Print Print This Page

What Temporary Help Agencies and their Clients Need to Know

The Temporary Help Agency provisions of the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) affect how temporary help sector agencies and their clients operate.

Who must comply with this law?

Both temporary help agencies that assign their employees to peform work for agency clients and agency clients that use temporary help agency assignment employees to perform work should be aware of the provisions in the ESA and must follow them. It’s the law.

Definitions

Temporary help agency” means an employer that employs persons for the purpose of assigning them to perform work on a temporary basis for clients of the employer.

Assignment employee” means an employee employed by a temporary help agency for the purpose of being assigned to perform work on a temporary basis for clients of the agency.

Client”, in relation to a temporary help agency, means a business that enters into an arrangement with the agency under which the agency agrees to assign or attempt to assign one or more of its assignment employees to perform work for the business on a temporary basis.

Permanent hiring

A temporary help agency can not restrict a client from permanently hiring one of its assignment employees. In addition, a temporary help agency may charge a client business that hires one of the agency’s employees a “Temporary-to-Permanent” fee only during the six month period beginning on the day the temporary help agency employee first started working for the client. These rules apply regardless of whether the assignment employee is hired (or wishes to be hired) by the client as a temporary, full-time or part-time employee.

Fees that cannot be charged to employees

Temporary help agencies cannot charge an assignment employee a fee to become an assignment employee, a fee for the agency to find or attempt to find assignments for the employee, a fee for preparation for job interviews, a fee to prepare a resumé or a fee if the assignment employee is hired by the client to be an employee of the client.

Job references for temporary employees

A temporary help agency cannot restrict a client from providing an assignment employee with a reference.

Mandatory information for assignment employees

Information about the agency

As soon as possible after hiring an assignment employee, a temporary help agency is required to provide the employee with the legal name of the agency, the business or operating name if that is different than its legal name, its address and telephone number and the name of at least one agency contact.

Information about assignments

Temporary help agencies must provide assignment employees with information about an assignment when the assignment is offered to the employee. This includes the client’s legal name and business or operating name if that is different from the legal name, its address, telephone number and the name of at least one contact, the hourly wage rate or commission, as applicable, benefits associated with the assignment, the hours of work associated with the assignment, estimated term of the assignment, a general description of the work and the pay period and pay day.

Information about the ESA

Temporary help agencies must provide each assignment employee with the Information sheet titled Your Employment Standards Rights: Temporary Help Agency Assignment Employees, published by the Director of Employment Standards, which outlines assignment employees’ ESA rights.

The Employment Standards Poster

Changes in the law that came into force on May 20, 2015 required employers to provide any employees who are covered by the ESA, including assignment employees of temporary help agencies, with a copy of the ministry’s Employment Standards Poster entitled Employment Standards in Ontario. Employers are required to provide any employees who were employed on May 20, 2015 with a copy of the most recent version of the poster by June 19, 2015. Employers are required to provide any employees hired after May 20, 2015 with a copy of the most recent version of the poster within 30 days of the date they are hired.

If an employee requests a copy of the poster in a language other than English and the ministry has published a version in that language, the agency must provide the translated version in addition to the English copy.

English and French versions of the poster are available at Ontario.ca/ESAposter and multilingual versions are available at Ontario.ca/employmentrights.

Reprisals

Temporary help agencies and client businesses may not penalize assignment employees for asserting their rights under the ESA. For more information visit the Reprisals chapter in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000, available at Ontario.ca/ESAguide.

Public holidays

Assignment employees are generally entitled to take public holidays off work and to be paid public holiday pay for the day. Assignment employees have the right to public holidays as soon as employment with the temporary agency begins and whether or not they have been assigned to perform work for a client of the agency. Public holiday pay for a public holiday is calculated by adding up all of the regular wages earned plus any vacation pay payable in the four work weeks before the work week with the public holiday and then dividing by 20.

For more information visit the Public Holidays chapter in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000, or try the Public Holiday Calculator available at Ontario.ca/ESAtools.

Termination

The temporary help agency, as the employer, has the obligation to provide notice or pay in lieu when terminating the employment of any assignment employee who has been employed for at least three months.

Generally, the notice required when an employee’s employment is terminated ranges from one week (for those employees whose period of employment is less than a year) to eight weeks (for those whose period of employment is eight years or more). The period of employment is based on the length of the employee’s relationship with the agency, not the duration of any particular assignment.

There are special rules for the temporary help sector regarding lay-offs and how a lay-off may trigger a termination of employment. There are also special rules for the temporary help agency sector regarding mass terminations. Temporary help agency assignment employees are entitled to mass notice of termination ranging from eight weeks to 16 weeks when 50 or more assignment employees are terminated by an agency in the same four-week period as a result of assignments ending at a single client’s establishment (not at the establishment of the agency itself).

For more information visit the Temporary Help Agencies and Termination of Employment chapters in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000. You may also wish to try the Termination Tool and the Special Rule Tool.

Severance

Most assignment employees have a right to severance pay if their employment is severed and they have been employed for at least five years. (The five years is based on the total time spent in employment with the agency, not the duration of any particular assignment.) There are special rules for the temporary help sector regarding lay-offs and how a lay-off may trigger a severance of the employment relationship.

The temporary help agency, as the employer of its assignment employees, will have severance pay obligations if its payroll is $2.5 million or more or if it severs the employment of 50 or more employees in a six-month period because of a permanent discontinuance of all or part of its business. The severance pay entitlement is equal to one week’s pay for each complete year of employment plus 1/12 of a week’s pay for each complete month that is not part of a complete year, to a maximum of 26 weeks’ pay. For more information visit the Severance Pay chapter in Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000. You may also wish to try the Severance Tool.

For more information

If you have questions about the ESA, call the Ministry of Labour’s Employment Standards Information Centre at 416-326-7160, toll free at 1-800-531-5551, or TTY 1-866-567-8893. Information is available in multiple languages.

Information on the ESA can also be found at the Employment Standards section of the Ministry of Labour's website.

To access the Employment Standards Act, 2000 visit the Ontario government e-Laws website.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Ce que les agences de placement temporaire et leurs clients doivent savoir

Les dispositions de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) concernant la main-d’oeuvre temporaire touchent les relations entre les agences de placement temporaire et leurs clients.

Qui doit se conformer à la LNE?

L’agence de placement temporaire qui assigne à ses employés des tâches à exécuter pour ses clients ainsi que les clients qui utilisent les services d’employés ponctuels d’agences de placement temporaire doivent connaître les dispositions de la LNE et s’y conformer. C’est la loi.

Définitions

Le terme « agence de placement temporaire » s’entend d’un employeur qui engage des personnes dans le but de les faire travailler temporairement chez ses clients.

Le terme « employé ponctuel » s’entend d’une personne engagée par une agence de placement temporaire pour que celle-ci lui trouve ou essaie de lui trouver du travail temporaire chez ses clients.

Le terme « client » désigne une entreprise qui s’entend avec une agence de placement temporaire pour que celle-ci fasse travailler ou essaie de faire travailler chez elle, à titre temporaire, une ou plusieurs des personnes qu’elle a engagées à cette fin.

Emploi permanent chez un client

Une agence de placement temporaire ne peut pas empêcher un de ses clients d’engager, pour un poste permanent, un de ses employés ponctuels. De plus, l’agence peut exiger d’une entreprise cliente qui engage un de ses employés des frais de changement de statut « de temporaire à permanent » uniquement durant la période de six mois qui commence le premier jour de l’affection de l’employé chez le client. Ces règles s’appliquent, peu importe si l’employé ponctuel est engagé (ou souhaite l’être) par le client comme employé temporaire, à temps plein ou à temps partiel.

Frais qui ne peuvent pas être exigés des employés

Les agences de placement temporaire ne peuvent pas demander à un employé des frais pour qu’il devienne employé ponctuel, pour que l’agence trouve ou tente de lui trouver du travail, pour la préparation aux entrevues d’emploi, pour préparer un curriculum vitae, ni dans le cas où l’employé ponctuel est engagé par le client.

Références pour les employés temporaires

Les agences de placement temporaire ne peuvent pas empêcher leurs clients de fournir des références sur un employé ponctuel.

Information à remettre aux employés ponctuels

Information sur l’agence

Dès que possible après avoir engagé un employé ponctuel, l’agence de placement temporaire doit lui communiquer son nom officiel, le nom sous lequel elle exploite l’entreprise s’il diffère du nom officiel, son adresse, son numéro de téléphone et le nom d’au moins une personne-ressource de l’agence.

Information sur les affectations

L’agence de placement temporaire doit fournir à l’employé ponctuel de l’information sur une affectation au moment où elle la lui offre. Cela comprend le nom officiel du client, son nom commercial s’il est différent, son adresse, son numéro de téléphone, le nom d’au moins une personne-ressource, le taux horaire du salaire ou la commission, selon le cas, les avantages sociaux et les heures de travail rattachés à l’affectation, la durée estimative de l’affectation, une description générale du travail, la période de paie et la journée de paie.

Information sur la LNE

L’agence de placement temporaire doit fournir à chaque employé ponctuel la feuille d’information intitulée Employés des agences de placement temporaire : vous avez des droits en vertu des normes d'emploi qui est publiée par le directeur des normes d’emploi et qui décrit les droits conférés aux employés ponctuels par la LNE.

L’affiche sur les normes d’emploi

Des modifications apportées à la loi qui sont entrées en vigueur le 20 mai 2015 exigeaient que l’employeur fournisse à ses employés visés par la LNE, y compris les employés ponctuels des agences de placement temporaire, un exemplaire de l’affiche sur les normes d’emploi du ministère intitulée Ce qu’il faut savoir sur la Loi sur les normes d’emploi de l’Ontario. L’employeur devait remettre un exemplaire de la version la plus récente de l’affiche à ses employés au plus tard le 19 juin 2015. Tout employé engagé à compter du 20 mai 2015 doit recevoir un exemplaire de la version la plus récente de l’affiche dans les 30 jours de son engagement.

Si l’employé demande un exemplaire de l’affiche dans une autre langue que l’anglais et que le ministère a publié une version dans cette langue, l’agence doit fournir cette version en plus de la version anglaise.

Les versions française et anglaise de l’affiche sont disponibles à Ontario.ca/AfficheLNE, et les versions dans les autres langues sont disponibles à Ontario.ca/droitsemploi.

Représailles

Les agences de placement temporaire et leurs clients ne peuvent pas punir des employés ponctuels parce qu’ils ont fait valoir les droits dont ils jouissent en vertu de la LNE. Pour en savoir plus, lisez le chapitre Représailles de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi, disponible à Ontario.ca/guideLNE.

Jours fériés

Les employés ponctuels peuvent généralement prendre un congé payé pendant les jours fériés. Ce droit s’applique à eux dès que l’emploi commence auprès de l’agence de placement temporaire et peu importe si elle les a affectés à des tâches pour un client. On calcule le salaire pour jour férié en additionnant tout le salaire ordinaire touché et toute indemnité de vacances payable au cours des quatre semaines de travail qui précèdent la semaine où tombe le jour férié et en divisant la somme par 20. Pour en savoir plus, lisez le chapitre Jours fériés de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi, ou utilisez le calculateur du salaire pour jours fériés offert à Ontario.ca/outilsLNE.

Licenciement

L’agence étant l’employeur, elle a l’obligation de remettre un préavis ou une indemnité compensatrice d’un préavis lorsqu’elle met fin à l’emploi d’un employé ponctuel qui a été à son service durant au moins trois mois.

En général, la période du préavis exigée pour un employé qui a été licencié se situe entre une semaine (durée de service de moins de 12 mois) et huit semaines (durée de service de huit ans ou plus). La durée de service n’est pas déterminée d’après la durée d’une affectation chez un client de l’agence, mais d’après la période durant laquelle l’employé a été au service de l’agence.

Des règles spéciales s’appliquent au secteur des placements temporaires en ce qui concerne le licenciement et la cessation d’emploi, ainsi que le licenciement collectif. Les employés ponctuels d’agences de placement temporaire ont le droit d’obtenir un préavis dans le cas de licenciements collectifs, dont la période varie de huit à 16 semaines, lorsqu’au moins 50 employés ponctuels se font licencier par une agence au cours la même période de quatre semaines parce que les affectations ont pris fin à l’établissement d’un seul client (pas à l’établissement de l’agence en question).

Pour en savoir plus, lisez les chapitres Agences de placement temporaire et Licenciement de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi. Nous vous suggérons également d’utiliser les outils concernant la cessation d’emploi et les règles spéciales.

Cessation d'emploi

La plupart des employés ponctuels ont le droit d’obtenir une indemnité de cessation d’emploi s’ils se font licencier après avoir été au service de leur employeur durant au moins cinq ans. (La période de cinq ans n’est pas déterminée d’après la durée d’une affectation chez un client de l’agence, mais d’après la période durant laquelle l’employé a été au service de l’agence.) Des règles spéciales s’appliquent au secteur des placements temporaires en ce qui concerne le licenciement et la cessation d’emploi.

L’agence étant l’employeur, elle a l’obligation de payer une indemnité de cessation d’emploi si sa masse salariale est d’au moins 2,5 millions de dollars ou si elle met fin à l’emploi d’au moins 50 personnes au cours d’une période de six mois, à cause de la cessation permanente d’une partie ou de la totalité de ses activités. L’indemnité de cessation d’emploi correspond à une semaine de salaire pour chaque année complète de service plus un douzième du salaire hebdomadaire pour chaque mois complet qui n’est pas compris dans une année complète, jusqu’à un maximum de 26 semaines de salaire. Pour en savoir plus, lisez le chapitre Indemnité de cessation d’emploi de Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi. Nous vous suggérons également d’utiliser l’outil concernant la cessation d’emploi.

Pour en savoir plus

Si vous avez des questions sur la LNE, appelez le Centre d'information sur les normes d'emploi du ministère du Travail au 416 326-7160, sans frais au 1 800 531-5551 ou au 1 866 567-8893 (ATS). L’information est offerte dans plusieurs langues.

Vous trouverez également de l’information sur la LNE dans la section du site Web du ministère du Travail qui concerne les normes d’emploi.

Pour consulter la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi, visitez le site Web Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement de l'Ontario.