Print This Page

Domestic Workers

What is the Employment Standards Act, 2000?

The Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) sets out minimum rights for most employees in Ontario workplaces. It includes standards on payment of wages, public holidays, hours of work, overtime pay, vacation time and pay, statutory leaves, and termination and severance entitlements. If you are an employee working in Ontario, you are probably covered by the ESA. However, some employees are not covered by the ESA and some employees who are covered by the ESA have special rules and/or exemptions that may apply to them. For more information, see the Special Rule Tool.

What are domestic workers?

Domestic workers are employed directly by householders, and not by a business or agency. An employee who is hired by a business, agency or any person other than the householder to perform homemaking services for a householder is classified as a 'homemaker' and subject to special rules and exemptions under the ESA. A householder is someone who owns or rents the home where the domestic work is done.

Domestic workers are hired to work in a private home. They do things such as housekeeping, or provide care, supervision or personal assistance to children or people who are elderly, ill or disabled.

Domestic workers have the same rights under the ESA whether they work part-time or full-time, and whether they live in or out of their employer's home.

A sitter who provides occasional, short-term care, supervision or personal assistance to children is not considered a domestic worker.

Does the ESA cover domestic workers?

Yes. Domestic workers have the same rights as other employees in Ontario workplaces under the ESA.

In the past, 'domestic servants' were exempt from a number of parts of the employment standards laws, while 'domestics' were exempt from others. There is no longer a distinction between a domestic and a domestic servant.

Does the ESA cover domestic workers who are temporary foreign workers?

The ESA generally applies to all employees working in Ontario, including temporary foreign workers.

In addition to the ESA, a domestic worker who is also a foreign national that is working or is seeking work in Ontario pursuant to an immigration or foreign temporary employee program is also covered by the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals Act, 2009 (EPFNA). For more information on this law, please see What is the EPFNA and does it cover domestic workers who are temporary foreign employees?

What rights do domestic workers have under the ESA?

The ESA contains rules on the following key subjects that apply to most employees in Ontario, including domestic workers:

  • minimum wage
  • regular payment of wages
  • hours of work protections (e.g., maximum hours of work, daily and weekly/biweekly rest periods)
  • overtime pay
  • vacation with pay
  • public holidays
  • pregnancy and parental leave
  • personal emergency leave (applies only to employees whose employer regularly employs at least 50 employees)
  • family caregiver leave
  • family medical leave
  • critically ill child care leave
  • organ donor leave
  • reservist leave
  • crime-related child death or disappearance leave
  • termination notice and/or pay in lieu of notice
  • severance pay
  • equal pay for equal work

Employers are required to provide their employees with a copy of the ministry’s Employment Standards Poster within 30 days of the date each individual becomes an employee.

If an employee requests a copy of the poster in a language other than English and the ministry has published a version in that language, the employer must provide the translated version in addition to the English copy.

English and French versions of the poster and multilingual versions are available online.

For details on all of the employment standards listed above to which domestic workers are entitled, please see Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

What is the minimum wage rate for domestic workers?

Minimum Wage Rate October 1, 2015
General Minimum Wage $11.25 per hour
Student Minimum Wage $10.55 per hour

The general minimum wage rate applies to domestic workers except to certain students.

Students under the age of 18:

  • who work no more than 28 hours a week when school is in session, or
  • who work during a school holiday (for example, March break, Christmas break, summer holidays)

are entitled to the student minimum wage. Students who work more than 28 hours a week when school is in session are entitled to the general minimum wage.

For more information see the chapter on “Minimum Wage” in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

Can an employer take into account the provision of room and meals to a domestic worker when calculating minimum wage?

Yes, but there are limits. Room and/or meals (board) will not be considered wages unless the employee has received the meals or occupied the room.

An employee's gross pay, before any deductions are made for such things as Canada Pension Plan (CPP), Employment Insurance (EI) and income tax, must add up to at least the minimum wage for all hours worked. However, the ESA and regulations provide that the following amounts are deemed to have been paid if the employer provides the employee with room or board or both:

Room (weekly)

  • private: $31.70
  • non-private: $0.00

In order to be deemed wages the room provided must be reasonably furnished, fit for human habitation, have access to proper toilet and wash basin facilities, and must be supplied with clean bed linen and towels.


  • each meal: $2.55
  • weekly maximum $53.55

Room and meals (board): weekly

  • private room: $85.25
  • non-private: $53.55 (this amount only applies to domestic workers)

The employer is deemed to have paid the employee the amount allowed for room and/or board once the room and/or board has been provided. At this point, the employer may factor these amounts into the calculation of the employee’s pay and to ensure that the employee is paid at least the minimum wage.


Diondra works 40 hours per week as a domestic worker and her regular hourly wage is $11.25 per hour, the general minimum wage. Therefore Diondra is entitled to $450 gross pay per week ($11.25 x 40). Her employer provides her with a private room and meals, and is therefore deemed to have paid Diondra $85.25 (weekly maximum allowed for room and board). In this scenario, Diondra’s pay calculation for the week would be:

$364.75 (regular wages) + $85.25 (room and board)
= $450 (which amounts to $11.25 x 40 hours)

What if the employer does not follow the ESA?

If an employee thinks the employer is not complying with the ESA, he or she can call the Employment Standards Information Centre at 416-326-7160 or toll free at 1-800-531-5551 for more information about the ESA and how to file a claim. Claims can be filed online and are investigated by an employment standards officer who can, if necessary, make orders against an employer-including an order to comply with the ESA.

What is the EPFNA and does it cover domestic workers who are temporary foreign employees?

If a domestic worker is also a foreign national who is working or seeking work in Ontario pursuant to an immigration or foreign temporary employee program, then he or she also has rights under the EPFNA.

The EPFNA prohibits recruiters from charging fees to foreign nationals; prevents employers from recovering placement costs from the foreign national; prohibits employers and recruiters from taking a foreign national’s property, including documents such as a passport or work permit; and prohibits a recruiter, an employer, or a person acting on their behalf from intimidating or penalizing a foreign national from asking about or exercising his or her rights under the EPFNA. Please visit the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals page for more information.

For more information or to file an ESA or EPFNA claim

Please note: Employers are prohibited from penalizing employees for asking about or exercising their ESA or EPFNA rights.

If you have questions about the ESA or the EPFNA, call the Ministry of Labour's Employment Standards Information Centre at 416-326-7160, toll free at 1-800-531-5551, or TTY 1-866-567-8893. Information is available in multiple languages.

Information on the ESA can also be found at the Employment Standards section of the Ministry of Labour's website. To file a claim, you can access the Employment Standards Claim Form online.

Information about the EPFNA, including an online Claim Form, can be found at the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals page.

ESA and EPFNA Claim Forms are available in hardcopy format at select ServiceOntario Centres. You may also order a copy through ServiceOntario Publications online, or by calling 1-800-668-9938; Hearing Impaired TTY 1-800-268-7095.

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help you understand some of the minimum rights and obligations established under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) and the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals Act, 2009 (EPFNA). It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the ESA, EPFNA or their regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation. Although we endeavor to ensure that the information in this resource is as current and accurate as possible, errors do occasionally occur. The ESA provides minimum standards only. Some employees may have greater rights under an employment contract, collective agreement, the common law or other legislation. You may wish to obtain legal advice.

Imprimer cette page

Travailleurs domestiques

En quoi consiste la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi?

La Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE) établit les droits minimaux des employé dans les lieux de travail de l'Ontario. Elle renferme des normes relatives au paiement du salaire, aux jours fériés, aux heures des travail, à la rémunération des heures supplémentaires, aux vacances et à l'indemnité de vacances, aux congés obligatoires, au licenciement et à la cessation d'emploi. Si vous travaillez en Ontario, vous êtes probablement couvert par la LNE. Toutefois, certains employés ne sont pas couverts par la LNE, tandis que des règles spéciales et des exemptions s'appliquent à certains autres employés couverts par la LNE. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez l'outil de vérification des règles spéciales.

Qu'est-ce qu'un « travailleur domestique »?

Un travailleur domestique est une personne employée directement par un chef de ménage, et non par une entreprise ou une agence. Un employé engagé par une entreprise, une agence ou toute personne autre qu'un chef de ménage en vue de fournir des services d'entretien pour ce chef de ménage est considéré comme un « travailleur à domicile » et assujetti à des règles spéciales et à des exemptions en vertu de la LNE. Le chef de ménage est celui qui possède ou loue le domicile où le travail domestique est effectué.

Les travailleurs domestiques sont embauchés pour travailler dans un domicile privé. Ils effectuent des tâches ménagères et prennent soin d'enfants ou de personnes âgées, malades ou handicapées.

Tous les travailleurs domestiques jouissent des mêmes droits en vertu de la LNE, qu'ils travaillent à temps partiel ou à temps plein et qu'ils vivent dans le domicile de l'employeur ou non.

Les gardiens d'enfants qui prennent soin d'enfants, les surveillent ou leur fournissent des services d'aide personnelle à l'occasion et pour une courte durée ne sont pas considérés comme des travailleurs domestiques.

La LNE s'applique-t-elle aux travailleurs domestiques?

Oui. Les travailleurs domestiques jouissent des mêmes droits que les autres personnes qui travaillent dans des lieux de travail visés par la LNE.

Auparavant, il y avait plusieurs catégories de domestiques et certaines dispositions de la LNE ne s'appliquaient pas à tous. Cela n'est plus le cas.

La LNE couvre-t-elle les travailleurs domestiques qui sont des travailleurs étrangers temporaires?

La LNE s'applique généralement à tous les employés qui travaillent en Ontario, y compris les travailleurs étrangers temporaires.

En plus de la LNE, un travailleur domestique étranger qui travaille ou cherche du travail en Ontario dans le cadre d’un programme d’immigration ou de travailleurs étrangers temporaires, a aussi des droits en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur la protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi (LPÉCE). Pour en savoir plus sur cette loi, consultez la question En quoi consiste la LPÉCE et s'applique-t-elle aux travailleurs domestiques qui sont des travailleurs étrangers temporaires? ci-dessous.

Quels droits la LNE accorde-t-elle aux travailleurs domestiques?

La LNE renferme certaines règles qui s'appliquent à la plupart des employés en Ontario, y compris les travailleurs domestiques :

  • Salaire minimum
  • Versement régulier du salaire
  • Protection relative aux heures de travail (par exemple, nombre maximal d'heures de travail, périodes d'inactivité quotidiennes, hebdomadaires et bimensuelles)
  • Rémunération des heures supplémentaires
  • Vacances payées
  • Jours fériés
  • Congé de maternité et congé parental
  • Congé d’urgence personnelle (il s'applique uniquement aux employés dont l’employeur emploie régulièrement au moins 50 personnes)
  • Congé familial pour les aidants naturels
  • Congé familial pour raison médicale
  • Congé pour soins à un enfant gravement malade
  • Congé pour don d'organe
  • Congé de réserviste
  • Congé en cas de décès ou de disparition d’un enfant dans des circonstances criminelles
  • Préavis de licenciement et l'indemnité
  • Indemnité de cessation d'emploi
  • Équité salariale

Les employeurs doivent fournir à leurs employés un exemplaire de l’affiche sur les normes d’emploi du ministère du Travail dans les 30 jours suivant leur date d'embauche.

Si un employé demande un exemplaire de l’affiche dans une autre langue que l’anglais et que le ministère a publié une version dans cette langue, l’employeur doit lui fournir cette version en plus de la version anglaise.

On trouve les versions en anglais et en français de l'affiche et des versions en d'autres langues en ligne.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les normes d’emploi indiquées ci-dessus qui s’appliquent également aux travailleurs domestiques, veuillez consulter Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.

Quel est le taux de salaire minimum pour les travailleurs domestiques?

Salaire minimum 1er octobre 2015
Salaire minimum général 11,25 $ l'heure
Salaire minimum des étudiants 10,55 $ l'heure

Le salaire minimum général s'applique aux travailleurs domestiques à l'exception de certains étudiants.

Les étudiants de moins de 18 ans qui :

  • travaillent 28 heures par semaine au maximum durant l'année scolaire; ou
  • travaillent durant un congé scolaire (le congé de mars, le congé de Noël, les vacances d'été, par exemple);

ont droit au salaire minimum des étudiants. Les étudiants qui travaillent plus de 28 heures par semaine durant l'année scolaire ont droit au salaire minimum général.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le chapitre consacré au salaire minimum dans Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.

Un employeur peut-il tenir compte du fait qu'il fournit une chambre et des repas à un travailleur domestique lorsqu'il calcule le salaire minimum?

Oui, mais il y a des limites. La chambre et les repas ne sont un salaire que si l'employé a reçu des repas ou occupé une chambre.

Le salaire brut de l'employé – c'est-à-dire avant toute retenue pour le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), l'assurance-emploi (AE) et les impôts sur le revenu – doit s'élever au moins au salaire minimum pour toutes les heures de travail effectuées. La LNE considère toutefois que les sommes suivantes ont déjà été versées à l'employé si l'employeur lui fournit une chambre ou des repas ou les deux.

Chambre (par semaine)

  • privée : 31,70 $
  • non privée : 0 $

Pour être considérée comme un salaire, la chambre fournie doit être raisonnablement meublée, pouvoir être occupée convenablement, comprendre un accès à une salle de bain ainsi qu'une literie et des serviettes propres.

Repas

  • chaque repas : 2,55 $
  • maximum par semaine : 53,55 $

Chambre et repas :  par semaine

  • privée : 85,25 $
  • non privée : 53,55 $ (ce montant ne s'applique qu'aux travailleurs domestiques)

L'employeur est réputé avoir payé à l'employé le montant prévu pour la chambre et les repas une fois que ceux-ci ont été fournis. À ce moment, l'employeur peut tenir compte de ces montants dans le calcul de la paie et s'assurer que l'employé est rémunéré au moins au salaire minimum.

Par exemple :

Diondra travaille 40 heures par semaine comme travailleuse domestique et son salaire horaire régulier est de 11,25 $ l'heure, soit le salaire minimum général. Diondra a donc droit à un salaire brut de 450 $ par semaine (11,25 $ x 40). Comme son employeur lui fournit une chambre privée et les repas, il est réputé avoir payé à Diondra 85,25 $ (montant maximum prévu pour la chambre et les repas). Dans ce cas, le calcul de la paie de Diondra sera effectué comme suit :

364,75 $ (salaire régulier) + 85,25 $ (chambre et repas)
= 450 $ (qui équivaut à 11,25 $ x 40 heures)

Que se passe-t-il si l'employeur ne respecte pas la LNE?

Si un employé pense que son employeur ne respecte pas la LNE, il peut appeler le Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi, au 416 326-7160 ou au 1 800 531-5551 (sans frais), pour obtenir de l’information sur la LNE et la façon de déposer une plainte. Les plaintes peuvent être effectuées en ligne et sont examinées par un agent des normes d'emploi qui, s’il le juge approprié, peut prendre une ordonnance à l’endroit d’un employeur, y compris une ordonnance l’obligeant à observer la LNE.

En quoi consiste la LPÉCE et s'applique-t-elle aux travailleurs domestiques qui sont des travailleurs étrangers temporaires?

Les travailleurs domestiques qui sont des étrangers qui travaillent ou cherchent du travail en Ontario dans le cadre d'un programme d'immigration ou de travailleurs étrangers temporaires, possèdent également des droits en vertu de la LPÉCE.

La LPÉCE interdit aux recruteurs de demander à des étrangers de payer des frais; empêche les employeurs de demander aux étrangers de leur rembourser les dépenses qu'ils ont engagées pour les embaucher; interdit aux employeurs et aux recruteurs de saisir des biens qui appartiennent à des étrangers, y compris des documents comme un passeport ou un permis de travail, et interdit aux recruteurs, aux employeurs et aux personnes qui agissent en leur nom d'intimider ou de pénaliser des étrangers parce qu'ils ont voulu connaître ou exercer leurs droits en vertu de la LPÉCE. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter la page Protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi .

Pour en savoir davantage ou déposer une réclamation en vertu de la LNE ou de la LPÉCE

Remarque : Il est interdit aux employeurs de pénaliser des employés parce qu'ils se renseignent à propos de leurs droits en vertu de la LNE ou de la LPÉCE ou parce qu'ils exercent ces droits.

Si vous avez des questions à propos de la LNE ou de la LPÉCE, veuillez appeler le Centre d'information sur les normes d'emploi du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario au 416 326-7160, sans frais au 1 800 531-5551, ou avec ATS au 1 866 567-8893. L'information est offerte dans plusieurs langues.

Vous trouverez aussi de l'information sur la LNE dans la section sur les normes d'emploi du site Web du ministère du Travail. Pour déposer une réclamation, vous pouvez accéder au formulaire de réclamation en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d'emploi en ligne.

Les formulaires de réclamation en vertu de la LNE ou de la LPÉCE sont aussi disponibles en format papier dans certains centres ServiceOntario. Vous pouvez également en obtenir un exemplaire par l'intermédiaire de ServiceOntario Publications, en ligne ou encore par téléphone, au 1 800 668-9938 ou au 1 800 268-7095 pour les malentendants (avec ATS).

Avis de non-responsabilité : Le présent document a été élaboré pour vous aider à comprendre certains des droits minimaux et des obligations prévus par la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE) et la Loi de 2009 sur la protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi (LPÉCE). Il ne constitue en rien un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la LNE, la LPÉCE ou leurs règlements d'application. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel. Bien que nous nous efforcions de faire en sorte que l'information soit à jour et exacte, des erreurs surviennent parfois. La LNE prévoit des normes minimales seulement. Certains employés peuvent bénéficier de droits supérieurs en vertu d'un contrat d'emploi, d'une convention collective, de la common law ou d'une autre loi. Vous pouvez consulter un avocat.