Print This Page

Agricultural Employees

This information sheet provides a summary of the rights of agricultural employees covered under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA). The ESA is a law that sets minimum standards in most Ontario workplaces, such as minimum wage and limits on hours of work. Special rules and exemptions apply to certain employees. For more information, see the Special Rule Tool.

In addition to the ESA, an agricultural employee who is also a foreign national that is working or seeking work in Ontario pursuant to an immigration or foreign temporary employee program also has rights under the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals Act, 2009 (EPFNA). For more information on this law, please visit the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals site.

Employers are required to provide all of their employees with a copy of the Employment Standards Poster published by the Ministry of Labour within 30 days of the date the individual becomes an employee.

If you request a translation of the poster in a language other than English and the ministry has published a version in that language, your employer must provide you with the translated version in addition to the English copy. English and French versions of the poster and multilingual versions are available online.

The ESA applies to all agricultural employees working in Ontario, including temporary foreign workers, however, not all of the rules and standards apply to every kind of agricultural employee. What rules and standards apply depends on what category of agricultural employee you fall into. In some cases, your work may fall into more than one category. In that case, how you spend most of your time in any specific work week determines which rules and standards apply.

There are four categories of agricultural employees

  1. Farm employees

  2. A farm employee is a person employed on a farm whose work is directly engaged in the primary production of certain agricultural products. Primary production includes planting crops, cultivating, pruning, feeding and caring for certain livestock.

    What rights do farm employees have under the ESA?

    • Regular payment of wages and wage statements
    • Leaves of absence
    • Termination notice and /or pay and severance pay
    • Equal pay for equal work
  3. Harvesters

  4. A harvester is a farm employee employed on a farm to harvest, or bring in, crops of fruit, vegetables or tobacco for marketing or storage, and there are some special rules for these employees.

    What rights do harvesters have under the ESA?

    • Regular payment of wages and wage statements
    • Leaves of absence
    • Termination notice and / or pay and severance pay
    • Equal pay for equal work
    • Minimum wage (special rules apply for harvesters who are paid on a piece-work basis – see the Special Rule Tool
    • Vacation with pay (after being employed for 13 weeks as a harvester)
    • Public holidays (after being employed for 13 weeks as a harvester)
  5. “Near farmers”

  6. Near farmers are employees whose employment is directly related to:

    • The growing of flowers or trees and shrubs for the retail and wholesale trade
    • The growing, transporting and laying of sod
    • The breeding and boarding of horses on a farm
    • The keeping of fur-bearing mammals (as defined in the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Act, 1997, and including foxes, lynxes, martens, mink and racoons) for propagation or commercial production of pelts

    What rights do “near farmers” have under the ESA?

    • Regular payment of wages and wage statements
    • Leaves of absence
    • Termination notice and / or pay and severance pay
    • Equal pay for equal work
    • Minimum wage
    • Vacation with pay
  7. Landscape gardeners

  8. Parks gardeners and greenskeepers on a golf course are considered to be “landscape gardening” employees. People working on retaining walls, and those who spray roads and industrial sites for weeks are not “landscape gardening” employees, nor are the office employees in a landscape gardening company.

    What rights do landscape gardeners have under the ESA?

    • Regular payment of wages and wage statements
    • Leaves of absence
    • Termination notice and /or pay and severance pay
    • Equal pay for equal work
    • Minimum wage
    • Eating periods and daily, weekly and biweekly rest periods
    • Vacation with pay

For more information or to file an ESA or EPFNA claim

Please note: Employers are prohibited from penalizing employees for asking about or exercising their ESA or EPFNA rights.

If you have questions about the ESA or the EPFNA, call the Ministry of Labour’s Employment Standards Information Centre at 416-326-7160, toll free at 1-800-531-5551, or TTY 1-866-567-8893. Information is available in multiple languages.

Information on the ESA can also be found at the Employment Standards section of the Ministry of Labour's website. To file a claim, you can access the Employment Standards Claim Form online.

Information about the EPFNA, including an online claim form, can be found at the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals page.

ESA and EPFNA Claim Forms are also available in hardcopy format at select ServiceOntario Centres. You may also order a copy through ServiceOntario Publications online, or by calling 1-800-668-9938; Hearing Impaired TTY 1-800-268-7095.

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help you understand some of the minimum rights and obligations established under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) and the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals Act, 2009 (EPFNA). It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the ESA, EPFNA or their regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation. Although we endeavor to ensure that the information in this resource is as current and accurate as possible, errors do occasionally occur. The ESA provides minimum standards only. Some employees may have greater rights under an employment contract, collective agreement, the common law or other legislation. You may wish to obtain legal advice.

Imprimer cette page

Employés agricoles

Cette feuille d'information résume les droits des employés agricoles visés par la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE). La LNE établit les normes minimales applicables à la plupart des lieux de travail de l'Ontario, dont le salaire minimum et le plafonnement des heures de travail. Des règles spéciales et des exemptions s'appliquent à certains employés. Pour en savoir plus, consulter l'outil de vérification des règles spéciales.

En plus de la LNE, un employé agricole étranger qui travaille ou cherche du travail en Ontario dans le cadre d’un programme d’immigration ou de travailleurs étrangers temporaires, a aussi des droits en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur la protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi (LPÉCE). Pour en savoir plus sur cette loi, visitez la page Protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi .

Les employeurs sont tenus de fournir à tous leurs employés un exemplaire de l'affiche sur les normes d'emploi publiée par le ministère du Travail dans les 30 jours suivant leur date d'embauche.

Si vous demandez un exemplaire de l’affiche dans une langue autre que l’anglais et que le ministère a publié une version de l’affiche dans cette langue, l’employeur doit vous fournir la version traduite ainsi qu’un exemplaire en anglais. On trouve les versions en anglais et en français de l'affiche et des versions en d'autres langues en ligne.

La LNE s'applique à tous les employés agricoles qui travaillent en Ontario, y compris les travailleurs étrangers temporaires, mais les règles et normes ne s'appliquent pas toutes à tous les types d'employés agricoles. Les règles et les normes applicables dépendent de la catégorie d'employés agricoles dont vous faites partie. Il est possible que votre travail entre dans plus d'une catégorie. Le cas échéant, les activités auxquelles vous consacrez votre temps dans une semaine particulière détermine les règles et les normes qui s'appliquent.

Il y a quatre catégories d'employés agricoles :

  1. Travailleurs agricoles

  2. Un travailleur agricole est une personne employée dans une exploitation agricole dont le travail est directement lié à la production primaire de certains produits agricoles. La production primaire comprend l’ensemencement, les cultures, la taille, l'alimentation et le soin du bétail.

    Quels sont les droits d'un travailleur agricole en vertu de la LNE?

    • Versement régulier du salaire et relevés de paie
    • Congés
    • Préavis ou indemnité de licenciement et indemnité de cessation d'emploi
    • À travail égal, salaire égal
  3. Cueilleurs

  4. Un cueilleur est un travailleur agricole employé dans une exploitation agricole pour moissonner ou rapporter des récoltes de fruits, de légumes ou de tabac à des fins de commercialisation ou d'entreposage.

    Quels sont les droits d'un cueilleur en vertu de la LNE?

    • Versement régulier du salaire et relevés de paie
    • Congés
    • Préavis ou indemnité de licenciement et indemnité de cessation d'emploi
    • À travail égal, salaire égal
    • Salaire minimum (des règles spéciales s'appliquent aux cueilleurs qui sont rémunérés à la pièce – consultez l'outil de vérification des règles spéciales.
    • Vacances payées (après 13 semaines d'emploi à titre de cueilleur)
    • Jours fériés (après 13 semaines d'emploi à titre de cueilleur)
  5. Travailleurs quasi-agricoles

  6. Un travailleur quasi-agricole est une personne dont les fonctions concernent directement :

    • la culture des fleurs et des arbres ou arbustes pour la vente en gros ou au détail;
    • la culture, le transport et la pose de gazon en plaques;
    • l'exploitation d'écuries et l'élevage des chevaux dans une ferme;
    • l'élevage de mammifères à fourrure (comme défini par la Loi de 1997 sur la protection du poisson et de la faune, y compris les renards, les lynx, les martres, les visons et les ratons laveurs) aux fins de reproduction ou de production commerciale de peaux.

    Quels sont les droits d'un travailleur quasi-agricole en vertu de la LNE?

    • Versement régulier du salaire et relevés de paie
    • Congés
    • Préavis ou indemnité de licenciement et indemnité de cessation d'emploi
    • À travail égal, salaire égal
    • Salaire minimum
    • Vacances payées
  7. Jardiniers paysagistes

  8. Les jardiniers de parcs publics et les intendants de terrains de golf sont considérés comme des jardiniers paysagistes. Les personnes travaillant sur des murs de soutènement et celles qui vaporisent les routes et les sites industriels pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes ne sont pas des jardiniers paysagistes, au même titre que les employés de bureau d'une société d'aménagement paysager.

    Quels sont les droits d'un jardinier paysagiste en vertu de la LNE?

    • Versement régulier du salaire et relevés de paie
    • Congés
    • Préavis ou indemnité de licenciement et indemnité de cessation d'emploi
    • À travail égal, salaire égal
    • Salaire minimum
    • Pauses-repas et périodes de repos quotidiennes, hebdomadaires et bimensuelles
    • Vacances payées

Pour en savoir davantage ou pour déposer une réclamation en vertu de la LNE ou de la LPÉCE

Remarque : Il est interdit aux employeurs de pénaliser des employés parce qu'ils se renseignent à propos de leurs droits en vertu de la LNE ou de la LPÉCE ou parce qu'ils exercent ces droits.

Si vous avez des questions à propos de la LNE ou de la LPÉCE, veuillez appeler le Centre d'information sur les normes d'emploi au 416 326-7160, sans frais au 1 800 531-5551, ou avec ATS au 1 866 567-8893. Des renseignements sont offerts en diverses langues.

Vous trouverez aussi de l'information sur la LNE dans la section sur les normes d'emploi du site Web du ministère du Travail. Pour déposer une réclamation, vous pouvez accéder au formulaire de réclamation en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d'emploi en ligne.

Vous trouverez de l'information sur la LPÉCE ainsi que le formulaire de réclamation en ligne à la page Protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi .

Les formulaires de réclamation en vertu de la LNE ou de la LPÉCE sont aussi disponibles en format papier dans certains centres de ServiceOntario. Vous pouvez aussi en obtenir un exemplaire par l'intermédiaire de ServiceOntario Publications, en ligne ou encore par téléphone, au 1 800 668-9938 ou au 1 800 268-7095 pour les malentendants (avec ATS).

Avis de non-responsabilité : Le présent document a été élaboré pour vous aider à comprendre certains des droits minimaux et des obligations prévus par la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE) et la Loi de 2009 sur la protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi (LPÉCE). Il ne constitue en rien un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la LNE, la LPÉCE ou leurs règlements d'application. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel. Bien que nous nous efforcions de faire en sorte que l'information soit à jour et exacte, des erreurs surviennent parfois. La LNE prévoit des normes minimales seulement. Certains employés peuvent bénéficier de droits supérieurs en vertu d'un contrat d'emploi, d'une convention collective, de la common law ou d'une autre loi. Vous pouvez consulter un avocat.