Charles Sousa Appointed New Labour Minister

Mississauga South MPP Charles Sousa was sworn in as Ontario Minister of Labour on December 16, 2010.

Learn More >

New Employment Standards Claims Process

On January 19, 2011, a new process for filing Employment Standards claims was put into place. To help employees file their claims, the ministry is providing online tools, worksheets and some supporting multilingual resources.

Learn More >

Know Your Employment Rights and Responsibilities

Ontario has launched a campaign to send a critical message to employees and employers: Know your employment rights and responsibilities. In January, Ontario expanded its Employment Standards call centre to provide service in 23 languages. The ministry has also created downloadable posters in those languages and created multilingual videos to help Ontarians understand and comply with the Employment Standards Act.

Learn More >

Loading Docks Inspection Blitz

Ontario will target hazards in shipping and receiving areas at industrial and healthcare workplaces in February, part of an ongoing campaign to increase safety at workplaces. The ministry has also created downloadable posters that highlight loading dock safety practices.

Download Posters >

Safe At Work Ontario Consultation Sessions

Ministry staff will be holding seven consultation sessions with employer and labour groups on workplace health and safety in January and February. The sessions will focus on the ministry’s SAWO strategy, reporting back on 2010 activity while looking ahead to 2011.

Learn More >

New Slips and Falls Resources

Slips, trips and falls constitute nearly 20 per cent of all workplace injuries. Preventing these injuries should be a key part of workplace safety. You can now download a poster and fact sheet that highlight common hazards, and workplace rights and responsibilities.

Get Poster >

Get Fact Sheet >

Take A Step For Life

On May 1, 2011, ministry staff across the province will walk in Steps for Life, a 5-kilometre fundraising walk to support families affected by workplace tragedy. Last year, more than 4,000 people participated in 28 locations in Canada. Join us this year as we take a step for life.

Learn More >

Consultation: Confined Spaces

The ministry has posted a proposal to consolidate all of the regulatory requirements on confined spaces into one regulation. The consolidation will increase accessibility and transparency of these health and safety provisions. The ministry is seeking your input.

Learn More >

Consultation: Accident Reporting

The ministry proposes to consolidate and harmonize all of the existing regulatory requirements on accident, incident and occupational illness reporting and notice requirements into one regulation. The ministry is seeking your input.

Learn More >

Alert: Concrete Blocks Used For Material Storage

The ministry has issued an alert for concrete blocks that are used for material storage. Workers may be endangered when stacking the blocks to build walls, as the blocks may tip and fall while the wall is being built. The blocks may also be too heavy for the lifting device being used.

Learn More >

We want to continue sending you relevant and topical information. Share your thoughts. Send your comments about our e-newsletter to MOLSpecial@ontario.ca

Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on YouTube
Talk to us on Facebook

Unsubscribe from the What's New mailing list

View Previous Issues

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Quoi de neuf

Janvier 2011 | numéro #8

 S'abonner

Charles Sousa nommé nouveau ministre du Travail

Le 16 décembre 2010, le député de Mississauga Sud Charles Sousa a été assermenté ministre du Travail de l’Ontario.

Plus d'info >

Nouveau méthode de dépôt d’une réclamation relative aux normes d’emploi

Le 19 janvier 2011, une nouvelle méthode pour déposer les réclamations relatives aux normes d’emploi a été mise en place. Pour aider les employés à déposer leurs réclamations, le ministère a créé des outils en ligne, des feuilles de travail et des ressources multilingues à l’appui.

Plus d'info >

Connaissez vos droits et vos responsabilités

L’Ontario a lancé une campagne en vue de transmettre un message important aux employés et aux employeurs : Connaissez vos droits et vos responsabilités. En janvier, l’Ontario a élargi ses services offerts par le Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi pour les offrir en 23 langues. Le ministère a également créé des affiches téléchargeables dans ces langues ainsi que des vidéos en différentes langues pour aider les Ontariennes et les Ontariens à comprendre la Loi sur les normes d’emploi et à s’y conformer.

Plus d'info >

Inspections éclair des plateformes de chargement

En février, l’Ontario ciblera les risques liés aux zones d’expédition et de réception dans les lieux de travail des secteurs industriels et de la santé. Ces inspections s’inscrivent dans une campagne permanente visant à améliorer la sécurité des lieux de travail. Le ministère a également créé des affiches téléchargeables qui soulignent les pratiques sécuritaires concernant les plateformes de chargement.

Télécharger les affiches >

Séances de consultation Sécurité au travail Ontario

Le personnel du ministère tiendra sept séances de consultation publique portant sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et destinées aux employeurs et groupes oeuvrant dans le secteur du travail. Les séances seront axées sur la stratégie Sécurité au travail Ontario, un rapport des activités de 2010 et un regard sur les activités à venir en 2011.

Plus d'info >

Nouvelles ressources sur les chutes et les trébuchements

Les chutes, les glissades et les trébuchements sont à l’origine de près de 20 pour 100 de toutes les blessures professionnelles. La prévention de ces blessures devrait être une composante clé de la sécurité au travail. Vous pouvez télécharger une affiche et un document d’information qui soulignent les dangers courants et les droits et responsabilités au travail.

Obtener l'affiche >

Obtener le document d'information >

Prenez un pas pour la vie

Le 1er mai 2011, le personnel du ministère partout dans la province participera à la marche de cinq kilomètres Un pas pour la vie qui a pour but d’amasser des fonds à l’appui des familles touchées par une tragédie du travail. L’an passé, plus de 4 000 personnes ont participé dans 28 localités au Canada. Joignez-vous à nous pour prendre un pas pour la vie.

Plus d'info >

Consultation : espaces clos

Le ministère a affiché une proposition visant à regrouper toutes les exigences réglementaires sur les espaces clos dans un seul règlement. Ce regroupement améliorera l’accessibilité et la transparence relatives aux dispositions sur la santé et la sécurité. Le ministère sollicite vos commentaires à ce sujet.

Plus d'info >

Consultation : déclaration d’accidents

Le ministère propose de regrouper et d’harmoniser toutes les exigences réglementaires sur les déclarations d’accidents, d’incidents et de maladies professionnelles ainsi que les exigences sur les avis dans un seul règlement. Le ministère sollicite vos commentaires à ce sujet.

Plus d'info >

Alerte : blocs de bétons utilisés pour l’entreposage de matériaux

Le ministère a publié une alerte concernant les blocs de béton utilisés pour l’entreposage de matériaux. Les travailleurs sont exposés à des dangers lorsqu’ils empilent les blocs pour construire des murs, car les blocs pourraient renverser et tomber pendant la construction. Les blocs pourraient également être trop lourds pour l’appareil de levage utilisé.

Plus d'info >

Nous voulons continuer à vous envoyer des renseignements pertinents, axés sur des sujets particuliers. Faites-nous part de vos commentaires sur le bulletin à MOLSpecial@ontario.ca.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter
Regardez-nous sur YouTube
Parlez-nous sur Facebook

Pour se désabonner

Numéros précédents