Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Personal Emergency Leave

  • Revised: November 21, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: November 2014

This guide is provided for your information and convenience only. It is not a legal document. For complete information, refer to the Employment Standards Act, 2000 and its regulations.

Some employees have the right to take up to 10 days of unpaid job-protected leave each calendar year due to illness, injury and certain other emergencies and urgent matters. This is known as personal emergency leave.

Regularly Employ 50 or More Employees

Only employees who work for employers that regularly employ at least 50 employees are eligible for personal emergency leave. When determining whether the 50-employee threshold has been met, all employees of the employer are counted. It is the number of employees that is counted, not the number of "full-time equivalents." Part-timers and casual employees are all included as one employee each in the count.

When a single employer has multiple locations, all employees employed at each location in Ontario are to be counted.

Example

An employer owns 5 sandwich shops with 12 employees employed in each shop. This employer regularly employs 60 employees. All employees at all 5 locations are entitled to personal emergency leave.

Reasons for Which an Unpaid Personal Emergency Leave May Be Taken

An employee who is entitled to personal emergency leave can take up to 10 days of unpaid leave due to:

  • Personal illness, injury or medical emergency,
    or
  • Death, illness, injury, medical emergency or urgent matter relating to the following family members:
    • A spouse [1];
    • A parent, step-parent, foster parent, child, step-child, foster child, grandparent, step-grandparent, grandchild or step-grandchild of the employee or the employee's spouse;
    • The spouse of the employee's child;
    • A brother or sister of the employee;
    • A relative of the employee who is dependent on the employee for care or assistance.

[1] Note: “spouse” includes both married and unmarried couples, of the same sex or the opposite sex.

Illness, Injury or Medical Emergency

All illnesses, injuries and medical emergencies of the employee or of a specified family member, as listed above, will qualify an employee for personal emergency leave. It does not matter whether the illness, injury or medical emergency was caused by the employee's own actions or by external factors beyond the employee's control. For example, an employee who sprained his knee while showing off to his friends when waterskiing would still be entitled to personal emergency leave, even though the injury was a result of his own carelessness.

Generally, employees are entitled to take personal emergency leave for pre-planned (elective) surgery. Although such surgery is scheduled ahead of time (and therefore not a medical "emergency"), surgeries performed because of an illness or injury will entitle an employee to personal emergency leave.

Employees are not entitled to personal emergency leave for medically unnecessary cosmetic surgery unrelated to an illness or injury.

Urgent Matter

An employee is eligible for personal emergency leave because of the death, illness, injury or medical emergency of, or an “urgent matter” concerning, a specified family member, as listed above. An urgent matter is an event that is unplanned or out of the employee's control, and raises the possibility of serious negative consequences, including emotional harm, if not responded to.

Examples of an "urgent matter":

  • The employee's babysitter calls in sick.
  • The house of the employee's elderly parent is broken into, and the parent is very upset and needs the employee's help to deal with the situation.
  • The employee has an appointment to meet with his or her child's counsellor to discuss behavioural problems at school. The appointment could not be scheduled outside the employee's working hours.

Examples of events that do not qualify as an urgent matter:

  • An employee wants to leave work early to watch his daughter's track meet.
  • An employee wants the day off in order to attend at her sister's wedding as a bridesmaid.

Interaction Between Personal Emergency Leave and Contracts that Provide Paid Sick Leave or Bereavement Leave

If a contract (which includes a collective agreement) provides a greater right or benefit than the personal emergency leave standard in the ESA, then the terms of the contract apply instead of the personal emergency leave provisions of the ESA.

If the contract does not provide a greater right or benefit than the personal emergency leave standard in the ESA, the personal emergency leave provisions of the ESA will apply to the employee. The ministry will not get involved in determining how the leave provisions of the contract are applied.

For example, a contract only provides three paid personal sick days and three paid bereavement leave days per year. It does not provide job-protected time off for any other reason. This contract does not provide a greater right or benefit than the ESA’s personal emergency leave provisions. This means that the employee will be entitled to 10 unpaid days of personal emergency leave per calendar year for any of the reasons listed in the ESA. If the employee takes 10 days of personal emergency leave for personal illness, the employee will have used up the entitlement under the ESA. Questions of whether any of those absences must be paid, and whether those absences draw down against the three paid sick leave days under the contract are not matters the ministry gets involved in answering.

Interaction Between Personal Emergency Leave, Family Caregiver Leave, Family Medical Leave, Critically Ill Child Care Leave, and Crime-related Child Death or Disappearance Leave

Personal emergency leave, family caregiver leave, family medical leave, critically ill child care leave, and crime-related child death or disappearance leave are different types of leaves. The purposes of the leaves, their length, the individuals with respect to whom they can be taken, and eligibility criteria vary.

See the respective chapters of this Guide for more information on each leave.

An employee may be entitled to more than one leave for the same event. Each leave is separate and the right to each leave is independent of any right an employee may have to the other leave(s).

Length of Personal Emergency Leave

Employees are entitled to up to 10 full days of personal emergency leave every calendar year, whether they are employed on a full time or part time basis.

There is no pro-rating of the 10-day entitlement. An employee who begins work part way through a calendar year is still entitled to 10 emergency days during the remainder of that year.

Employees cannot carry over unused personal emergency leave days to the next calendar year. The 10 days of personal emergency leave do not have to be taken consecutively. Employees can take personal emergency leave in part days, full days, or in periods of more than one day. If an employee takes only part of a day as personal emergency leave, the employer can count it as a full day of leave.

Example: Part-day personal emergency leave

Kevin’s employer regularly employs at least 50 employees. Kevin's daughter is sick and her doctor has scheduled some tests at the hospital. Kevin tells his employer that he has to be away from work in the morning to take his daughter for tests.

Kevin has the right to be on personal emergency leave for the half-day needed to take his daughter for the tests. His employer does not have to count the absence as a full day of leave but can if it wishes. Because Kevin only needed half of the day, he did not have the right to take the entire day off as personal emergency leave even if his employer counted the half-day absence as a full day of leave.

The employer can only count the half-day absence as a full day of leave for the purpose of determining whether Kevin's 10 day entitlement has been used up. For example, the employer still has to pay Kevin for the half day that he worked, and has to include the hours worked for the purpose of determining whether Kevin has worked overtime or has reached his daily or weekly limit on hours of work.

Notice Requirements

Generally, an employee must inform the employer before starting the leave that he or she will be taking a personal emergency leave of absence.

If an employee has to begin a personal emergency leave before notifying the employer, the employee must inform the employer as soon as possible after starting it.  Notice does not have to be given in writing. Oral notice is sufficient.

While an employee is required to tell the employer in advance that he or she is taking a leave (or, if this is not feasible, as soon as possible after starting the leave), the employee will not lose the right to take personal emergency leave if the employee fails to do so. An employer may discipline an employee who does not properly inform the employer, but only if the reason for the discipline is the failure to properly notify the employer and not in any way because the employee took the leave.

Proof of Entitlement

An employer may require an employee to provide evidence reasonable in the circumstances that he or she is eligible for a personal emergency leave of absence. What will be reasonable in the circumstances will depend on all of the facts of any given situation, such as the duration of the leave, whether there is a pattern of absences, whether any evidence is available, and the cost of the evidence.

Medical Notes where the Employee Was Away Because of Personal Illness, Injury or Medical Emergency

If the circumstances are such that it is reasonable for the employer to require the employee to provide a doctor's note, the employer can ask only for the following information:

  • The duration or expected duration of the absence,
  • The date the employee was seen by a health care professional,
  • Whether the patient was examined in person by the health care professional issuing the certificate.

Employers are not allowed to require information about the diagnosis or treatment of the medical condition of the employee.

Medical Notes Where the Employee Was Away Because of the Illness, Injury or Medical Emergency of a Specified Relative

The employer is not allowed to require a medical note in respect of the relative, nor can the employee be required to give details of the medical condition of the relative. The employer may only require the employee to disclose the name of the relative and his or her relationship to the employee, and to state that the absence was required because of the relative's injury, illness or medical emergency.

Rights During Leave

Employees who take personal emergency leave are entitled to the same rights as employees who take pregnancy or parental leave. For example, employers cannot threaten, fire or penalize in any other way an employee who takes or plans on taking a personal emergency leave. See "Rights During Pregnancy and Parental Leaves" in the Pregnancy and Parental Leave chapter.

Special Rule Regarding Personal Emergency Leave

Certain professionals may not take personal emergency leave where it would constitute an act of professional misconduct or a dereliction of professional duty. For a list of professions to which this special rule applies, please refer to the EMS, Healthcare, Health Professionals and the Government, White Collar, Professionals sections in the Special Rule Tool.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-4790-5 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-4791-2 (PDF)

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Congé d'urgence personnelle

  • Révision : 20 novembre 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2015

Ce guide ne vous est fourni qu’à titre indicatif. Il ne constitue pas un document juridique. Pour obtenir des renseignements complets, consultez la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi et ses règlements.

Certains employés ont le droit de prendre jusqu’à 10 jours de congé non payés avec protection de l’emploi chaque année civile en cas de maladie, de blessure et d’autres urgences. Ce type de congé est appelé congé d’urgence personnelle.

Entreprise comptant normalement 50 employés ou plus

Seuls les employés d’une entreprise comptant normalement au moins 50 employés ont droit à des congés d’urgence personnelle. On tient compte de tous les employés lorsqu’il s’agit de déterminer si l’exigence des 50 employés est respectée. Le nombre total d’employés est compté, et non uniquement le nombre d’équivalents à temps plein. Les employés à temps partiel et les employés occasionnels sont donc également pris en considération.

Lorsqu’un employeur possède divers établissements, la totalité des employés de chacun de ces établissements en Ontario doit être comptée.

Exemple

Un employeur possède 5 ateliers comptant chacun douze employés. L’entreprise emploie normalement 60 employés. Par conséquent, tous les employés des 5 ateliers ont droit à des congés d’urgence personnelle.

Motifs pour lesquels un congé d’urgence personnelle peut être pris

Un employé ayant droit à des congés d’urgence personnelle peut prendre jusqu’à 10 jours de congé non payés pour l’une ou l’autre des raisons suivantes : 

  • une maladie, une blessure ou une urgence médicale;
  • le décès, une maladie, une blessure, une urgence médicale ou une affaire urgente concernant des membres de sa famille, comme suit : 
    • un conjoint[1];
    • un parent, un beau-parent, un parent d’une famille d’accueil, un enfant, l’enfant d’un conjoint, un enfant placé en famille d’accueil, un grand-parent, un grand-parent par alliance, un petit-fils ou une petite-fille ou le petit-fils ou la petite-fille par alliance de l’employé ou du conjoint de l’employé;
    • le conjoint de l’enfant de l'employé;
    • le frère ou la soeur de l’employé;
    • un proche de l’employé nécessitant ses soins ou son aide.

[1]Remarque : le terme « conjoint »  s’applique aux couples homosexuels et hétérosexuels mariés et non mariés.

Maladie, blessure ou urgence médicale

Toute maladie, blessure et urgence médicale d’un employé ou d’un membre de sa famille précisé dans la liste ci-dessus rendra l’employé admissible à un congé d’urgence personnelle. Le fait que la maladie, la blessure ou l’urgence médicale découle d’actes de l’employé ou de facteurs externes hors de son contrôle est sans importance. À titre d’exemple, un employé ayant subi une entorse au genou en tentant d’impressionner ses amis en ski nautique aurait droit à un congé d’urgence personnelle, même si sa blessure découle de son imprudence.

En règle générale, les employés ont le droit de prendre un congé pour urgence personnelle pour subir une intervention chirurgicale prévue (non urgente). Les employés ont droit à un congé d’urgence personnelle pour subir une chirurgie en raison d’une maladie ou d’une blessure, même si ce type d’intervention est prévu à l’avance et ne constitue pas une « urgence » médicale.

Les employés n’ont pas droit à un congé d’urgence personnelle pour subir une chirurgie esthétique non nécessaire sur le plan médical et qui n’est pas liée à une maladie ou une blessure.

Affaire urgente

Un employé a droit à des congés d’urgence personnelle en raison du décès, de la maladie, de la blessure ou de l’urgence médicale d’un membre de sa famille qui fait partie des personnes susmentionnées. Une affaire urgente est une situation imprévue ou hors du contrôle de l’employé nécessitant une intervention afin d’éviter la possibilité de graves préjudices, notamment sur le plan émotif.

Exemples d’affaires urgentes :

  • La personne qui garde les enfants de l’employé se déclare malade.
  • On est entré par effraction dans la maison d’un parent âgé de l’employé. Le parent est très bouleversé et a besoin de l’aide de l’employé pour faire face à la situation.
  • L’employé doit rencontrer le conseiller pédagogique de son enfant afin de discuter de ses problèmes comportementaux à l’école. Le rendez-vous ne peut avoir lieu en dehors des heures de travail de l’employé.

Exemples de situations n’étant pas considérées comme des affaires urgentes :

  • Un employé souhaite quitter son travail plus tôt afin d’assister à la rencontre d’athlétisme de sa fille.
  • Une employée souhaite prendre une journée de congé pour assister au mariage de sa soeur à titre de demoiselle d’honneur.

Interaction entre les congés d’urgence personnelle et les contrats prévoyant des congés de maladie payés ou des congés pour décès

Si un contrat (y compris toute convention collective) prévoit de meilleurs droits ou avantages que ceux du congé d’urgence personnelle prévu par la Loi, les dispositions du contrat l’emportent.

Si le contrat ne prévoit pas de meilleurs droits ou avantages que ceux du congé d’urgence personnelle prévu par la Loi, les dispositions de cette dernière l’emportent et le ministère ne se prononcera pas sur l’application des dispositions du contrat.

Prenons l’exemple d’un contrat ne prévoyant que trois jours de congé de maladie et trois jours de congé pour décès payés par an et ne prévoyant pas d’autres congés avec protection de l’emploi. Ce contrat ne prévoit pas de meilleurs droits ou avantages que ceux des dispositions relatives au congé d’urgence personnelle de la Loi. Ainsi, l’employé aura droit à 10 jours de congé d’urgence personnelle non payés par année civile pour l’un ou l’autre des motifs énoncés dans la Loi. Si l’employé prend 10 jours de congé d’urgence personnelle pour des raisons de maladie, il aura pris tous les jours de congé auxquels il a droit en vertu de la Loi. La question de savoir si ces absences doivent être payées et appliquées aux trois jours de congé payés prévus par le contrat ne relève pas du ministère.

Interaction entre le congé d’urgence personnelle, le congé familial pour les aidants naturels, le congé familial pour raison médicale, le congé pour soins à un enfant gravement malade et le congé en cas de décès ou de disparition d’un enfant dans des circonstances criminelles

Le congé d’urgence personnelle, le congé familial pour les aidants naturels, le congé familial pour raison médicale, le congé pour soins à un enfant gravement malade et le congé en cas de décès ou de disparition d’un enfant dans des circonstances criminelles sont des types de congé distincts. Leur but, leur durée, les personnes pour lesquelles ils peuvent être pris et les critères d’admissibilité varient.

Consultez les chapitres du présent guide portant sur chacun de ces congés pour obtenir de plus amples détails.

Un employé peut avoir droit à plus d’un congé pour le même événement. Chaque congé est distinct des autres, et tout droit à l’un d’eux est indépendant du droit à un autre.

Durée du congé d’urgence personnelle

Les employés à temps plein et à temps partiel ont droit à un maximum de 10 jours de congé d’urgence personnelle par année civile.

Ce droit n’est pas établi en fonction d’un calcul au prorata. L’employé qui commence à travailler au milieu d’une année civile a droit à 10 jours de congé d’urgence personnelle au cours du reste de l’année.

Les employés ne peuvent reporter à l’année suivante les jours de congé d’urgence personnelle qu’ils n’ont pas pris. Il n’est pas nécessaire que les 10 jours de congé d’urgence personnelle soient pris consécutivement. Les employés peuvent prendre des congés en parties de journées, en journées complètes ou en périodes de plus d’une journée. L’employeur peut considérer une partie de journée prise en congé d’urgence personnelle comme une journée complète.

Exemple : Congé d’urgence personnelle de moins de une journée

L’employeur de Kevin emploie normalement au moins 50 employés. La fille de Kevin est malade et son médecin a décidé de lui faire passer certains examens à l’hôpital. Kevin informe son employeur qu’il devra manquer un avant-midi de travail pour amener sa fille passer ses examens.

Il est en droit de prendre cette demi-journée de congé. Son employeur n’est pas tenu de compter cette absence comme une journée de congé complète, mais il peut le faire. Comme Kevin a uniquement besoin d’une demi-journée, il n’a pas le droit de prendre une journée complète en congé d’urgence personnelle, même si son employeur décide de traiter la demi-journée comme une journée complète.

L’employeur peut compter la demi-journée d’absence comme une journée complète uniquement afin de déterminer si Kevin a pris les 10 journées de congé auxquelles il a droit. Ainsi, l’employeur doit payer Kevin pour la demi-journée qu’il a travaillé et tenir compte de ces heures pour déterminer s’il a effectué des heures supplémentaires ou s’il a atteint la limite d’heures de travail quotidiennes ou hebdomadaires.

Exigences en matière d’avis

En règle générale, les employés doivent informer d’avance leur employeur qu’ils souhaitent prendre un congé d’urgence personnelle.

Si un employé n’est pas en mesure d’avertir son employeur avant de commencer un congé d’urgence personnelle, il doit le faire aussitôt que possible après le début du congé. Il n’est pas nécessaire de fournir un avis écrit; un avis verbal suffit.

Bien que l’employé soit tenu d’informer son employeur avant de prendre un congé d’urgence personnelle (ou aussitôt que possible après avoir commencé un congé), il ne perd pas son droit à ce congé s’il omet de le faire. L’employeur peut prendre des mesures disciplinaires à l’égard de l’employé qui ne l’avise pas de manière appropriée, mais uniquement pour ce motif. En aucun cas l’employé ne peut être pénalisé parce qu’il a pris un congé.

Preuve d’admissibilité

L’employeur peut exiger de l’employé qu’il fournisse des preuves raisonnables dans les circonstances, s’il a droit à un congé d’urgence personnelle. Les preuves raisonnables dans les circonstances seront déterminées en fonction de l’ensemble des aspects d’une situation donnée, notamment la durée du congé, la fréquence des absences, l’existence de preuves et les coûts liés aux preuves.

Déclarations médicales dans les cas d’absence pour maladie, blessure ou urgence médicale

S’il se révèle raisonnable dans les circonstances d’exiger la présentation de la déclaration d’un médecin, l’employeur peut uniquement exiger les renseignements ci-dessous.

  • La durée réelle ou prévue de l’absence.
  • La date à laquelle l’employé a consulté un professionnel de la santé.
  • La confirmation que l’employé a été examiné en personne par le professionnel de la santé ayant émis le certificat.

Les employeurs ne peuvent exiger des renseignements sur le diagnostic ou le traitement relatifs au problème de santé de l’employé.

Déclarations médicales dans les cas d’absence en raison d’une maladie, d’une blessure ou d’une urgence médicale touchant un proche

L’employeur n’a pas le droit d’exiger la déclaration médicale relative à un proche ni des renseignements sur l’état de santé de ce dernier. L’employeur peut uniquement exiger de l’employé qu’il fournisse le nom du proche et explique son lien avec lui et qu’il lui fasse savoir que l’absence était nécessaire en raison d’une blessure, d’une maladie ou d’une urgence médicale touchant le proche.

Droits pendant un congé

L’employé qui prend un congé d’urgence personnelle jouit des mêmes droits qu’un employé qui prend un congé de maternité ou un congé parental. Ainsi, les employeurs ne peuvent menacer, congédier ou pénaliser de quelque façon que ce soit un employé qui prend ou prévoit prendre un congé d’urgence personnelle (consultez la section « Droits des employés qui prennent un congé de maternité et un congé parental » du chapitre relatif aux congés de maternité et aux congés parentaux.

Règle spéciale relative au congé d’urgence personnelle

Certains professionnels ne peuvent prendre de congé d'urgence personnelle, car cela serait considéré comme une faute professionnelle ou un manquement à leur devoir. On trouvera une liste des professions assujetties à cette règle spéciale dans les sections « SMU, soins de santé, professionnels de la santé » et « Gouvernement, cols blancs, professionnels » de l'Outil de vérification des règles spéciales.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-4793-6 (HTML)