Print This Page

Your Rights @ Work

  • Issued: April 27, 2012
  • Content last reviewed: June 2016

See also: What Young Workers Should Know | Young Workers | Disclaimer

There are over 1.5 million young people aged 15 to 24 working across Ontario. If you're one of them, read this now.

Standards at Work

A law called the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) sets minimum standards for things like pay, hours and time off. Most workplaces in Ontario must follow this law and your rights are the same whether you work full-time or part-time.

Payday

young workers

You should have a regular pay period and payday. You should also receive a wage statement (pay stub) that includes: your gross and net wage (after deductions), your pay period and your wage rate, if applicable (e.g. $15/Hr). Any deductions, like EI, taxes and Canada Pension Plan must be noted. For more information on payment of wages, visit Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

Minimum Wage

Most employees are entitled to be paid at least the minimum wage. A general minimum wage applies to most employees. There are different minimum wages for students, liquor servers, homeworkers, and hunting and fishing guides. To find out the current minimum wages visit: Minimum Wage

Tips and other Gratuities

Employers cannot withhold tips and other gratuities from employees or make deductions from their employees’ tips to cover things like spillage, breakage, losses or damage, etc. However, employers can make deductions from employees’ tips and other gratuities if it is authorized by statute or a court order, or if the amount will be distributed to other employees as part of a tip pool. For more information visit Tips and Gratuities.

Working Time, Rest and Eating periods

There are limits to the number of hours you can be required or allowed to work. In addition, you are entitled to a certain number of hours free from work and to be provided with eating periods.

Overtime is payable after 44 hours in most jobs. Overtime pay is at least 1.5 times your normal hourly rate. Hours of Work and Overtime Tool

young worker

Public Holidays

There are nine public holidays in Ontario. Generally, your right is to have these days off work with public holiday pay. These rights begin when you start your job. For more information on public holidays, visit Public Holidays or try our Public Holiday Pay Calculator.

If You Lose Your Job

After working for an employer continuously for three months, most employees must receive advance notice in writing and/or termination pay when their employer ends their employment. The amount of notice depends on how long they have worked for the employer. To learn more, visit Termination of Employment, or try our Termination Tool.

Your employer does not have to provide a reason for ending your employment but it cannot be for such things as:

  • Asking about your Employment Standards rights (this is called reprisal)
  • Refusing to work in excess of the daily and weekly hours of work maximums.

More information on reprisals.

The Employment Standards Top Ten

For more information on the rights listed below, please visit Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

  1. It should be in writing.

    Expect a regular pay day and a pay stub that is clear. Make sure to keep a record of the hours that you work.

  2. How do you like my uniform?

    Some employers require you to pay for items like personal uniforms as a condition of having a job. However, deductions like these from your wages may only be made if you agree in writing to have a specified amount deducted. Ask about any special requirements before accepting a job.

  3. Deductions not allowed

    If a customer leaves without paying or your error costs your employer money, that amount cannot be deducted from your wages. That amount can also not be deducted from your tips and other gratuities.

  4. Where’s the Poster?

    Your employer should have the Employment Standards Poster hanging where you can read it. Do they? Your employer is also required to provide you with a copy of the poster within 30 days of hiring you. Did they?

  5. What is work time?

    Time spent in training that is required by the employer or by law is counted as work time. If you have to transport materials from the workplace to another job site, that is work time too. To learn more, try our Hours of Work and Overtime Tool.

  6. Can I be required to work on a Public Holiday?

    If you work in a hotel, motel, tourist resort, restaurant, tavern, hospital or an establishment with continuous operations, you may be required to work on a public holiday. Learn more at Ontario.ca/publicholidays.

  7. Sometimes there’s an exception

    Some jobs have special rules or exemptions. To learn more, try our Special Rule Tool.

  8. What’s my vacation pay?

    Vacation pay is at least 4% of wages (excluding vacation pay). Any vacation pay that is not paid is owed to you when your employment ends. Learn more at Vacation.

  9. Are you a "Temp"?

    If you work for a temp agency, you generally have the same rights as other employees under the ESA, including public holiday pay and notice of termination. To learn more, visit Your Employment Standards Rights: Temporary Help Agency Assignment Employees

  10. Call us if you need us.

    Employment Standards Information Centre
    416-326-7160 (Greater Toronto Area)
    1-800-531-5551 (Toll-free Canada-wide)
    1-866-567-8893 (TTY for hearing impaired)
    Information is available in multiple languages.

Workplace
Warning Signs

  • Not getting paid on time
  • No pay stub
  • Not paid for extra hours
  • No time to eat
  • No public holiday pay
  • Unexplained deductions from your pay

Learn More

By visiting our website for more resources, tools, and videos.

Employment Standards
Young Workers

Employment Insurance

Employment Insurance (EI) provides temporary financial assistance to individuals who qualify. EI is run by the federal government.
Toll-free: 1-800-206-7218
TTY: 1-800-529-3742

"Safety at Work
is Everyone’s Job"

For Occupational Health & Safety as well as Employment Standards information, see Young Workers

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help employees and employers understand some of the minimum rights and obligations established under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the ESA or regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation. Although we endeavor to ensure that the information in this resource is as current and accurate as possible, errors do occasionally occur. The ESA provides minimum standards only. Some employees may have greater rights under an employment contract, collective agreement, the common law or other legislation. Employers and employees may wish to obtain legal advice.

Imprimer cette page

Vos droits au travail

  • Diffusion : 27 avril 2012
  • Révision : 20 mai 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2015

Voir aussi : Ce que les jeunes travailleurs doivent savoir | Jeunes travailleurs | Avis de non-responsabilité

Plus de 1,5 million de jeunes âgés de 15 à 24 ans travaillent en Ontario. Si vous êtes parmi eux, lisez ce qui suit.

Les normes d’emploi

La Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi établit les normes minimales à respecter pour des choses comme le salaire, les heures de travail, les pauses-repas et les périodes de repos. La plupart des lieux de travail en Ontario doivent observer cette loi. Et vos droits sont les mêmes que vous travailliez à temps plein ou à temps partiel.

Jour de paie

jeune travailleur

Vous devriez avoir une période de paie normale et un jour de paie normal durant cette période. Vous devriez aussi recevoir un relevé de salaire (talon de chèque de paie) sur lequel sont indiqués : votre salaire brut, votre salaire net (c’est le salaire brut moins les retenues), votre période de paie et votre taux de salaire (p. ex., 15 $ de l’heure), s’il y a lieu. Les retenues (p. ex., pour l’assurance-emploi, l’impôt et le Régime de pensions du Canada), s’il y en a, doivent y être notées. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le versement du salaire, consultez Ontario.ca/guideLNE.

Vous faire payer

La plupart des employés ont le droit de recevoir au moins le salaire minimum. Le salaire minimum général s’applique à la plupart des employés. Des taux de salaire minimum différents s’appliquent aux étudiants, aux serveurs de boissons alcoolisées, aux travailleurs à domicile et aux guides de chasse et de pêche. Pour obtenir les taux actuels de salaire minimum, rendez-vous à Ontario.ca/salaireminimum.

Heures de travail, périodes de repos et pauses-repas

Vous ne pouvez pas travailler et on ne peut pas vous demander de travailler plus qu’un certain nombre d’heures. Vous avez également droit à des pauses-repas, ainsi qu’à un certain nombre d’heures de repos.

Pour la plupart des emplois, les heures supplémentaires commencent à compter au-delà de 44 heures de travail. Elles sont rémunérées, au minimum, à votre taux de salaire normal majoré de 50 % (temps et demi). Ontario.ca/heuresdetravail

jeune travailleur

Jours fériés

Il y a neuf jours fériés en Ontario. En général, vous avez le droit à un jour de congé payé ces jours-là. Ce droit commence dès que vous commencez un emploi. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les jours fériés, consultez Ontario.ca/joursferies ou essayez notre Calculateur du salaire pour jour férié.

Si vous perdez votre emploi

Après avoir été au service d’un employeur continuellement durant trois mois, la plupart des employés doivent recevoir un préavis écrit ou une indemnité de licenciement (ou les deux) lorsque leur employeur met fin à leur emploi. La période de préavis est déterminée d’après la durée du service chez l’employeur. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Ontario.ca/licenciement ou essayez notre Outil de licenciement.

Votre employeur n’a pas à vous donner la raison pour laquelle il met fin à votre emploi, mais il ne peut pas vous licencier pour les raisons suivante :

  • parce que vous avez voulu connaître vos droits garantis par la Loi sur les normes d’emploi
  • parce que vous avez refusé de travailler audelà du nombre maximum d’heures de travail par jour ou par semaine.

Information supplémentaires sur les représailles.

Les 10 normes d’emploi les plus importantes

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les droits indiqués ci-dessous, veuillez consulter : Ontario.ca/guideLNE

  1. Il faut que ce soit mis par écrit

    Vous avez droit à un jour de paie normal et à un relevé de salaire qui est clair. N’oubliez pas de noter par écrit les heures que vous avez travaillées

  2. Que pensez-vous de mon uniforme ?

    Un employeur pourrait vous engager à condition que vous payiez de votre poche pour des articles personnels comme un uniforme. Notez toutefois qu’il ne peut pas retenir la somme en question de votre paie, à moins que vous ayez accepté par écrit que cette somme soit retenue de votre salaire. Avant d’accepter un emploi, demandez à votre employeur s’il a des exigences particulières

  3. Retenues non autorisées

    Si un client quitte l’établissement où vous travaillez sans payer ou si votre erreur entraîne des frais pour votre employeur, cette somme ne peut pas être retenue de votre salaire.

  4. Où est l’affiche ?

    Votre employeur doit placer l’affiche sur les normes d’emploi dans un endroit où vous pou­vez la voir. Le fait-il ? Votre employeur doit aussi vous remettre un exemplaire de l'affiche dans les 30 jours suivant votre embauche. L'a-t-il fait?

  5. Qu’est-ce que le temps de travail ?

    Le temps consacré à la formation requise par votre employeur ou par la loi compte pour du temps de travail. Si vous devez transporter des choses de votre lieu de travail à un autre lieu de travail, cela est aussi compris dans le temps de travail. Pour en savoir plus, essayez notre Outil pour les heures de travail et les heures supplémentaires affiché à Ontario.ca/heuresdetravail.

  6. Peut-on m’obliger à travailler un jour férié ?

    Si vous travaillez dans un hôtel, un motel, une station touristique, un restaurant, une taverne, un hôpital ou un établissement à fonctionnement ininterrompu, vous pourriez avoir à travailler un jour férié. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Ontario.ca/joursferies

  7. Il y a parfois des exceptions

    Certains emplois ont des normes d’emploi particulières ou des exceptions. Pour en savoir plus, essayez notre Outil de vérification des règles spéciales.

  8. Quelle est mon indemnité de vacances ?

    L’indemnité de vacances doit représenter au moins 4 % de votre salaire (sans l’indemnité de vacances elle-même). Toute indemnité de vacances que vous doit votre employeur doit vous être versée lorsque votre emploi prend fin. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Ontario.ca/vacances

  9. Travaillez-vous pour une agence de placement temporaire ?

    les mêmes droits que ceux qui sont garantis aux autres employés en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d’emploi. Cela comprend les jours fériés rémunérés et le préavis de licenciement. En savoir plus.

  10. Appelez-nous si vous avez besoin de nous

    Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi
    416 326-7160 (région du grand Toronto)
    1 800 531-5551 (sans frais partout au Canada)
    1 866 567-8893 (ATS pour personnes malentendantes)
    Des renseignements sont offerts en diverses langues.

Signes que vos droits au travail ne sont peut-être pas respectés

  • Vous n’êtes pas payé au jour prévu
  • Vous ne recevez pas de relevés de salaire
  • Vous n’êtes pas rémunéré pour les heures supplémentaires
  • Vous n’avez pas de pauses-repas
  • Vous n’avez pas reçu une indemnité de vacances
  • Une somme a été retenue de votre paie sans que vous sachiez pourquoi

Pour en savoir plus

Vous trouverez, à notre site Web, d’autres ressources ainsi que des outils, des vidéos et des balados (podcasts).

Ontario.ca/normesdemploi
Ontario.ca/jeunestravailleurs

Assurance-emploi

L’assurance-emploi offre un soutien financier temporaire aux personnes admissibles. L’assurance-emploi est gérée par le gouvernement fédéral.
Appel sans frais : 1 800 206-7218
ATS : 1 800 529-3742

"La sécurité au travail, c’est l’affaire de tout le monde."

Pour des renseignements sur les normes d’emploi et la santé et la sécurité au travail, consultez Ontario.ca/jeunestravailleurs.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource a été élaborée pour aider les employés et les employeurs à comprendre certains des droits et obligations minimums institués par la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE) et les règlements connexes. Elle ne constitue pas un avis juridique. Elle n'a pas vocation à se substituer à la LNE ou aux règlements connexes et il est recommandé de toujours se référer à la version officielle des dispositions législatives. Bien que nous nous efforcions de veiller à ce que les renseignements figurant dans la présente ressource soient les plus actuels et les plus exacts possible, des erreurs s'y glissent parfois. La LNE fournit uniquement des normes minimums. Certains employés sont susceptibles de jouir de meilleurs droits aux termes d'un contrat de travail, d'une convention collective, de la common law ou d'autres dispositions législatives. Les employeurs et les employés pourraient juger utile d'obtenir un avis juridique.