "fired" and "permanently laid off."

In most cases, when an employer ends the employment of an employee who has been continuously employed for at least three months, the employer must provide the employee with written notice of termination. Alternatively, the employer could provide termination pay instead of notice, or a combination of notice and termination pay (please see IMPORTANT NOTE below).

Under the Employment Standards Act (ESA), a person's employment is terminated if the employer:

  1. Dismisses or stops employing an employee, including when an employee is no longer employed due to employer bankruptcy or insolvency
  2. Constructively dismisses[1] an employee and the employee resigns, in response, within a reasonable time; and/or
  3. Lays an employee off for a period that is longer than a temporary lay-off.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If termination pay instead of notice or a combination of notice and termination pay is given, the total amount of pay received must be equal to the total amount that the employee would have received had full notice been given. The Termination Tool, can help you determine the amount of termination pay that may be owed.

If an employee has not been continuously employed for at least three months, there is no obligation to provide either notice of termination or termination pay. An employer is not required to give an employee a reason why his or her employment is being terminated. There are, however, some situations where an employer is prohibited from terminating an employee's employment even if the employer is prepared to give proper written notice or termination pay.

View an Example

Close

An employer cannot end someone's employment (or penalize him or her in any other way) if any part of the reason for the termination is based on the employee asking questions about, or exercising a right under, the ESA, such as:

  • refusing to work in excess of the daily or weekly hours of work maximums; or
  • taking a leave of absence to which he or she is entitled.

This is called reprisal. A reprisal is a serious violation of the Act and can be costly for an employer.

An employment standards officer could issue an order requiring reinstatement or compensation for any loss that the employee suffers, or both. Please see the chapter on “Reprisals” in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.


Requirements During the Statutory Notice Period: Termination

During the statutory notice period, an employer:

  • must not reduce the employee's wage rate or alter any other term or condition of employment;
  • must continue to make required contributions to the employee's benefit plans; and
  • must, for each week, pay the employee the wages he or she is entitled to (if in any week the employee earns less than the amount of his or her regular wages for a regular work week, he or she must still be paid the amount of his or her regular wages for a regular work week.)

Regular Wages

These are wages other than overtime pay, vacation pay, public holiday pay, premium pay, termination pay, severance pay and certain contractual entitlements.

IMPORTANT NOTE: For more information, see the Employment Standards Act, s.5 (2).

Regular Work Week

For an employee who usually works the same number of hours every week, a regular work week is a week of that many hours, not including overtime.

Some employees do not work the same number of hours every week or are paid on a basis other than time. For them, regular wages for a regular work week is the average amount of regular wages earned in the 12 weeks in which the employee worked preceding the date of notice or, if no notice was given, the termination date.

An employer is not allowed to require an employee to take vacation during the statutory notice period unless the employee, after receiving written notice of termination, agrees in writing to take his or her vacation time during the notice period.

How to Provide Notice

In most cases, notice of termination of employment must:

  • be in writing
  • addressed to the employee; and
  • provided to him or her:
    • in person;
    • by mail (if the method of mail delivery permits delivery to be verified);
    • by fax or email (if the employee is equipped to receive fax or email);
    • by courier; or
    • in a sealed envelope at the employee’s residence with a person who appears to be at least 16 years old.

There are special rules for providing notice of termination to employees whose employment contract or collective agreement provides seniority rights, allowing an employee who is to be laid off or terminated to displace (“bump”) another employee.

In that case, the employer may post a notice in a conspicuous part of the workplace, where it will be seen by the employees, setting out the name(s), seniority, job classification and proposed lay-off or termination date of the employee(s). The notice is considered to be notice of termination, as of the date of the posting, to any employee who is bumped by the employee(s) named in the notice.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This notice of termination must still meet the length of notice requirements set out in the ESA.

Mass Termination

Special rules for notice of termination may apply when the employment of 50 or more employees is terminated at an employer's establishment within a four-week period. This is often referred to as mass termination.

Note that an establishment, with respect to an employer, means a location where the employer carries on business. When the employer carries on business at more than one location, separate locations are considered one establishment when:

  • the separate locations are located within the same municipality, or
  • one or more employees at a location have seniority rights that extend to the other location under a written employment contract whereby the employee or employees may displace ("bump") another employee of the same employer.

If a mass termination occurs, the employer must complete and submit a Form 1 (Notice of Termination of Employment) to the Ministry of Labour’s Director of Employment Standards. Notice of mass termination is not effective until the Director of Employment Standards has received the employer’s completed Form 1. A letter of acknowledgement is sent out to the employer when the completed Form 1 has been received by the Director of Employment Standards.

In addition to providing employees with individual notices of termination (or a posted notice where bumping is possible, as discussed above), the employer must post a copy of the Form 1 that was provided to the Director of Employment Standards in the workplace where it will come to the attention of the employees, on the first day of the notice period.

The amount of notice employees must receive in a mass termination is not based on the employees' length of employment, but on the number of employees whose employment is being terminated in the same four-week period. An employer must give:

  • 8 weeks' notice if the employment of 50 to 199 employees is to be terminated.
  • 12 weeks' notice if the employment of 200 to 499 employees is to be terminated.
  • 16 weeks' notice if the employment of 500 or more employees is to be terminated.

For more information on mass terminations, see the chapter on “Termination of Employment” in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

Exceptions to the Mass-Termination Rules

The mass-termination rules do not apply if:

  1. the number of employees whose employment is being terminated represents not more than 10 per cent of the employees who have been employed for at least three months at the establishment; and
  2. none of the terminations are caused by the permanent discontinuance of all or part of the employer's business at the establishment.

Helpful Tips

Severance Pay

Severance pay is not the same as termination pay, which is given in place of the required notice of termination of employment. Severance pay is compensation that is paid by an employer to a qualified employee who has his or her employment severed. It compensates an employee for loss of seniority and the value of firm-specific skills, and recognizes his or her long service.

To calculate the amount of severance pay an employee is entitled to receive, multiply the employee's regular wages for a regular work week by the sum of:

  • the number of completed years of employment; and
  • the number of completed months of employment divided by 12 for a year that is not completed.

The maximum amount of severance pay required to be paid under the ESA is 26 weeks.

When Severance Occurs

A person's employment is "severed" when his or her employer:

  • Dismisses or stops employing the employee, including where an employee is no longer employed due to the bankruptcy or insolvency of his or her employer;
  • Constructively dismisses[1] the employee, who resigns in response within a reasonable time;
  • Lays the employee off for 35 or more weeks in a period of 52 consecutive weeks;
  • Lays the employee off because the employer permanently discontinues all of the business at an establishment (remember that an establishment can, in some circumstances, include more than one location); or
  • Gives the employee written notice of termination and the employee resigns after giving the employer two weeks' written notice, and the resignation takes effect during the statutory notice period.

Wrongful Dismissal

The rules under the Employment Standards Act (ESA) about termination and severance of employment are minimum requirements. An employee may have greater entitlements under common law, which he or she might choose to enforce by suing the employer in court for wrongful dismissal. The ESA prohibits an employee from both suing an employer in court for wrongful dismissal and pursuing a claim for termination pay and/or severance pay with the ministry, if the lawsuit and the claim relate to the same termination or severance of employment (although the ESA does provide that an employee who files a claim can still sue if he or she withdraws the claim within two weeks of filing it). Note that the fact that the employer has provided notice of termination or termination pay, or severance pay, in accordance with the ESA does not mean that the employee cannot sue for wrongful dismissal. Employees and employers may wish to obtain legal advice concerning their rights and obligations.

Helpful Tips

  • To see a more detailed discussion on when an employee’s employment is considered severed, the chapter on “Severance Pay” in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.
  • To determine whether you have an obligation to pay severance pay and the amount owing, please see the Severance Tool.

Previous | Next

[1]For more information on constructive dismissals, see the chapter on “Termination of Employment” in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

Questions? Call the Employment Standards Call Centre at 1-800-531-5551

Please complete our survey.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Licenciement et cessation d'emploi

Le présent guide a été préparé pour aider les employeurs et les employés à comprendre un certain nombre de leurs droits et obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) et ses règlements. Il ne remplace pas la LNE et ses règlements et vous ne devriez pas considérer qu’il vous offre des conseils juridiques sur votre situation particulière.

Un employeur est tenu de remettre à un employé un préavis de licenciement (ou une indemnité de licenciement, tenant lieu de préavis) si l’employé compte au moins trois mois de service continu au sein de l’entreprise. On estime qu’une personne est un « employé » pendant que son emploi est effectif, mais aussi pendant qu’elle ne travaille pas du moment que la relation d’emploi existe toujours (par exemple, pendant qu’elle est en congé de maladie ou qu’elle a été mise à pied).

Le délai de préavis auquel l’employé a droit dépend de la « période d’emploi » de l’employé. Pour calculer la période d’emploi de l’employé, on prend en compte les périodes d’emploi effectif et toute période pendant laquelle il ne travaillait pas et où la relation de travail existait toujours, sauf dans le cas des exceptions suivantes :

  • Si un employé est mis à pied pour une période plus longue que la période de mise à pied temporaire, on estime que l’employé a été licencié au premier jour de la mise à pied. La période commençant ce jour-là ne sera pas prise en compte dans le calcul de la période d’emploi de l’employé, même si cette période permet de lui donner le statut d’employé au service de l’entreprise depuis « au moins trois mois sans interruption ».
  • Si deux périodes d’emploi sont séparées de plus de 13 semaines, seule la période la plus récente sera prise en compte dans le cadre de la détermination du délai de préavis de licenciement.

Dans certaines circonstances, il est possible qu’une personne soit « employée sans interruption » depuis au moins trois mois, mais que sa période d’emploi soit de moins de trois mois. Dans de telles circonstances, l’employé a droit à un préavis parce que tout employé ayant été au service d’un employeur depuis au moins trois mois sans interruption a droit à un préavis. Le délai de préavis minimum d’une semaine s’applique à tout employé au service de l’employeur depuis moins d’un an.

Le tableau ci-dessous indique les exigences relatives aux délais de préavis :

Période d’emploi Délai de préavis
moins d’un an une semaine
au moins un an, mais moins de trois ans deux semaines
au moins trois ans, mais moins de quatre ans trois semaines
au moins quatre ans, mais moins de cinq ans quatre semaines
au moins cinq ans, mais moins de six ans cinq semaines
au moins six ans, mais moins de sept ans six semaines
au moins sept ans, mais moins de huit ans sept semaines
au moins huit ans huit semaines

Nota : Des règles spéciales relatives aux préavis de licenciement peuvent s’appliquer en cas de licenciement collectif – lorsque 50 employés ou plus d’un même établissement sont licenciés au cours d’une période de quatre semaines. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le chapitre intitulé « Licenciement » de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.

Définition de licenciement

Il existe bon nombre d’expressions servant à décrire les situations dans lesquelles on met fin à un emploi, notamment « mettre à pied », « remercier », « renvoyer », « congédier » et « débaucher ».

Dans la plupart des cas, l’employeur qui souhaite licencier un employé qui est à son service depuis au moins trois mois sans interruption doit fournir à ce dernier un préavis écrit de licenciement, une indemnité de licenciement ou les deux (veuillez vous reporter au contenu de l’encadré « IMPORTANT » ci dessous).

En vertu de la Loi sur les normes d’emploi (LNE), une personne est licenciée lorsque son employeur :

  1. la renvoie ou cesse de l’employer, y compris pour cause de faillite ou d’insolvabilité de l’employeur;
  2. la licencie de manière implicite[1] et qu’elle démissionne dans un délai raisonnable;
  3. la met à pied pendant une période plus longue que celle d’une mise en disponibilité temporaire.

[1] Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les licenciements implicites, veuillez consulter le chapitre intitulé « Licenciement » de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.


IMPORTANT : Si l’employeur verse une indemnité de licenciement au lieu de remettre un avis de licenciement ou un avis et une indemnité, le montant total à verser doit correspondre au montant total que l’employé aurait touché s’il avait reçu un avis formel. L’Outil de licenciement peut vous aider à calculer le montant d’indemnités de licenciement.

Si un employé compte moins de trois mois de service continu au sein de l’entreprise, son employeur n’est pas tenu de lui remettre un avis de licenciement ou une indemnité de licenciement. L’employeur n’est pas tenu de fournir à l’employé les motifs de son licenciement. Il existe toutefois certaines situations dans le cadre desquelles un employé ne peut être licencié, même si l’employeur est prêt à fournir un préavis écrit ou une indemnité de licenciement appropriés.

Exemple

Un employeur ne peut licencier (ni pénaliser de quelque façon que ce soit) un employé en raison du fait qu’il pose des questions au sujet de la LNE ou qu’il exerce ses droits en vertu de la LNE, notamment :

  • en refusant de travailler des heures en sus de la limite quotidienne ou hebdomadaire prescrite par la LNE;
  • en prenant un congé prévu par la LNE auquel l’employé a droit.

Ce serait user de représailles, ce qui constitue une violation grave de la LNE qui peut s’avérer coûteuse pour l’employeur.

Un agent des normes d’emploi pourrait ordonner que l’employé soit réintégré dans son affectation ou indemnisé pour toute perte subie, ou les deux. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le chapitre intitulé « Représailles » de Votre guide de la oi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.


Exigences pendant le délai de préavis prévu par la loi : licenciement

Pendant le délai de préavis prévu par la loi, l’employeur :

  • doit maintenir le taux salarial et les conditions d’emploi de l’employé;
  • doit continuer à verser les cotisations aux régimes d’avantages sociaux de l’employé;
  • doit, pour chaque semaine, verser à l’employé le salaire auquel il a droit (si, pour une semaine, l’employé gagne moins que le montant prévu aux termes de son salaire normal pour une semaine de travail normale, il doit quand même recevoir le montant de son salaire normal pour une semaine de travail normale).

Salaire normal

Il s’agit du salaire de l’employé, excluant la rémunération des heures supplémentaires, l’indemnité de vacances, le salaire d’un jour férié, le salaire majoré, l’indemnité de licenciement, l’indemnité de cessation d’emploi ainsi que certaines sommes prévues en vertu d’un contrat.


IMPORTANT : Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le paragraphe 5(2) de la Loi sur les normes d’emploi.

Semaine de travail normale

Pour un employé qui travaille habituellement le même nombre d’heures chaque semaine, il s’agit d’une semaine de travail de ce nombre d’heures, à l’exclusion des heures supplémentaires.

Certains employés ne travaillent pas le même nombre d’heures chaque semaine ou ne sont pas rémunérés selon un taux horaire. Pour ces employés, le salaire normal pour une semaine de travail normale équivaut à la moyenne du salaire gagné au cours des 12 semaines travaillées immédiatement avant la date de remise de l’avis ou la date de licenciement si aucun avis n’a été remis.

Un employeur n’a pas le droit d’exiger qu’un employé prenne ses vacances durant la période de préavis prévue par la loi, à moins que, après avoir reçu un préavis écrit de licenciement, l’employé accepte de prendre ses vacances durant cette période.

Remettre un avis

Dans la plupart des cas, le préavis de licenciement doit être :

  • donné par écrit;
  • adressé à l’employé;
  • remis à l’employé :
    • en personne;
    • par la poste (à condition qu’il soit possible d’en confirmer la réception);
    • par télécopieur ou par courriel (à condition que l’employé ait l’équipement nécessaire pour recevoir des télécopies ou des courriels);
    • par service de messagerie; ou
    • dans une enveloppe scellée laissée à la résidence de l’employé, à une personne qui semble être âgée d’au moins 16 ans.

Des règles spéciales déterminent la façon de remettre un préavis de licenciement dans le cas où le contrat de travail ou la convention collective des employés leur confère des droits d’ancienneté selon lesquels un employé qui est mis à pied ou licencié peut prendre la place d’un autre employé.

Dans ce cas, l’employeur peut afficher, à un endroit qui sera vu par les employés sur le lieu de travail, un avis indiquant les nom, ancienneté et classe de poste des employés touchés par l’éventuel licenciement, ainsi que la date prévue de la mise à pied ou du licenciement. Cet avis sera considéré comme un préavis de licenciement (à compter de la date d’affichage) à tout employé remplacé par un autre employé nommé dans l’avis.


IMPORTANT : Cet avis de licenciement doit toutefois respecter les délais de préavis prévus par la LNE.

Licenciement collectif

Des règles spéciales relatives aux préavis de licenciement peuvent s’appliquer lorsque 50 employés ou plus d’un même établissement sont licenciés au cours d’une période de quatre semaines. On appelle souvent cette situation un licenciement collectif.

À noter que, lorsqu’il fait référence à un employeur, le terme « établissement » désigne un emplacement où l’employeur mène ses activités. Si un employeur mène ses activités à plus d’un emplacement, on considère ces emplacements différents comme un même établissement :

  • s’ils sont situés dans la même municipalité, ou
  • si au moins un employé de l’un de ces emplacements bénéficie de droits d’ancienneté qui s’étendent à l’autre emplacement en vertu d’un contrat de travail écrit et qui confèrent le droit à cet employé ou à ces employés de remplacer un autre employé du même employeur.

Lorsqu’un employeur entend procéder à un licenciement collectif, il doit remplir le Formulaire 1 (Préavis de licenciement) et le soumettre au directeur des normes d’emploi du ministère du Travail. L’avis de licenciement collectif ne sera pas considéré comme valide le directeur des normes d’emploi n’aura pas reçu le Formulaire 1 dûment rempli par l’employeur. Une lettre accusant la réception du formulaire est envoyée par le directeur des normes d’emploi après réception du Formulaire 1 dûment rempli.

En plus de remettre un préavis de licenciement à chacun des employés visés (ou d’afficher un avis dans le cas où un employé remplace un autre employé, comme expliqué ci-dessus), l’employeur doit afficher bien en vue sur les lieux de travail une copie du Formulaire 1 envoyé au directeur des normes d’emploi le premier jour de la période d’avis.

Le délai de préavis à donner aux employés dans le cadre d’un licenciement collectif ne se fonde pas sur la durée d’emploi des employés, mais sur le nombre d’employés licenciés au cours de la même période de quatre semaines. Un employeur doit donner :

  • un préavis de 8 semaines dans le cas d’un licenciement de 50 à 199 employés;
  • un préavis de 12 semaines dans le cas d’un licenciement de 200 à 499 employés;
  • un préavis de 16 semaines dans le cas d’un licenciement de 500 employés ou plus.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les licenciements collectifs, veuillez consulter le chapitre intitulé « Licenciement » de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.

Exceptions aux règles relatives au licenciement collectif

Les règles relatives au licenciement collectif ne s’appliquent pas :

  1. lorsque le nombre d’employés licenciés ne représente pas plus de 10 % du total des employés qui travaillent depuis au moins trois mois à l’établissement;
  2. lorsqu’aucun des licenciements ne découle de l’interruption permanente d’une partie ou de la totalité des activités de l’employeur dans cet établissement.

Liens utiles

  • Pour obtenir des détails sur l’avis et l’indemnité de licenciement, veuillez consulter le chapitre intitulé « Licenciement » de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.
  • Pour savoir si vous devez verser une indemnité de licenciement et, le cas échéant, pour connaître le montant à verser, utilisez le Calculateur de l’indemnité de licenciement.

Indemnité de cessation d’emploi

L’indemnité de cessation d’emploi diffère de l’indemnité de licenciement, qui est remise à la place du préavis de licenciement requis. L’indemnité de cessation d’emploi est un montant d’argent versé par un employeur à certains employés qui perdent leur emploi. Elle compense la perte d’ancienneté d’un employé, et reconnaît la valeur des compétences propres à l’entreprise qu’il a acquises ainsi que ses années de service.

Pour calculer le montant de l’indemnité de cessation d’emploi auquel l’employé a droit, l’employeur multiplie le salaire normal que touche l’employé durant une semaine normale de travail par la somme des deux nombres suivants :

  • le nombre d’années complètes de service;
  • et, pour les années partielles, le nombre de mois de service, divisé par 12.

Le montant maximal de l’indemnité de cessation d’emploi que l’employeur doit verser à un employé aux termes de la LNE est de 26 semaines.

Situations de cessation d’emploi

Il y a « cessation d’emploi » si l’employeur :

  • congédie l’employé ou cesse de l’employer, y compris en raison de la faillite ou de l’insolvabilité de l’employeur;
  • congédie « implicitement »[1] l’employé et ce dernier démissionne en conséquence dans un délai raisonnable;
  • met à pied l’employé pendant au moins 35 semaines au cours d’une période de 52 semaines consécutives;
  • met à pied l’employé parce que l’employeur cesse de façon permanente toutes les activités d’un établissement (l’établissement peut, dans certaines circonstances, comprendre plus d’un emplacement); ou
  • remet un avis de licenciement écrit à l’employé et ce dernier démissionne après avoir donné un préavis écrit de deux semaines, et la démission entre en vigueur durant le délai de préavis prévu par la loi.

Congédiement injustifié

Les règles de la LNE s’appliquant au licenciement et à la cessation d’emploi sont des règles minimales. Un employé peut avoir des droits supérieurs en vertu de la common law et peut décider de les faire respecter en poursuivant son employeur devant un tribunal pour congédiement injustifié. La LNE ne permet pas à un employé d’intenter de poursuite contre son employeur pour congédiement injustifié et, en même temps, de déposer une réclamation pour obtenir une indemnité de licenciement ou de cessation d’emploi auprès du ministère si la poursuite et la réclamation concernent le même licenciement ou la même cessation d’emploi (bien que la LNE permet à un employé qui dépose une réclamation pour obtenir une indemnité de licenciement ou de cessation d’emploi puisse intenter une poursuite contre son employeur s’il retire sa demande dans les deux semaines suivant son dépôt). À noter également : le fait que l’employeur ait remis un préavis de licenciement ou versé une indemnité de licenciement et de cessation d’emploi conformément à la LNE ne signifie pas que l’employé ne pourra pas intenter de poursuite pour congédiement injustifié. Les employés et les employeurs peuvent consulter un avocat afin de connaître leurs droits et obligations.

Liens utiles

  • Pour obtenir des détails sur l’avis et l’indemnité de licenciement, veuillez consulter le chapitre intitulé « Indemnité de cessation d’emploi » de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.
  • Pour savoir si vous devez verser une indemnité de licenciement et, le cas échéant, pour connaître le montant à verser, utilisez le Calculateur de l’indemnité de licenciement.

précédent | suivant

[1]Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les licenciements implicites, veuillez consulter le chapitre intitulé « Licenciement » de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.

Des questions? Communiquez avec le Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi au 1 800 531-5551.

Veuillez remplir notre sondage.