Print This Page

Workplace Rights

  • Issued: March 2014
  • Content last reviewed: February 2014

Note: This document does not constitute legal advice. To determine your rights and obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act, Pay Equity Act, Labour Relations Act, and the Employment Standards Act, and their regulations, please contact your legal counsel or refer to the legislation.

You have the right:

  • to be treated fairly at work
  • to work in a safe and healthy workplace
  • to be trained to deal with workplace hazards, and
  • to join a trade union.

It’s the law. Those, and other rights, are protected by the Employment Standards Act (ESA), the Pay Equity Act (PEA), the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the Labour Relations Act (LRA).

Workplace fairness

Ontario’s Employment Standards Act sets minimum standards for things like pay, work hours and time off. Most workplaces in Ontario must follow this law. Your rights are the same whether you work full-time or part-time.

Your basic rights under the ESA

  1. Getting paid
    You should get a regular pay day and an accompanying wage statement (“pay stub”) that is clear. It’s a good idea to keep a record of the hours that you work. Most employees are entitled to be paid at least the regular minimum wage; however, the minimum wage is different for students, liquor servers, homeworkers and hunting and fishing guides.
  2. Overtime
    Most employees must be paid overtime pay after 44 hours of work each week. The overtime rate must be at least 1½ times the regular rate of pay.
  3. Public holidays
    Ontario has nine public holidays every year.
    • New Year's Day
    • Family Day
    • Good Friday
    • Victoria Day
    • Canada Day
    • Labour Day
    • Thanksgiving Day
    • Christmas Day
    • Boxing Day (December 26).
    Most employees are entitled to take these days off work and be paid public holiday pay. Alternatively, they can agree in writing to work on the holiday and they will be paid:
    • public holiday pay plus premium pay for the hours worked on the public holiday, or
    • their regular rate for hours worked on the holiday, plus they will receive another day off (called a “substitute” holiday) with public holiday pay.
    If you work in a hotel, motel, tourist resort, restaurant, tavern, hospital, or an establishment with continuous operations, you may have to work on a public holiday. If you do, you should get another day off with public holiday pay or be paid premium pay for all the hours you worked that holiday, plus get public holiday pay. Premium pay is 1½ times your regular rate of pay. Learn more about public holiday pay, public holidays, special rules and exemptions for different types of work.
  4. Vacation time and pay
    Most employees earn at least two weeks of vacation after every 12 months. You are entitled to be paid at least four per cent of your total wages earned as vacation pay. Any vacation pay not already paid is owed to you when your employment ends.
  5. Temporary help agency work
    Temporary help agency employees generally have the same rights as other employees under the ESA.
  6. Deductions from wages
    Only three types of deductions can be made from your wages: statutory (e.g., taxes), court-ordered and those authorized by you in writing.
    Some employers require you to pay for your uniform. Deductions from your wages to pay for a uniform may be made only if you agree in writing to have a specified amount deducted. If a customer leaves without paying, or your error costs your employer money, that amount can’t be deducted from your wages.
  7. Special rules
    Some jobs have special standards or exemptions. See our Special Rule Tool to learn more.
  8. The Employment Standards poster
    Your employer should have the Employment Standards poster displayed where you can read about some of your ESA rights.
  9. When a job ends
    In most cases, after working continuously for three months, you must receive advance notice in writing and/or termination pay if your employer ends your employment. The amount of notice and termination pay depends on how long you have been employed in the job.

The basics of Pay Equity

The right to equal pay for work of equal value

In Ontario, both men and women have the right to receive equal pay for doing work that may be very different in nature, but is of equal value. That right is protected by the Pay Equity Act.

The PEA requires employers to ensure employees in female job classes (jobs done mostly by women) are paid as much as workers in male job classes (jobs done mostly by men) when they are found to be comparable in value to the organization based on skill, effort, responsibility and working conditions.

The PEA covers male and female employees in female job classes of all public sector employers and of private sector employers with 10 or more employees in Ontario.

Employers are required to provide you with information about pay equity in your workplace. If you are represented by a union, your bargaining agent may be able to provide you with pay equity information.

Employers cannot fire or punish you for asking about pay equity or exercising your right to pay equity.

For more information or if you think that your employer has not achieved pay equity, please contact the Pay Equity Office at pecinfo.pecinfo@ontario.ca

The right to equal pay for equal work

The Employment Standards Act also has provisions that ensure women and men receive equal pay for performing substantially the same job. That means work that requires the same skill, effort, responsibility, and is done under similar working conditions in the same establishment. Exceptions include: higher pay based on seniority, merit, a piecework system, etc.

The basics of the Labour Relations Act

Under Ontario’s Labour relations Act, you have the right to join a trade union and participate in legal union activities.

It’s against the law for an employer to fire you or discriminate against you for:

  • joining a union
  • your past association with a bargaining agent, and
  • exercising any other rights under the LRA.

It’s also against the law for a union or employer to intimidate or coerce you to join or not join a union.

Safe and healthy workplace

The Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) sets out the rights and duties of workers, supervisors and employers in keeping workplaces safe and healthy in provincially regulated workplaces.

Your basics rights under the OHSA

The right to know

You have the right to know about hazards in your workplace and to be trained how to protect yourself from harm. As of July 1, 2014, the law requires employers to make sure that all of their workers and supervisors have completed basic health and safety awareness training. This training outlines workers’, supervisors’ and employers’ rights, roles and responsibilities in keeping workplaces safe and healthy. This basic training for all workers and supervisors is in addition to other more detailed training required by law that depends on your workplace.

The right to refuse

You have the right to refuse unsafe work, including situations where you believe you’re in danger of workplace violence. Your employer cannot fire or discipline you for refusing unsafe work or for asking them to address a health and safety issue. Your employer can’t penalize you for following workplace health and safety laws and for obeying a Ministry of Labour inspector’s order. This would be an unlawful reprisal.

Report hazards and any violations of workplace health and safety law right away to your supervisor or employer. If you can’t get health and safety problems fixed at work, call the Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Contact Centre toll-free at 1-877-202-0008. You don’t have to give your name. Services may be offered in various languages, in addition to English and French.

The right to participate

You also have the right to help identify and resolve workplace health and safety concerns. There are many ways you can do this, such as asking questions, raising concerns and giving positive feedback. One of the most effective ways you can get involved is to join the health and safety committee at your workplace.

Tips for staying safe at work

  1. Get training: Learn how to work safely. Follow the rules and know what to do in an emergency.
  2. Be supervised: Is there a supervisor to see that you are doing the job, correctly? If the supervisor is not around, there should be a replacement.
  3. Wear the gear: Hair nets, gloves, aprons, safety glasses, ear plugs, etc. are safety gear. Use them correctly, as required.
  4. Identify risks: Before you start the job, report unsafe practices and situations to your supervisor or employer.
  5. If you don’t know, ask! There are no “dumb” questions. If you don’t know, ask your supervisor:
    • What are the hazards of this job?
    • Is there any special training needed for this job?
    • Do I have the right protective equipment for this job?
    • If I have any questions about safety, who do I ask?
  6. Do your job: Don’t do anything you haven’t been asked to do, or have been told specifically not to do.
  7. Follow the safety rules: You must work safely and use the required equipment properly. Keep protection devices in place. And if you don’t know the safety rules, ask your supervisor.
  8. Report hazards: Tell your supervisor if you see anything hazardous, even if the danger is not to you but to another worker.
  9. If you’re hurt: No matter how minor, report injuries to your supervisor or employer.
  10. Talk to your family: Tell them what you’re doing at work. Let them know if you think something’s wrong.
  11. Be honest: If a task is too much for you, say so! Don’t attempt something that you can’t handle.
  12. Never assume: Don’t assume you can do something without instruction, guidance or supervision.

Basic health and safety awareness training

To help employers make sure that each of their workers and supervisors receive basic health and safety awareness training, the Ministry of Labour provides a set of training programs at no charge in multiple formats and in multiple languages.

The training programs include:

These training programs are available for download on the Ministry of Labour website. You can also order printed copies from ServiceOntario.

Mandatory “Prevention Starts Here” poster

Since October 1, 2012, employers have had to post the mandatory “Prevention Starts Here” poster in English and the majority language of the workplace. The poster is available at no cost for download on the Ministry of Labour website in various languages, and in print from ServiceOntario.

More things you should know about workplace health and safety

You can file a complaint for unlawful reprisal with the Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB) toll-free at 1-877-339-3335. (It’s against the law for your employer to fire or discipline you for refusing unsafe work or missing work due to a work-related illness, etc.) Unionized workers can file a complaint with their union under their collective agreements. If the OLRB decides that your employer has broken the law, it may order your employer to pay your lost wages or give you your job back. If you do not belong to a union, you can get help to file a reprisal claim from the Office of the Worker Advisor (OWA); call toll-free 1-855-659-7744 or visit their website.

If you think you may have work-related health problems, you may call Occupational Health Clinics for Ontario Workers (OHCOW) toll-free at 1-877-817-0336. At an OHCOW clinic a medical doctor will assess you and decide if the health problem is work-related. Your medical information is confidential and you do not need an Ontario Health Insurance Plan (OHIP) card. Services are offered in many languages.

If you’re injured at work and the incident involves health care treatment and/or time away from work, or lost wages, your employer must report your injury/illness to the Workplace Safety Insurance Board (WSIB) within three days of the incident. This can be done online or toll-free at 1-800-387-0750.

As a worker, you can claim benefits for a work-related injury or accident if you have received medical care, lost time or wages after the day of the incident, or continued to work, but on partial hours only. A WSIB claim must be filed within six months of your injury or the onset of your illness. Access the online form that workers must complete.

Multilingual resources

The Ministry of Labour has information to help you understand your workplace rights and responsibilities in many different languages.

Learn more

Call the Employment Standards Information Centre. Service offered in many languages.

  • Greater Toronto Area: 416-326-7160
  • Toll-free: 1-800-531-5551
  • TTY: 1-866-567-8893

Anonymous information

All information provided anonymously by employees and third parties to the Employment Standards Information Centre about possible violations is passed to the appropriate Ministry staff for review and for possible proactive activity. It is important to note that not every “tip” results in a proactive activity, and that giving an anonymous tip does not give the individual who gave it any appeal rights.

Call the Health and Safety Contact Centre to report critical injuries, fatalities, work refusals or other concerns. Services provided in many languages. Toll-free: 1-877-202-0008. You can also e-mail your questions to webohs@ontario.ca. Reponses will be made within 5 business days. In an emergency, always call 911 immediately. TTY: 1-855-653-9260.

Imprimer cette page

Les droits au travail

  • Diffusion : mars 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : février 2014

Remarque : Le présent document ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques. Pour connaître vos droits et obligations en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, la Loi sur l'équité salariale, la Loi sur les relations de travail et la Loi sur les normes d'emploi, et leurs règlements, veuillez consulter un avocat ou les textes de loi.

Vous avez le droit :

  • d'être traité équitablement au travail;
  • de travailler dans un lieu de travail sûr et sain;
  • d'être formé pour réduire les dangers au travail;
  • d'être membre d'un syndicat.

C'est la loi. Ces droits, ainsi que d'autres droits, sont protégés par la Loi sur les normes d'emploi (LNE), la Loi sur l'équité salariale (LES), la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et la Loi sur les relations de travail (LRT).

Équité au travail

La Loi sur les normes d'emploi de l'Ontario énonce des normes minimales pour certains aspects, comme le salaire, les heures de travail et les périodes de repos. La plupart des lieux de travail de l'Ontario doivent respecter cette loi. Vos droits sont les mêmes que vous travailliez à temps plein ou à temps partiel.

Droits fondamentaux en vertu de la LNE

  1. Salaire
    Vous devriez recevoir un salaire régulier, accompagné d'un relevé de salaire (« bordereau de paie ») qui est facile à comprendre. Il est recommandé de consigner régulièrement le nombre d'heures de travail effectuées. La plupart des employés ont le droit de toucher au moins le salaire minimum régulier; toutefois, le salaire minimum est différent pour les étudiants, les serveurs de boissons alcooliques, les travailleurs à domicile et les guides de chasse et de pêche.
  2. Rémunération des heures supplémentaires
    La plupart des employés doivent recevoir une rémunération des heures supplémentaires pour toute heure de travail en plus des 44 heures travaillées dans une semaine. La rémunération des heures supplémentaires est au moins le taux de salaire normal majoré de 50 % (temps et demi).
  3. Jours fériés
    L'Ontario a neuf jours fériés par année. 
    • le jour de l'An
    • le jour de la Famille
    • le Vendredi saint
    • la fête de la Reine
    • la fête du Canada
    • la fête du Travail
    • l'Action de grâce
    • le jour de Noël
    • le lendemain de Noël (26 décembre)
    La plupart des employés ont le droit d'avoir congé pendant ces jours fériés et de recevoir le salaire pour jour férié payé. Les employés peuvent consentir par écrit à travailler le jour férié et, dans ce cas, ils recevront, selon le cas :
    • le salaire pour jour férié ainsi que le taux majoré pour les heures travaillées le jour férié;
    • le taux normal de salaire pour les heures travaillées le jour férié ainsi qu'un autre jour de congé payé (appelé congé « compensatoire ») rémunéré au taux du salaire pour jour férié.
    Si vous travaillez dans un hôtel, un motel, une station de villégiature, un restaurant, une taverne, un hôpital ou un établissement à l'exploitation continue, il se peut que vous soyez obligé de travailler un jour férié. Dans ce cas, vous devriez recevoir un autre jour de congé rémunéré au salaire pour jour férié ou le salaire majoré pour toutes les heures effectuées ce jour férié, plus le salaire pour jour férié. Le salaire majoré correspond à au moins une fois et demie le taux de salaire normal. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le salaire pour jour férié, les jours fériés, les règles spéciales applicables et les exemptions pour les différents types de travail.
  4. Vacances et indemnité de vacances
    La plupart des employés gagnent au moins deux semaines de vacances après chaque période de 12 mois de travail. L'employé a le droit de toucher une indemnité minimale d'au moins 4 pour cent de son salaire total perçu à titre d'indemnité de vacances. En cas de cessation d'emploi, l'indemnité de vacances qui n'a pas encore été versée doit être payée à l'employé.
  5. Agences de placement temporaire
    En règle générale, les employés d'agence de placement temporaire ont les mêmes droits que d'autres employés en vertu de la LNE.
  6. Retenues salariales
    Seulement trois types de retenues peuvent être effectués sur le salaire d'un employé : retenues prévues par la loi (p. ex., impôts), retenues aux termes d'une ordonnance judiciaire et retenues autorisées par écrit par l'employé.
    Certains employeurs exigent que les employés paient eux-mêmes leur uniforme. L'employeur n'a le droit de retenir le coût de l'uniforme sur votre salaire que si vous y consentez par écrit. Si un client quitte sans payer ou si une erreur que vous avez commise coûte de l'argent à l'employeur, ce montant ne peut pas être déduit de votre salaire.
  7. Règles spéciales
    Certains emplois sont assujettis à des normes spéciales ou à des exemptions. Essayez nos outils relatifs aux normes d'emploi pour en savoir davantage.
  8. Affiche sur les normes d'emploi
    Votre employeur doit afficher l'affiche sur les normes d'emploi dans un endroit bien en vue, pour que vous puissiez vous renseigner sur les droits des travailleurs en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d'emploi.
  9. Licenciement
    Dans la plupart des cas, si vous avez travaillé de façon continue pendant trois mois, vous devez recevoir un préavis, par écrit, et/ou une indemnité de licenciement lorsque votre employeur met fin à votre emploi. Le délai du préavis et le montant de l'indemnité de licenciement dépendent de la durée de votre emploi.

Règles fondamentales en matière d'équité salariale

Un salaire égal pour un travail de valeur égale

En Ontario, aussi bien les hommes que les femmes ont le droit de recevoir un salaire égal pour un travail de valeur égale, même s'il est de nature très différente. Ce droit est protégé par la Loi sur l'équité salariale (LES).

La LES exige que les employeurs veillent à ce que les employés œuvrant dans des catégories d'emplois à prédominance féminine (postes occupés principalement par des femmes) soient rémunérés autant que possible comme des employés œuvrant dans des catégories d'emploi à prédominance masculine (postes occupés principalement par des hommes), si ces catégories d'emplois sont de valeur comparable pour l'organisme sur le plan de l'habileté, de l'effort, de la responsabilité et des conditions de travail.

La LES s'applique aux employés, de sexe masculin et féminin, œuvrant dans des catégories d'emplois à prédominance féminine de tous les employeurs du secteur public et de tous les employeurs du secteur privé ayant dix employés ou plus en Ontario.

Les employeurs sont tenus de vous remettre des renseignements sur l'équité salariale dans votre lieu de travail. Si vous êtes représenté par un syndicat, votre agent négociateur pourrait vous remettre des renseignements sur l'équité salariale.

Votre employeur ne peut pas vous congédier ou vous punir parce que vous avez posé des questions sur l'équité salariale ou exercé votre droit à l'équité salariale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements ou si vous pensez que votre employeur n'a pas atteint l'équité salariale, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau de l'équité salariale à pecinfo.pecinfo@ontario.ca.

À travail égal, salaire égal

La Loi sur les normes d'emploi contient également des dispositions visant à assurer que les hommes et les femmes reçoivent un salaire égal pour un travail qui est en grande partie le même, c'est-à-dire un travail qui exige la même habileté, le même effort, la même responsabilité, dans des conditions de travail semblables et dans le même établissement. Il y a cependant des exceptions, par exemple : un salaire plus élevé fondé sur l'ancienneté ou le mérite, un système de travail à la pièce, etc.

Les principes de base de la Loi sur les relations de travail

Sous le régime de la Loi sur les relations de travail de l'Ontario, vous avez le droit de devenir membre d'un syndicat et de participer à des activités syndicales légales.

L'employeur n'a pas le droit de vous congédier ou de vous faire subir de la discrimination pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Vous avez adhéré à un syndicat;
  • Vous avez été associé avec un agent négociateur;
  • Vous avez exercé un autre droit en vertu de la LRT.

Il est également illégal qu'un syndicat ou un employeur vous fasse subir des intimidations ou vous oblige à adhérer ou non à un syndicat.

Santé et sécurité au travail

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) énonce les droits et obligations des travailleurs, superviseurs et employeurs pour assurer la santé et la sécurité des lieux de travail réglementés par la province.

Vos droits fondamentaux en vertu de la LSST

Le droit de savoir

Vous avez le droit de connaître les dangers qui existent dans votre lieu de travail et d'apprendre comment vous protéger contre ces dangers. Depuis le 1er juillet 2014, la loi exige que les employeurs veillent à ce que tous les travailleurs et superviseurs aient suivi une formation élémentaire de sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail. Cette formation comprend un enseignement sur les devoirs, droits et rôles des travailleurs, des superviseurs et des employeurs en vue d'assurer la santé et la sécurité des lieux de travail. La formation élémentaire destinée aux travailleurs et superviseurs vient s'ajouter aux autres programmes de formation plus détaillés qui seraient exigés par la loi en fonction de votre lieu de travail.

Le droit de refuser

Vous avez le droit de refuser un travail dangereux, notamment dans des situations où vous avez des raisons de croire qu'il existe un danger de violence au travail. Votre employeur ne peut pas vous congédier ou vous imposer des mesures disciplinaires parce que vous avez refusé d'effectuer un travail dangereux ou que vous lui avez demandé d'éliminer un danger pour la santé et la sécurité. Votre employeur ne peut pas vous pénaliser parce que vous avez suivi les règles en matière de santé et sécurité au travail et parce que vous avez obéi à un ordre d'un inspecteur du ministère du Travail. Il s'agirait de représailles illégales.

Vous devez signaler immédiatement à votre superviseur ou à votre employeur tout danger au travail et toute violation des règles sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Si vous ne parvenez pas faire éliminer les problèmes de santé et sécurité dans votre lieu de travail, appelez l'InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, au numéro sans frais 1 877 202-0008. Vous n'êtes pas obligé de donner votre nom. Les services sont offerts dans plusieurs langues, à part l'anglais et le français.

Le droit de participer

Vous avez aussi le droit d'aider à reconnaître et résoudre les dangers pour la santé et la sécurité dans votre lieu de travail. Il existe plusieurs façons de le faire, comme par exemple poser des questions, signaler des préoccupations et formuler des commentaires positifs. L'un des moyens les plus efficaces de participer à cet effort est de vous joindre au comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité de votre lieu de travail.

Conseils pour un travail en toute sécurité

  1. Suivez une formation : apprenez comment travailler en toute sécurité. Suivez les règles et sachez quoi faire en cas d'urgence.
  2. Soyez supervisé : y a-t-il un superviseur pour vérifier si vous faites votre travail correctement? Si votre superviseur est absent, il devrait se faire remplacer.
  3. Portez le matériel : les filets pour les cheveux, les gants, les tabliers, les lunettes de sécurité, les bouchons d'oreille, etc., sont du matériel de sécurité. Utilisez-les correctement, selon les besoins.
  4. Reconnaissez les risques : avant de commencer le travail, signalez toute pratique ou situation dangereuse à votre superviseur ou employeur.
  5. Si vous ne savez pas quelque chose, posez des questions! Il n'y a pas de question « bête ». Si vous ne savez pas quelque chose, posez les questions suivantes à votre superviseur :
    • Quels sont les dangers du travail?
    • Faut-il suivre une formation spéciale pour ce travail?
    • Ai-je le matériel de protection adéquat pour le travail?
    • Si j'ai des questions de sécurité, à qui dois-je les adresser?
  6. Faites votre travail : ne faites pas quelque chose qu'on ne vous a pas demandé de faire ou qu'on vous a expressément interdit de faire.
  7. Respectez les règles de sécurité : vous devez travailler en toute sécurité et utiliser le matériel correctement. Assurez-vous que les dispositifs de protection sont en place. Si vous ne connaissez pas les règles de sécurité, renseignez-vous auprès de votre superviseur.
  8. Signalez les dangers : informez votre superviseur si vous remarquez quelque chose susceptible de poser un danger pour un autre travailleur, même si vous n'êtes pas vous-même en danger.
  9. Signalez les blessures : même si vos blessures sont mineures, signalez-les à votre superviseur ou employeur.
  10. Parlez de votre travail à votre famille : racontez ce que vous faites au travail, parlez des aspects qui vous semblent dangereux.
  11. Soyez honnête : si une tâche vous semble trop difficile, dites-le! N'essayez pas d'exécuter une tâche que vous n'êtes pas capable d'exécuter.
  12. Ne faites pas de présomptions : ne présumez pas que vous pouvez exécuter une tâche sans renseignements, conseils ou supervision.

Formation élémentaire de sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité

Pour aider les employeurs à faire en sorte que chacun de leurs travailleurs et superviseurs reçoit une formation de base sur la santé et la sécurité, le ministère du Travail propose gratuitement une série de programmes de formation en différents formats et dans plusieurs langues.

Les programmes de formation comprennent ce qui suit :

Ces programmes de formation peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web du ministère du Travail. Vous pouvez également commander des copies imprimées des programmes auprès de ServiceOntario.

Affiche obligatoire « La prévention commence ici »

Depuis le 1er octobre 2012, les employeurs doivent afficher l'affiche « La prévention commence ici », en anglais et dans la langue parlée en majorité dans le lieu de travail. L'affiche peut être téléchargée gratuitement à partir du site Web du ministère du Travail, dans plusieurs langues, et obtenue sur papier auprès de ServiceOntario.

Autres choses à savoir sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Vous pouvez déposer une plainte pour représailles illégales auprès de la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario (CRTO), sans frais, au 1 877 339-3335. (Votre employeur n'a pas le droit de vous congédier ou de vous imposer des mesures disciplinaires parce que vous avez refusé un travail dangereux ou parce que vous avez dû vous absenter du travail en raison d'une maladie professionnelle, etc.) Les travailleurs syndiqués peuvent déposer une plainte auprès de leur syndicat en vertu de leur convention collective. Si la CRTO détermine que votre employeur a violé la loi, elle peut lui ordonner de vous payer le salaire perdu ou de vous réintégrer au travail. Si vous n'êtes pas membre d'un syndicat, vous pouvez obtenir l'aide du Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs (BCT) pour déposer une réclamation pour représailles, en composant le numéro sans frais 1 855 659-7744 ou en visitant le site.

Si vous pensez avoir des problèmes de santé liés au travail, vous pouvez appeler le Centre de santé des travailleurs(ses) de l'Ontario, sans frais au 1 877 817-0336. Dans une clinique du Centre de santé des travailleurs(ses) de l'Ontario, un médecin vous évaluera et déterminera si vos problèmes de santé sont liés à votre travail. Vos renseignements médicaux demeureront confidentiels et vous n'avez pas besoin d'une carte du Régime d'assurance-santé de l'Ontario pour obtenir les services du Centre. Les services sont offerts dans plusieurs langues.

Si vous êtes blessé au travail et que vos blessures exigent que vous suiviez un traitement ou que vous vous absentiez du travail, ou qu'il en résulte une perte de salaire, votre employeur est tenu de signaler vos blessures ou votre maladie à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) dans les trois jours qui suivent l'incident. L'avis à la CSPAAT peut être donné en ligne ou en composant le numéro sans frais 1 800 387-0750.

En tant que travailleur, vous pouvez réclamer des prestations pour une blessure ou un accident lié au travail si vous avez reçu des soins médicaux, si vous avez dû vous absenter du travail ou si vous avez perdu un salaire après le jour de l'incident ou si vous avez continué de travailler, mais à temps partiel. La réclamation à la CSPAAT doit être déposée dans les six mois qui suivent la blessure ou le début de la maladie. Le formulaire en ligne que les travailleurs doivent remplir est affiché sur le site.

Ressources multilingues

Le ministère du Travail a préparé des renseignements pour vous aider à comprendre vos droits et responsabilités au travail dans plusieurs langues.

Pour en savoir davantage

Appelez le Centre d'information sur les normes d'emploi. Les services sont offerts dans plusieurs langues.

  • Région du grand Toronto : 416 326-7160
  • Sans frais : 1 800 531-5551
  • ATS : 1 866 567-8893

Renseignements anonymes

Tous les renseignements que des employés et des tiers communiquent de façon anonyme au Centre d'information sur les normes d'emploi au sujet de violations possibles sont transmis aux membres du personnel compétents du ministère pour qu'ils examinent la situation et prennent des mesures proactives au besoin. Il est important de souligner que des mesures proactives ne sont pas nécessairement prises chaque fois que des informations sont transmises au Centre d'information. Par ailleurs, la personne qui communique des renseignements de façon anonyme n'a aucun droit d'appel.

Appelez l'InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail pour signaler des blessures critiques, des décès, des refus de travailler ou d'autres préoccupations. Les services sont fournis dans plusieurs langues. Numéro sans frais : 1 877 202-0008. Vous pouvez également envoyer vos questions par courriel à webohs@ontario.ca. Vous recevrez une réponse dans les cinq jours ouvrables. En cas d'urgence, composez toujours le 911 sans attendre. ATS : 1 855 653-9260.