Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Introduction

This workbook has been prepared to assist employers and employees in understanding some of their obligations and rights under the Employment Standards Act (ESA) and its regulations. It does not take the place of the ESA and its regulations and it should not be considered to offer any legal advice on your particular situation.

Who is the Workbook for?

This Workbook is a tool designed to help Ontario employers and employees understand and comply with the Employment Standards Act (ESA), which sets out minimum standards that workplace parties have to follow.

How is it useful?

Thousands of employment standards claims are filed each year. Some of these complaints result in hundreds of businesses being prosecuted each year in Ontario.

In a Claim or an Inspection

If an employee files an employment standards claim against an employer, the employer will receive a notice from the Ministry of Labour. Sometimes a claim can be settled without an investigation. This Workbook may help both employers and employees understand whether a claim is valid and determine the best way to resolve it.

The Employment Standards Program conducts proactive inspections. Businesses are selected using various methods, such as randomly, or based on sector or past claims history, etc. If a violation is found, a variety of enforcement tools may be issued such as: a Compliance Order, a Notice of Contravention or an Order to Pay; there could also be a Certificate of Offence issued or other prosecution initiated under the Provincial Offences Act. The inspection will generally include a review of the employer’s payroll records, and interviews with the employer and a number of employees.

How do I use the Workbook?

The Workbook has been designed with a busy person in mind – you! It addresses some of the core standards that make up the Employment Standards Act (ESA). The Workbook presents the information in a clear and understandable way for easy reading.

However, the Workbook does not cover every obligation and right found in the ESA and its regulations. Consulting Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000 will provide you with more complete information on these topics.

The 11 standards covered in this Workbook:

  1. The ESA Poster
  2. Payment of Wages and Wage Statements
  3. Deductions from Wages
  4. Record Keeping
  5. Hours of Work
  6. Eating Periods
  7. Overtime Pay
  8. Minimum Wage
  9. Public Holidays
  10. Vacation with Pay
  11. Termination and Severance

Additional resources found in each chapter:

  • Important links
  • Examples and exercises to help you
  • Checklists
  • Interactive tools

Before getting started, here are some helpful hints:

  • We strongly suggest that you refer to the Special Rule Tool, which will help you determine if your industry or occupation is exempt from a standard or subject to a special rule. This, and other tools, can be found at Ontario.ca/ESAtools.
  • If you wish to speak to someone about your specific situation, please contact our Employment Standards Information Centre toll-free at 1-800-531-5551 from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. Service is available in multiple languages.
  • Certain industries are not covered by the ESA, but by federal law. For more information, see this list of Federally Regulated Businesses and Industries.

Previous | Next

Questions? Call the Employment Standards Call Centre at 1-800-531-5551

Please complete our survey.

Le présent guide a été préparé pour aider les employeurs et les employés à comprendre un certain nombre de leurs droits et obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) et ses règlements. Il ne remplace pas la LNE et ses règlements et vous ne devriez pas considérer qu’il vous offre des conseils juridiques sur votre situation particulière.

À qui s’adresse ce guide?

Ce guide est un outil conçu pour aider les employeurs et les employés de l’Ontario à comprendre la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) et à s’y conformer. La LNE établit les exigences minimales que doivent respecter les parties présentes dans le lieu de travail.

En quoi est-il utile?

Des milliers de plaintes liées aux normes d’emploi sont déposées chaque année. De ces plaintes, des centaines donnent lieu à des poursuites en justice contre des entreprises ontariennes.

Dans un contexte de plainte ou d’inspection

Si un employé dépose une plainte liée aux normes d’emploi contre un employeur, l’employeur recevra un avis du ministère du Travail à cet effet. Il arrive parfois qu’une plainte se règle sans enquête. Ce guide peut aider les employeurs et les employés à savoir si une plainte est avérée et, le cas échéant, à trouver la meilleure façon de la régler.

Le Programme des normes d’emploi prévoit des inspections proactives. Le choix des entreprises à inspecter s’effectue de diverses façons, par exemple selon le secteur en raison du nombre de réclamations déposées antérieurement ou de façon aléatoire. Si une infraction est constatée, diverses mesures d’application de la loi peuvent être prises, notamment un ordre de conformité, un avis de contravention ou un ordre de paiement; un procès-verbal d’infraction pourrait être délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales ou un procès ou d’autres formes de poursuites prévues par la même loi pourraient être engagées. L’inspection comprend habituellement une étude des feuilles de paye de l’employeur ainsi que des entretiens avec l’employeur et avec un certain nombre d’employés.

Comment utiliser ce guide?

Ce guide a été conçu pour les personnes qui, comme vous, sont très occupées. Il traite d’un certain nombre de normes essentielles comprises dans la Loi sur les normes d’emploi (LNE). L’information y est présentée de façon claire et succincte, de manière à en faciliter la lecture.

À noter toutefois que le guide ne traite pas de tous les droits et obligations prévus par la LNE et ses règlements. Le document Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi vous fournira des renseignements plus détaillés en la matière.

Les 11 normes abordées dans ce guide :

  1. Affiche sur la LNE
  2. Versement des salaires et relevés de paye
  3. Retenues salariales
  4. Tenue de dossiers
  5. Heures de travail
  6. Pauses-repas
  7. Rémunération des heures supplémentaires
  8. Salaire minimum
  9. Jours fériés
  10. Vacances payées
  11. Licenciement et cessation d’emploi

Ressources supplémentaires fournies dans chaque chapitre

  • Liens importants
  • Exemples et exercices
  • Listes de vérification
  • Outils interactifs

Quelques conseils avant d’aller plus loin

  • Nous vous conseillons fortement de consulter l’Outil de règles spéciales qui vous aidera à déterminer si votre secteur ou emploi est exempté d’une norme ou est visé par une règle spéciale. Cet outil et d’autres outils sont disponibles à l’adresse Ontario.ca/outilsLNE.
  • Si votre cas est particulier et que vous avez besoin d’aide, veuillez communiquer avec notre Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi, sans frais, au 1 800 531-5551, de 8 h 30 à 17 h, du lundi au vendredi. Ce service est disponible dans plusieurs langues.
  • Certains secteurs ne sont pas visés par la LNE, mais bien par la législation fédérale. Pour plus d'information, consultez cette liste des industries et entreprises sous réglementation fédérale.

précédent | suivant

Des questions? Communiquez avec le Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi au 1 800 531-5551.

Veuillez remplir notre sondage.